We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the Quiet Side of Koh Samui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mai Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mai Samui Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2/6 Moo 5, Laem Yai Beach, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ang Thong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Quiet Side of Koh Samui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We (being myself and boyfriend) stayed at Mai Samui in July 2013 after booking a Getaway Lounge voucher and extended our stay by two days. Never had any problems with communications and confirmations with the resort. This was my 3rd time to Koh Samui.

Arrival and Check In: We were met straight off the plane with a driver and a cool towel each and air conditioned transport to the hotel. First impression was the resort is very peaceful and as is usual for Thailand, very much a luxury compared to the streets and roads around the island. No problems with check in, they gave us all our vouchers and explained everything to us - we had no problems with language barrier.

Room: We stayed in room B203 and it was stunning, with beautiful views of both the pool and towards the beach. We had no problems with insects, ants, or moisture in the room. Couple of lizards on our balcony which provided more entertainment than anything else! Room was made up thorougly each day and left spotless. Beds were firm but we quite liked that. TV had plenty of channels. Air con worked well, the giant bath was beautiful.

Resort: The pool is just amazing, even better than the pictures. Because it is so big you are never too close to anyone and have plenty of space. Never had a problem getting beach chairs. Beautifully landscaped and always tidy. The beach is, as everyone says, not that great, but we knew that from reading reviews so were not disappointed. It is not a swimming beach at all, and the tide was out mostly during the day.

Food: We really enjoyed the food. It was yummy, always served promptly and had a decent varity of western and Thai foods. My partner ate plenty of their burgers and pizzas with meat and never had a problem. The breakfasts were amazing with a huge variety of food. We took the advice of lots of people on here and made the short walk down the road to the Terrace restaraunt one night - the food was slightly better and cheaper and made a nice change from the resort. We had a free Thai set dinner as part of our voucher and the food was delicious.

Others: Shuttle bus runs three times a day to and from Chaweng, which is free. The last bus back from Chaweng is at 4pm which is a bit annoying if you wanted to stay in town for dinner and shopping, but we got a taxi back the nights we did that and it was around 600B which we thought was reasonable considering the distance (takes between 25-45 mins depending how fast your driver is!) If you order a taxi from the hotel to Chaweng they charge you 1000B. We also used the Spa and got massages which, while slightly pricey, were worth the money. Absolutely beautiful.

Staff: Could not have been more helpful and friendly. Thank you so much!

Overall we had a fabulous time and are missing it already. Thankyou Mai Samui!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    196
    53
    18
    8
See reviews for
149
577
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We planned a three week trip to Thailand to see Bangkok, Phuket, and Koh Samui. We spent countless hours researching everything from flights, hotels, attractions, tour services, and everything else you can imagine. We had great luck with our hotels in Bangkok and Phuket but our stay at Mai Samui was worse then we could have ever dreamed. This is not a review to bash the hotel and its staff, we just want to share our experiences.

We were picked up at the airport by the Mai Samui transfer and that was what we expected. The room was as we pictured based on looking at other traveler's photos. What we did not expect about the room is not weatherproof. By that we mean that the windows and doors to the outside are not sealed so you get all the moisture and ants from outside in the room. When we left the "please make our room sign" out to change our damp and musty sheets they replaced the towels and made our bed with the old sheets. We made sure to ask for new ones next time around.

One a couple occasions we called the desk to order room service or to ask a question about the facilities. To our surprise they would not be able to help and would try to transfer you to someone else. This was mostly due to the language barrier that we had not experienced at any of our other stops in Thailand to that point.

The food to our disbelief was very below average. We spent lots of time reading reviews and looking at their menu before booking there. This is more of a secluded resort so unless you are driving into town, for a 100 baht fee, you have to eat there. This is what ultimately led us to writing this poor review. The food was tasteless, served cold, and worst of all I got food poisoning and an infection from the meat.

The hotel was "gracious" enough to drive me to the hospital and waive the fee for the ride. After being sidelined for nearly three days from this illness and a hospital bill of well over 30,000 baht not including all other expenses we returned to the hotel looking to make the best of the time we had left. We were not asked how I was after they were notified that I had food poisoning. When we checked out we sat down with the manager to discuss our experience and to essentially give him the chance to try and make the situation right. We had spent three days laying around and being sick and had to cancel a tour as well. We were looking for some sort of compensation for this. We did not use their facilities or eat breakfast, which was included in our stay during the night spent at the hospital. We missed three days of our trip. We missed our tour. This because of their poor food and they were not able to compensate us as the only manager on staff does not have that authority to do so. After a nearly hour long discussion we had the fee for our airport transfer waived but we still feel that all the time lost because of their service will never be made up again and they were unable to understand that.

All in all I would like to say be careful and do not eat the hamburger. Because if you get food poising like I did they will still charge you for it. It turns out this was the most expensive hamburger I ever ate!

Room Tip: The main floor rooms have direct pool access, all other floors have a balcony. All rooms face toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Value Customer

Greeting from Mai Samui Beach Resort and Spa

On behalf of Mai Samui Management team please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay at the Mai Samui Beach resort and Spa.
We strive to ensure all our customer experience the best visits possible during their travels. We always take every complaint seriously and we will keep your comment to improve our service. Please trust us for next visit we will treat you as a VIP guest.

We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay.

Sincerely,
Mai Samui Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Located on NE side of island. Only downside for some is that it is relatively remote. Shuttle to Charweng daily or consider hiring car/moped if game.

Resort is fantastic. Excellent facilities, modern and fantastic staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are spacious with hot tub, shower, biggest bed I've ever slept in. Good quality restaurants with prices a bit on the high side but hey. Has excellent pools, squash court, small fitness centre(2 treadmills, 1 x trainer, 1 multi gym, 1 rower and dumbells). Daily yoga is free and we had a foot massage as part of package. If you need to relax, get away from it all, well worth a look.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights here (on a Scoopon deal, which worked out to $120 per night, which was reasonable, i would not have liked to have paid full price) we were allocated a room at the very back of the resort, a 5 minute walk to the beach ....and not an easy walk, there were lots of steps up and down bridges, which is very pretty, but also very tiring. Other people in the back rooms were also there on scoopon deals. There is a pool in the back resort with a swim up bar but it is nowhere as nice as the front pool..the back section is separated by a road .
The staff were all very friendly, but not all that good at English . The breakfast was massive, but we felt the actual Thai food lacked flavour....all pre cooked and kept warm. The freshly made juices were lovely and it was a treat to have home made ice cream and cakes offered as well. Their cappuccino s were great, served with a cinnamon stick to stir it with.
The room was very spacious with a large balcony but no views of the sea....which was unsuitable for swimming as it is shallow and rocky.. We ate one meal at their restaurant which we waited over an hour for and again would only class as average Thai food....whereas next door at GGs we found the meals very tasty and the service very good.
As others have mentioned it is very isolated, with not much else around.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back resort have no sea views, only a view of the back pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here as group of 5 for 5 days on a Scoopon deal in July 2013. Yes the resort is a distance away from shops and markets. However, it is perfect for relaxation. I would recommend this resort for honeymooners and people looking for excellent food and a rest. There is the shuttle to Chaweng if you like bustling same, same market style shops. We liked getting the taxi to Nathon which had everything that Chaweng had with less hustle and bustle.

I could wax eloquently for a long time about the quality of the food. Every meal was exquisite and perfectly cooked. Bar food was hot and the service was so quick, it was unbelievable. Best food I've ever eaten in a resort ever. For the previous reviewer who said the buffet was small they must be living in an alternate reality.

The rooms were beautiful and very clean. We stayed in a pool access room which I heartily recommend. The only negative thing I would mention is that there is no way to get from the shallow pool to the main pool. We are now busily making plans for a return visit.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June and after careful consideration i can only come up with 3 positve things about this hotel, the swimming pools it was clean and the staff and by no means all of the staff. Firstly we were met at the Airport by the courtsey driver and a member of the recpetion staff we were quiet shocked that she didnt speak 1 word to us for the whole journey which took aprox 40 mins. On check in which was very swift we found the recpetion staffs english very poor and not a smile to be seen nowhere. We were taken to our room which was a Deluxe room initally it looked fine but when we looked around it was clear that it was not a 5 star hotel, mouldy smell, cheap coffee maker, broken kettle, ugly brown glasses no creamer or sugar for tea and coffee these are only small things but its the small things that count we didnt complain as we tend not to bother staff. We decided to go for a walk along the beach OMG its terrable not that its all stones it was filthy dirty with debris there is noway you could swim here so we decided to have a drink at the beach bar,the staff were really nice here but again very poor english we expected to pay over the odds for a bottle of Corona as you expect in a 5 star hotel but 270 BHT = 7 euro crazy, Can of coke 120 BHT = 3 euro crazy. There was very few guests in this hotel it was empty so no atmosphere,we knew it was going to be quiet but it appeared to be empty. On our 2nd night we decided to go to the beach bar at around 8 o' clock bar closed. We were booked and paid to stay for 14 nights however it got so depressing we booked a hotel in Kao Tao for 5 nights and left after 7 nights we only came back for 1 night to check out. We asked for a Taxi to take us to the Maenam ferry which took us about 10 minute drive they charged us a whopping 700 BHT because you have no other means of getting a Taxi.On our return we got a Taxi at Maenam pier to the hotel and it cost us 200 BHT. I understand they have to make money but it left a sour taste on our mouths. We went to reception to hire a car they were very unhelpful as there english was so poor they didnt seem to understand our request so we walked to the road entrance and the small local shop provided us with car hire and a very nice guy indeed sorted us out. I see on a previous review that all the staff new there names we didnt have this expierence and i have to say we are quiet friendly people. We ordered some ice to our room it never came so we rang room service back it took a further 40 minutes We asked for our bill 3 times before we left for Kao Tao and it never arrived then on checking out we discovered that we had been charged for a meal we never had at the beach bar we didnt bother arguing as i just couldnt wait to leave i could go on and on but i think said enough. I would not return to this hotel as i found it had no soul. By the way we dont mind paying 5 star prices in a 5 star hotel but this hotel was not 5 star hotel....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you want a quiet, beautiful place to stay in Samui, choose Mai Samui. We arrived after an 8 night stay at a Sofitel Thai property. We did not think that could be matched......but it was! The staff here are amazing; they remember your name, your room number, your drink preferences, your coffee preferences each day. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed, the quality of cleaning and turn down was excellent. Our room was spotless every day and our needs noted; extra towels without asking, extra water - 8 bottles per day. That exceeds anything the Westin, Sofitel or W in Bangkok gave us. The pools are spotlessly clean, we saw them being cleaned daily, and the pool bars manned and available and the cocktails delicious. The food is excellent and well priced. It is a resort and perhaps slightly more expensive than down the road.....but it is prepared and served like a resort and can be trusted for cleanliness and taste. We met the chef on several occasions who she came out to enquire if our meal was acceptable and she obviously took pride in her work. We did not think the prices were excessive at all, in fact they were cheap compared to home. Same could be said of the laundry service, it was clean, efficient and the clothes came back in excellent condition. The beach is rocky but it is on the western side of the island and I for one would not happily swim at many Thai beaches as few of them are pristine. With such a beautiful pool, one does not need the beach for swimming but it is a fabulous beach for rock pool hunting and we saw lots of sea life in the shallows which was great. The shuttle to Chaweng works well, but Nathon and other towns are closer for a spot of shopping and exploring. The wet markets at Nathon are great. As are the walking streets on Wed and Thurs nights in nearby towns - if you want a pampering, restful, welcoming stay, this is the place. I would like to note that one reviewer has made a comment on an unexpected cost on their bill which is surprising. At Mai Samui every cost we accrued, we signed for with our printed surname, signature and room number, it would be hard to see how any error could occur or how you could be not expecting a several thousand baht charge. Our bill was accurate and efficiently handled. This was not our first trip to Koh Samui, we escape there every year......and generally like to try new places to stay. However, we consider Mai Samui our favourite and will definitely return next year......and hopefully for many years to come. It really was a perfect stay and less artificial than the western owned and run properties such as the Sofitel and W.....not that we didn't enjoy them but at Mai Samui, we felt like we were really experiencing Thai hospitality. Definitely - most definitely - a five star resort.

Room Tip: The pool access rooms in the from ot the resort have better acces to the pool, but the rear of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 2/6 Moo 5, Laem Yai Beach, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Ang Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ang Thong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Samui Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Mai Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Samui Resort And Spa
Mai Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Mai Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand - Ang Thong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.