We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in La Samanna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Save Saved
You added Belmond La Samanna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% Off Suites - Book Now
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Terres Basses
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay in La Samanna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our stay in La Samanna last August 2013 was excellent, and would highly recommend it without any doubt to everybody, families, couples, groups and even on your own. The service, food and accommodation are very good, and being myself a yearly visitor in the Caribbean, I could say thatLa Samanna is amongst the best hotel I have visited.

I am a tennis fan, so I was really spoiled with Joanna, La Samanna's tennis pro, who is available in the hotel for complimentary tennis lessons every Tuesday and Thursday mornings from 9 to 10 am. She's a very nice young lady willing to teach and practice tennis lessons with the customers. I was really lucky to be the only one who showed up during our stay in La Samanna, and will definitely enjoyed it very much.

Among the hotel personnel, Leo, the guy helping out on the beach is the most helpful and nicest one. He really knows his job and deserves a good tip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Roxana C,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Our diligent staff is one of the reasons why guests keep coming back, and our Chef Gil is delighting our pallets with his fine cuisine.
I wanted to thank you as well for your comments about Leo and Joanna, I will be sharing it with them as I am sure they will be very happy to hear they made your day.
I hope you and your family will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    117
    58
    42
    36
See reviews for
84
376
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and can be rated as one of the top hotels in the world. The grounds are magnificent and the bungalows breathtaking. They are updated with all the comfortable features of home. The beaches, service, breakfasts and beaches are a rare finding all grouped to one property. I highly recommend staying there on your next vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean front villas can't be beat !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Paradies! We have been returning to La Samanna for the past several years and consider it a little bit of Paradise on Earth. Stepping onto the resort transcends you into another universe. The rooms are spectacular and the views breathtaking. The beach is private and sand like cushions under your feet. Why try someplace else when you have perfection here. If you want to experience a little bit of Paradise and want to be pampered and enjoy yourselves, La Samanna is the place to go!

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A short hop from the airport and there's nothing to stop you from winding down. Relaxed setting and staff, great beach, two pools, tennis (with a delightful in-house coach from Poland), sea activities and great food. Loved the shock of crossing paths with a very large iguana, the colour of lime margarita.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I have been going to La Samanna for the last 10 years. This past week for the first time we decided to go with our 4 daughters. The trip was a total success: The staff at the property was as usual very helpful in every need we and the kids had. The Cottage M where we stayed was extremely luxurious and comfortable. We had our privacy on the 1st floor whereas the children where very happy to be independent on the ground floor. The view from the vast terrace on the first floor are exceptional. The terrace on the ground floor will be an ideal for a dinner celebration as we plan to go back for our next holiday: We can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been returning to La Samanna for the past several years and consider it a little bit of Paradise on Earth. Stepping onto the resort transcends you into another universe. The rooms are spectacular and the views breathtaking. The beach is private and sand like cushions under your feet. We go in the summer when it is less crowded because we enjoy it that way. The staff at the resort treats all its guests like "royalty" and cannot do enough to help or please you. You are truly pampered. We have been told we are on "holiday" when we are there and are to do nothing but let the staff take care of our every need and that they do, pleasantly. I cannot say enough about the resort of the staff, other than when we return they greet us with open arms and say "welcome, you are home again" and that is how we feel.....welcomed! We have come to feel like most of the staff, Mayliss, Appoline, Romel, Jean Wohl,Tricot, have become more than just staff members.The have become friends. We have seen many a guest, both european and american that have put these people "through their paces" and have been rude and expecting, condescending, and just plain old not nice. We have seen the staff respond back with nothing but kindness and try to please. But, you know, you cannot please everyone, especially those unhappy people that would never be please b anyone or anything and just expect and want more and more. Enough of a rant on rude people. We do rent a car to experience different places to eat on the island. Unlike other islands, we feel safe leaving the resort and traveling around to try another beach or shop or eat away from the resort. There is a great pizza place nearby at the medical college. It is a tiny little walk up window at the back of the college and the pizza is GREAT. We are from New York and enjoy good pizza. I believe it is closed during September and October. You should check it out , you would not be disappointed. Also, Jean Luc at the Spa gives the best massage I have ever had. He has spoiled me so much that I only get a massage once or twice a year now an that is at La Samanna. The women at the Spa are also very good and I have had massages by them as well. The Spa prices are very reasonable as well and they are also very welcoming. Every year we say we will tr someplace new because there are so many islands, but as that old saying goes "Don't fix it if it;s not broken", we keep returning to LaSamanna. Why try someplace else when you have perfection here. If you want to experience a little bit of Paradise and want to be pampered and enjoy yourselves, La Samanna is the place to go.

Christine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The rooms are delightful, the restaurant is first class with delicious food, as you may expect from a French Restaurant but unusual in the Caribbean. The Beach is beautiful as is the clear clean sea. Beware, there is a climb to get out of the sea, so not for the infirm. But the pool is large, warm and again is great to both swim and lie beside, especially with a mango and passion fruit smoothy! I really recommend this hotel and look forward to returning to it

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear vivthetraveller,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am very happy that the rooms and restaurant were to your liking. As you said, Baie Longue beach is a very beautiful beach, in fact it was voted in the top 100 beaches, something we are both very proud and lucky to call ours. We look forward to welcoming you back for a mango and passion fruit smoothie and a dip in our pool or beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 newly completed 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orient Express, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond La Samanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.