We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Save Saved
You added Belmond La Samanna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Discover Belmond
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Terres Basses
Warren, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent. We asked for a small, quiet, luxurious Caribbean hotel on the beach. It satisfied on all accounts. The accommodations are lovely, the food is excellent (although the service is annoyingly slow), the staff is most helpful, especially the guest relation manager. The property could use a bit of freshening up. But this also applies to the whole island. My husband and I were disappointed; the island is not lush and tropical. And the effects of a major hurricane in 1995 are still in evidence everywhere. But the people are nice everywhere, and the food is AMAZING.

Room Tip: We had the last room on the property on the second floor (room A11). A nice walk to breakfast and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear craigeck,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at La Samanna. It makes me very happy to hear that both the resort and the food was to your liking. I am sorry to hear that you felt the service was slow, we are working on making sure that this issue is rectified. The island had experienced a drought in the beginning of May, fortunately we have had some good rain lately and the lushness of the island - and at La Samanna has returned! We hope to see you back on the property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    118
    60
    42
    37
See reviews for
87
387
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

La Samanna is the resort for anyone interested in an elegant and satisfying beach vacation. Our room had a patio on the beach, and the whole resort has fantastic views. The breakfast buffet is an excellent start to the day, and the spa can provide an excellent massage. From check-in to check-out the service is excellent and friendly. For beach, pool, spa, tennis, fitness center, food, drink and relaxation, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Deluxe Oceanfront is small but well appointed. You step out to a patio and beach. If you desire mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Joe_D22G,

I am so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here at La Samanna From our vast selection in our breakfast buffet to a relaxing massage in our own Spa, it sounds like you were able to experience many of the amazing amenities our hotel has to offer. I do hope that you return again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband & I spent 2 nights on our way to Anguilla. I was there many years ago & remembered the resort fondly. It still has a good feel as a small intimate resort and we were happy we started the trip here.

Check in was easy although not that friendly or thorough. We were tired & hot from trip but no offer of a cool drink however there was a nice tray of fresh fruit in room We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite in main building & although not updated it had a beautiful wrap around deck with sunset views. If we were paying for a suite I would have preferred one of the more private locations with updates but no complaints given upgrade. Bed was great ac worked like a charm linens towels good. Living room furniture uncomfortable but the updated rooms are much improved.

Property is just as beautiful as I remembered well maintained lovely grounds. Beach is terrific lounges cozy. Pools are beautiful. We ate at the resort both nights as we knew we would be trying many restaurants in Anguilla & didn't feel like fussing here. This is one drawback to the resort as dinner is limited but location of restaurant can't be beat & food was very good. Breakfasts were terrific with vast selection & wonderful fresh food. Pool bar restaurant also quite good for lunch. Everything very pricey although breakfast was included in our rate which helped.

Workout area was well equipped & maintained. We didn't use the spa but it looked very nice. Service at the resort overall was good and efficient if a bit cool at times.

We would return if passing through the island again - I actually preferred La Samanna to our resort in Anguilla!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear tinasas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor, as I greatly value all reviews of the property. Like yourselves, we have so many guests that come back to visit La Samanna after so many years, being able to experience our recent renovations and see all the changes that we have made over the years. I am delighted to hear that you were able to stay at the resort and experience most of the amenities we do have to offer and very happy that you enjoyed all your meals while dining with us. In regards to selection for the main dining room you will be happy to hear our Executive Chef is going to be introducing a new menu with a wider selection of choices. I sincerely hope that you do return again and if so do not hesitate to contact me so I can ensure that you are reserved in one of our renovated suites. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at La Samanna for two nights before staying at a hotel in Grand Case. I have never seen such a beautiful place. The rooms are all ocean-front with private balconies. The beach bar service is fantastic. The Trellis restaurant is quite good, and you simply will not experience better views anywhere! There is a fairly long beach (1.5 miles) for walks, the surf is calm and welcoming even if you are not a great swimmer (I am not), and there are many complementary water sport activities. All of the hotel employees were kind and hospitable. It was a spectacular stay. It is an expensive place, but well worth the price for this level of service in an absolutely stunning setting. We arrived at 1pm and our room was ready - a huge plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear AMK223

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short time here at La Samanna so much! It is wonderful to read that you were able to experience so many of the amazing facilities our hotel has to offer and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Your feedback in regards to service and our employees will definitely bring smiles to their faces, they always enjoy when I share such great feedback with the team! I do hope your continued vacation was enjoyable as your time here at La Samanna and we are happy to welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I used to visit there when my parents were alive and Mr. James Frankel. Lot's of famous people who wanted a low profile vacation in paradise.

I went back years later and it was still amazing. The beach is beautiful and if you are looking for quiet and peaceful a great place to go to recharge. Food was excellent. Staff very good.

Room Tip: On the beach is for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear DavidSchneider

I am so happy to hear that you came back to visit us here at La Samanna after so many years. We have so many repeat guests that have been coming to our hotel since our opening date in 1973. Mr. Frankel was a wonderful man and developed one of the greatest hotels in the Caribbean. I am so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation the same as you use to in the past and we are looking forward to welcoming you back once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

While the resort was beautiful in every way, the ingredient that differentiated La Samana from other high end Caribbean resorts was the staff. Each person could not have been more friendly or accommodating. It was a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Our two bedroom suite on the beach was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Robert268

I am was very happy reading your comment on tripadvisor and I am more than sure, that all my staff members will feel the same way. We always value great feedback as it allows us to continue motivated employees and ensuring that we are able to provide our guests with a wonderful experience here at La Samanna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st barths
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We just decide to stay for 2 nights in st martin and our choice was this hotel. We can just recommend this place, the welcome was nice and we get early the room, this was a very good point for us. We use the room service and the food and service was correct. We will come back for sure.

Room Tip: We think is one of the best hotels in this island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Philippeida

I am glad that you decided to chose La Samanna as your getaway spot for your 2 days here in St. Martin, it is a wonderful island with so much to offer, and we are happy to be able to provide all guests who stay here a magical experience. Very happy that you enjoyed your welcome and that we were able to provide you with an early check in as well, looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 newly completed 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Belmond, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond La Samanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.