We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Bit Of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Save Saved
You added Belmond La Samanna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% Off Suites - Book Now
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Terres Basses
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Little Bit Of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

So if you have the money and would like a piece of paradise, or heaven, take a trip to the Spa at La Samanna. My wife and I each bought the Sun Preparation package and were both truly delighted. It's not cheap, but you come out of the spa feeling like a million dollars, so definitely worth the price. Sublime!

The hotel is pretty spectacular too! We used to stay there before we discovered villa rental. The bar, restaurant, and pool are "Life Styles Of The Rich And Famous".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear jfarmeribm,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your spa experience and your overall impression of La Samanna. I am thrilled to read that the spa treatment was delightful to both you and your wife. It is good to hear that old clients are still amazed by the property. Perhaps next time you decide to come to St. Martin you will want to stay with us again, we love to welcome our repeat guests, even it has been a couple of years. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    117
    58
    42
    36
See reviews for
84
378
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Outstanding resort. The staff is the friendliest we've ever known; they feel like old friends by the end of the stay. Outlandish views. Great food and drink. We would have appreciated a steel band to liven up the evenings, but otherwise thoroughly enjoyed our vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view. We enjoyed our first floor room, 50 feet from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Michael B,

I can personally assure you that your feedback on Tripadvisor will bring smiles to many of my employees faces and I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us here at La Samanna. I am disappointed that you did not fully enjoy the live music we do provide, but we try to give our guests an experience from the local artists so they can learn about some of the amazing culture and history St. Martin has to offer. Once again I am so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at La Samanna with my husband for one week. We had a one bedroom suite, with a terrace and a roof top plunge pool. The room was beautiful and spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the cabana and plunge pool were a nice feature. Our room was quiet during our stay.

The staff was incredibly helpful during our stay. One thing which really impressed us was that there was not a fight to get a chaise by the beach or by one of the pools, even though the hotel was busy.

The food at the hotel was mixed. Some of it was good, other items were so-so. We dined at Trellis, the fine dining restaurant, and we thought it was good but not great. On the other hand, the presentation of the food was great, and the setting was unbelievable.

The fitness room is spacious, and has good equipment. We did not use the spa.

The one thing we found strange was that staff never took a drink order by the pool. We would go to the bar and order, and they would bring it to us. This is not a big deal, but is unusual for a hotel of this caliber.

I would stay at La Samanna if I were in St. Martin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Singerred,

I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to review us and provide us with your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed so many of our property's settings including the gym, pools and restaurants and that you found your plunge pool suite to be so beautiful and spacious. I am very happy to hear that you found the staff to be incredibly helpful during your stay and I am can say I express disappoint due to your mention about the poolside service, I can assure you that we do offer this and it truly is unfortunate to hear that you were not able to experience this during your stay. I do wish to see you again during any future visits down to St. Martin and please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have traveled all over the world but nothing compares to La Samanna!! From the amazing ocean sunset views to the impeccable accommodations to the world class service. You won't find a place better on earth to vacation. I guess that is why we spend at least 7 days every year for the past 12 years at LaSamanna. If you haven't been then you haven't really experienced paradise.

Room Tip: One bedroom ocean view rooms are preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Darrel B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we are so pleased to hear such great remarks from our regular clientele. We appreciate such great feedback, and when we share it with the team it puts a smile on everyone's faces. Thank you again so much and we are looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Once we were able to locate La Samanna (the hotel sign is oddly hidden behind foliage and an ugly recycling bin on the main road), we found a beautiful, small hotel on a lovely beach and we truly enjoyed our 6 night stay. The positives--there are two pools (one is a very nice infinity pool--although there were a few missing tiles that need to be replaced) and a very large beach area. Even though the hotel was at capacity the week we were there (Easter week), it never felt crowded and there were always available chairs. Isabel at the front desk was wonderful upon check in and we were upgraded to a fabulous one bedroom suite after we expressed our displeasure with our original view--which was of the backside of the beach bar and restaurant. The complimentary rum upon check in was a nice touch as was the large chocolate Easter egg that was left for us the night before check out. The bed in the suite was extremely comfortable (very high thread count) and the suite was clean with charming furnishings. Our view of the ocean and cliff from our suite patio was breathtaking, which for us, made up for any flaws at this resort. One minor complaint regarding the room is that the shower is open and literally in the middle of the bathroom so there is no privacy and whenever we took a shower, water flooded the entire bathroom which resulted in an unnecessary use of all of the towels--we left quite a mess for the turn down housekeeper. I think some of the suites have been renovated to correct this problem.
While I was not expecting Four Seasons level of service--having read prior reviews and aware beforehand that this is a smaller property that still retains its family run charm- everyone who works at the resort seemed helpful.
The negatives--my main complaint with this resort was the food. Coming from NYC I am used to overpriced food. And when you are staying at this resort you are certainly not looking to count your pennies. However, when you are charged $7 for a can of soda at the pool, and $24 for a plate of raw vegetables (I had ordered vegetable tempura but after waiting 45 minutes for the plate, ate the raw veggies without complaint), the feeling of being nickel and dimed is overwhelming. Also there is a $7 per person service charge for room service. Room service takes a very long time so plan ahead. Considering our room was steps from the room service kitchen, it was doubly ridiculous. The coffee pods in the deluxe coffee maker are complimentary upon arrival and then they charge $4 per pod afterwards--we found this out after we called room service for refills. I found the charge for the refill pods extremely tacky given the cost of this resort--although complimentary coffee is provided with some fruit and cookies in the main hotel in the mornings, which made up (somewhat) for that annoyance. We ate at the Trellis our first night and the setting truly is spectacular. The $45 entrees were unimpressive (I had a mixed seafood dish just drowned in melted cheese--ick, my husband had a "just ok" fish dish), as was the service and I could have done without the $11 bottle of sparkling water. The menu options are also limited. At no time were we offered tap water, even though the water is safe to drink on St. Maarten. As a result, I was turned off to the on property food offerings from that the first night, so we wound up eating many of our meals off property, (which also led to some hits and misses). I recommend renting a small car while visiting so you are not limited to the resort restaurants. Despite my issue with the food, I would absolutely return to La Samanna because the gorgeous private setting is why we were there and is what makes this resort special.

Room Tip: The Villas on the cliffs--P, N-- have the best views and they are quiet. The villas on the beach wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Nibblerbee,

After reading your review I am very happy to hear that you did enjoy your time with us here at La Samanna and that you are definitely planning on returning to La Samanna, although you mentioned a few deficiencies during your stay. I am delighted to hear that my Front Desk agent's went out of their way to ensure that you were in a room that you enjoyed during your time here with us, as we definitely have a view that deserves to be admired by all our guests. I am happy that you enjoyed our special Easter gift that was delivered into your room. I am however very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction with the food at the resort, we are introducing a new menu very soon that gives more options to all of our guests. We do hope you consider to return again and if so do not hesitate to contact us so we can ensure that you can meet with our Chef upon arrival and we can provide you with high quality, amazing food throughout your stay! Thank you so much again for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for our honeymoon in April 2010 (plunge pool suite). This is the best island we have been to, and Iwe have been to a lot. You will thank youself for going here; splurge for a good room. Food is pricey but it's good. Beach is awesome, staff is ok. Hands down the best in st Martin.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Donkey 212,

I am so pleased to hear your great review on our property and very grateful that you chose to spend your honeymoon here with us. I am delighted that St. Martin is your favorite island and that you consider us the best choice here on the island. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful setting on this amazing beach and I am happy you were able to enjoy it to the fullest. Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro,me
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week in St Maarten. I spent dozens of hours researching and planning what to do, where to go, where to eat, etc... I ran across a review on Tripadvisor that said one could go to La Samanna for the day, rent chairs and an umbrella, and view the sunset from their bar. We drove to La Samanna (which isn't the easiest place to get to to start with) and was turned back by the security guard.

Now, La Samanna is on Baie Longue and all of the beaches in St Martin are required to be open to the public. So, we drove around to the public entrance and walked down to La Samanna. The walk on the beach is a very difficult half mile. Once we got to the Hotel, I inquired about renting some chairs and an umbrella. I was told they do not generally do this, but perhaps could make an exception (especially since there was literally NO ONE in ANY of their 115 chairs). Oliviere was very gracious in making sure we were comfortable, even bringing out a few fresh fruit skewers for us. We ordered from their beach / bar menu and were treated like one of the paying guests. Thanks Oliviere!

If you are planning to give this a try, I would check with the Hotel first.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear drdewrag,

Although I am sorry to hear about your experience getting down to our beach, I am happy that once there you were able to enjoy it and were treated just like any of our guests of course. Unfortunately, we do ask that all outside guests contact the hotel prior to trying to spend the day as we do enforce different policies depending on our occupancy and time of the year. During our high seasons when the hotel is full we do enforce the policy that no outside guests are allowed as our priority of course is for the service and security of our own in house guests. Perhaps if you do chose to visit our property again or even stay with us, do not hesitate to contact us prior to arrival. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 newly completed 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orient Express, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond La Samanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.