We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Villa and fabulous ocean views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond La Samanna to your Saves list
Belmond La Samanna
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Villa and fabulous ocean views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

La Samanna is probably the finest Hotel on the island. The suites are well appointed and the Villa we just stayed in for a week was even better. Our personal concierge, Andrea went out of his way to ensure our comfort, ease of travel and dinner reservations on the island. The jet ski tour-guided excursion was a blast and our guide definitely showed us a great time. The beach is nice, but has some strong currents (at least in the month of March).

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are the best. The villas have unbelievable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    124
    61
    42
    38
See reviews for
90
411
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I can not seem to find Interlude as a separate restaurant, so I will review here! 2nd time to La Samanna for dinner and it was perfect. Delicious food and a super special birthday dessert! After dinner we went to the bar for a cocktail and the pastry chef brought me yet another birthday dessert! You can not find better service anywhere. If you need a car service to take you here, call Rolandos VIP Services. 1 721 580 9212. He drove us everywhere the week we visited and he was prompt and super funny!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Jennifer B,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoy to come to La Samanna to enjoy an excellent evening out especially to celebrate such a special event. We do hope that you come again in the future and are able to enjoy our wonderful service once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

we stayed already in Saint Martin,but for the first time at La Samanna...Wonderful view, great atmosphere, excellent food..
everything nice... we had dinner at interlude restaurant, the food was perfect, nice staff, in particular we want tank Antonio, our favorite waiter, very professional.....the best....
We hope to come back next year......thanks a lot

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mary M,

I are so happy to hear that you chose to stay with us here at La Samanna for your last trip to St. Martin. I am delighted to hear you had such a great stay and that you enjoyed our food, atmosphere and service. I will ensure we let Antonio know that he has been acknowledged for doing such a great job. I hope to see you again in the future for another great stay at La Samanna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day getaway at La Samana. The grounds are quite pretty and well maintained. Isabella at the front desk was lovely and efficient and checked us in quickly. The beauty of this resort is the spectacular ocean view (get a room with a view) and the large gorgeous beach - very special!
Things start to fall apart when you dine at the beach bar. We had a very unhappy looking waitress who took our order, made some small mistakes (forgot to bring salad dressing, salt and pepper, second drink orders), but nothing major. By the end of the meal she was all smiles and really wanted to make sure we were pleased with her "its my job to keep you happy". a little odd, but appreciate the effort- whatever....
Waitresses in the dining room always greeted us with smiles and were very pleasant and attentive. The food at main restaurant was good- spotty at the beach- $120 for an "okay" meal for 2 and a beer.
The beach attendants were good enuf - not terribly friendly like other resorts of this caliber, but kept our drinks coming. We had a terrible incident with the beach supervisor when we asked him if he would tell the couple next to us to turn down their music or kindly use headphones. He refused to ask them, said he didnt want them to complain about him and that their music wasnt that loud anyway. He offered to move us but we had been there for 2 hours so again, we suggested he kindly ask them to use headphones or ask them to move. He reminded us that all the beaches on the island were public and they had a right to do whatever they wanted to do - NO JOKE!!! It was crazy and ridiculous! Funny now, but we never really got that bad taste out of our mouths - Not what you expect at a 5 star resort. BTW they did wind up asking them to turn it down and it was NO big deal and the couple couldnt have been nicer and more apologetic!
Romal (sp) at the beach bar was charming, handsome and wonderful! Wish he was in charge of training the entire beach staff!
La Samana is a great easy getaway from NYC area and the island has so much to offer. We will certainly consider returning next year with the hopes that they can get their act to 5 star quality - if not We'll be looking for other recommendations.

Room Tip: 2nd floor ocean front with roof top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Deedeelee148,

Thank you for all your feedback that you have posted, we truly value all types of feedback whether negative or positive, as it allows us to take corrective measures to ensure that all of our guests are receiving 5 star service everywhere within our resort. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experiences at our Beach Bar and I would like to apologize for the incident that occurred on the beach. Our beach boys do the best possible to keep every guest happy and I am very sorry to hear that you were upset with they approach in handling the situation. I do hope you will return to La Samanna next year and please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can ensure you are treated as our most valued clientele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at La Samanna for a three day business trip. Upon arrival, I realized I was in need of a black belt. None was available on premises. I asked Katlyn of guest relations if should could be of assistance. A few hours later a black belt was delivered to my room. It's nice to k ow good old fashioned service can still be found at La Samanna. Thanks Katlyn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Marc J,

I would like to thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at La Samanna. We love receiving feedback that show's that all the staff here at La Samanna are always willing to go above and beyond for all our customers. We truly hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

La Samanna has always been our favorite place on the Island for the past several years.
It's once Moroccan bar and Hemingway lounge, formal dining and paintings by local artists set the stage for excellent service in feasting, relaxing, privacy and romance.
Much has changed since 2012.
Presently, a modern bar scene with wide screen TV with noisy crowds in beachwear, formal dining room available depending on the number of guests, buffet meals, prices on menu differ from charges, wait staff has difficulty in 5 star service particularly when busy, serving canned crab and frozen lobster for lunch at the Beach Restaurant
Are these changes an improvement? You be the judge!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear TheGeehans,

I am delighted to hear that you have been a return guest to La Samanna over the years. We have done many renovations to both our rooms and main lobby area, as well as restaurant and I am so sorry to hear that you do miss some of our old decor. We have tried over the past few years to enhance the original characteristics of what La Samanna has been since 1973 by introducing a modern and fresh look. We still do have artwork from our own local artist, Roland Richardson, displayed throughout the hotel and within the rooms. You will also be very happy to hear that we are now keeping Trellis open for dining every night so that we can offer our guests our fine dining experience on a daily basis. I sincerely apologize for any negative feelings you had on your last visit here and hope that you do come back and give La Samanna another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

After years of hearing my father (who passed away in 2007) telling me that La Samanna is the place to be, we decided to go to celebrate our engagement and my birthday in Februrary. Wow! He sure was right!
From the moment we walked in the door to our beautiful pool/beach front room, we immediately knew that 5 days would never be enough. They even had a gorgeous flower arrangement on the table...A very thoughtful welcome to such a beautiful paradise!
We found the staff to be extremely friendly, professional and attentive. They couldn't do enough for us! We were treated as if we were the only guests there, absolutely amazing! Natalie at the beach bar, and Jeanne (who we later found out is her mother, who works at the restaurant) made every effort to make our stay as relaxed and effortless as possible.
The resort itself is magnificent, to say the least. The grounds, pool, beach, dining, staff, security...You name it...Outstanding!
We hear the Villas are beautiful, but unfortunately we were not there long enough to see them. Definitely a must the next time, as we plan to go back as often as possible for much longer stays. We can't wait to go back!
La Samanna is truly heaven on earth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear MyTime2Relax,

Thank you kindly for posting such great feedback and sharing your experience with all others who wish to read our reviews. We are so happy that you chose us to celebrate such a meaningful experience and glad to hear that we were able to add a special touch to your birthday and engagement celebrations. I will make sure to pass this feedback onto the staff members you mentioned as it always brings a smile to their face. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our property, rooms and all our facilities. We do hope that we can see you again in the near future and hopefully we will be able to show you a Villa at that time as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 newly completed 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond La Samanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.