We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hope to return same time next year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond La Samanna to your Saves list
Belmond La Samanna
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“We hope to return same time next year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We just returned from our fifth stay at La Samanna. This was absolutely the best stay we have had and they all have been great. From the time we stepped out of the airport until we were returned to the airport we had no anxiety and no frustrations. We were a little disappointed at first in that we had requested Bldg A which is very sentimental to us. We were put in Bldg F which has more a limited view of the sea, but in the end, we were just as happy there. We were stunned at the price of our couples massage and canceled the second one that we had booked and we probably won't book another on our next visit. Most of the services, food and drink are overpriced so we just eat and drink elsewhere if we don't wish to pay the price. The only bad thing that happened was a pool attendant at the main pool refused us towels to take to the beach. We simply walked down to the beach bar and got two towels. We didn't really understand his attitude but it wasn't worth fretting over. We did use the hotel transfers and they are worth the fee in our opinion. We did not use the car rental at the hotel because we were treated very badly by them last year. The service we used, Rodael, was very easy. Breakfast was fantastic as was Romel and crew at the beach bar.

I read in a post that the rooms are very small. Yes, the one that is just a bedroom and bathroom is small. We have had suites and the small room and to us, the small room is just fine because we are only there to clean up and sleep.

We are looking forward to our return next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    124
    61
    42
    38
See reviews for
90
411
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We had an incredible time at La Samanna. The hotel is situated in a perfect beach, with turquoise sea and in the middle of the island - close to both Dutch and French capitals. Staying there was the best part of our trip - the hotel felt like it was ours, beginning with the oceanfront view from our rooms, or the beautiful views we had from the breaksfast tables, or from the two pools and beach bars that seem to be always empty for you to choose your chairs to the amazing beach service.
Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Try to avoid standard rooms - theyre small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at La Samanna. I'm happy to read the positive comments about your time at the resort, and appreciate you sharing your experience with fellow travelers. I'll certainly let our staff know that you appreciated the service we provide to our guests at the beach. It sounds like you left the island with some very fond memories of your time in St. Martin. We can't wait to see you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Pascal Deyrolle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We arrived at the La Samana resort after our wedding and a short stay on St. John USVI. From the moment we entered the lovely grounds until the morning we left the, experience was perfect. The hotel staff could not have been more welcoming or more professional. The suite was very comfortable, clean and well appointed and the beach, right outside our french doors was fabulous.From the wonderful dinners at there four diamond restaurant to the freindly groundsworker Jean Paul, who presented us with a coconut fresh off the tree, everything about La Samana was Five Star. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Use American Express Platnium for room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We made our first visit to La Samanna and stayed 4 nights. Since it was low season we were able to get a discounted rate on a suite with a private rooftop plunge pool and we really enjoyed that. The resort itself is a gorgeous tropical setting with beautiful gardens and a spectacular view of Baie Longue and the Caribbean. The beauty of it attracts tour boats daily who just slowly cruise by to soak in a view of La Samanna. We felt very lucky to be the ones actually staying at the resort. The entire staff, from gardeners, housekeeping, beach attendants, right on up the chain of command, were uniformly friendly and helpful. Our suite was well equipped. We had dinner at Le Reserve one night and at poolside another. Each day began with a delicious buffet breakfast that basically carried us right into dinner.

Advice: 1) do research on what type room and where located, We chose to be down by the pool bar and infinity pool so we would be close to the beach. Note that some rooms are quite far from the main building. 2) It's ten minutes from the airport which is great. We had a car for all four days and expored the island every day. If you want just one day exploring, you can rent a car from the hotel that day 3) Hit the new Gourmet Marche at nearby Porto Cupecoy for any food and drinks that you might want for your room. We enjoyed cocktails on our balcony every night.4) Be sure to do some snorkeling and kayaking right at the beach. We didn't see any evidence of motor sports but that may be because of low season or no requests from guests. 5) For a great beach alternative visit nearby Baie Rouge which is exotic, has beach bars and is good for snorkeling. 6) It's too much to drive your own car to Grand Case for dinner, consider a taxi. We had a terrific dinner at La Cigale in nearby Baie Nettle. Highly recommend it.

So we highly recommend La Samanna and look forward to returning,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

From check in to check out, we were on property for 7 days and it was absolutely fantastic. We were surprised to see the prices for food and drink ($14 for a mixed drink) but found that rather typical anywhere we went on the island.
We had planned to venture out several of the 7 days but ended up staying at the resort for 5 and only leaving for 2. The service, staff and grounds are excellently maintained but do be considerate of 'island time'. Everything moves a little slower and we found some other guests annoyed with the lack of speed but it's the Caribbean for heavens sake!!! Time to slow down and enjoy life!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at La Samanna and sharing feedback about your time at the resort. I'm happy to hear that we were able to create the perfect experience as you celebrated this wonderful occasion. I appreciate your kind comments about the property, staff and service and will be certain to share with everyone on the team. Thanks again for your review. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Gorgeous long sheltered beach with white sand, aqua water.
Dining room meals exquisite...excellent chef.
Beautiful pools and lounging spots..
Rooms spacious, clean having all amenities.
Very wonderful staff...everyone helpful-- friendly
Beautiful gardens over large property..lovely walks...
has a beautiful spa, art gallery, large complete fitness area, yoga, pilates...nice little store.
it is expensive, but we would rather do a shorter trip here than a long one elsewhere.

Room Tip: I think all rooms look out to the sea..loved ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights at La Samanna in April 2010. La Samanna is a hard to define hotel: it has Four Seasons' prices but the quality of the main building and rooms do not match its high prices. Service is uneven: sometimes is 5 star service (specially at the beach and concierge desk) and sometimes is a 0 star service. For instance, a nice La Samanna touch is that when you arrive you receive a welcoming package including rum and a plate with cheese, crackers and strawberries. We did not feel like eating cheese and crackers so we did not touch the plate. By day 4 the plate was still there!! Obviously the strawberries and the cheese were already decomposed. We thought the cleaning lady had not seen the plate so we left it on the floor at the entrance to the room. The cleaning lady came, did her job and did not take the plate away!! We called room service which ignored our request to take it and finally when I angrily called the front desk somebody came to pick it up (we had already left the plate outside of our room). La Samanna can be heaven and hell on the same day.
We had many meals at the hotel, especially breakfast and lunch. The breakfast buffet is OK but no extraordinary as some reviews have suggested (it is included in the room rate). We have got better breakftast buffets at less expensive hotels in Japan, China or, closer to home, Mexico.
Lunch and dinner are expensive. We had dinner once and it was just average and rather expensive. Excluding wine you should expect to pay about 80-100 dollars per person. Our most pleasant food experience at la Samanna came at lunch time and it was basically very simple food. The Mahi Mahi burger is specially nice.
Probably La Samanna beach is the nicest in St Martin but St Martin does not excel in terms of the beauty of its beaches. La Samanna beach is rather weird. It looks a lot like those beaches that have been reconstructed after a hurricane has devastated them:
the sand is not powdery and it has a lot of crushed shells. Further, the ocean gets really deep after 2-3 meters into the water. Unless they stay out of the ocean this is not a beach for children. If you are a person who really cares about the beauty of the beach this is not the hotel for you (or the island for that matter).
Overall, if you can afford at least 700 dollars per night I think you can do much better by going into neighboring islands such as Anguilla or St Barths. You can also get better value at places like Aruba which are far less expensive and has amazing beaches. Don't get me wrong: we did have a nice time in St Martin and La Samanna but I think the hype does not match the reality. For the money we spent we could have done much better somewhere else. I do not think we will get back to La Samanna.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 newly completed 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond La Samanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.