We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and enjoy beautiful penang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort to your Saves list
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia (Formerly Paradise Sandy Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Johor Bahru
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and enjoy beautiful penang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Checked into the hotel for a one night stay and it was really fast check in and check out.
Took us less than ten minutes to get our room keys.
Staffs are very friendly and helpful.
We booked the paradise suite which had a really large space to walk around and our own private balcony with views of the pool and a partial sea view.
The size of the room was really great.
The only drawback was that the room looks quite old and you could see some mould on the sink.
The pool is really big and beautiful and also the beach is just next to the swimming pool.
All in all, its worth the money spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    239
    134
    47
    35
See reviews for
145
181
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

To start we were not picked up from the airport as requested.
The air-conditioner did not work in our room, denied a request for another room.
Not allowed to use a t-shirt in the pool (to stop sun-burn).
Not allowed to carry a "pusher" (for our 2 year old) in the courtesy bus.
Give the breakfast a miss.
All this for $85 per night.
Would not book again.
Regards AlanC

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here as a family (2 adults and one senior), we booked the signature paradise suite which was a large 2 room suite, with 2 balconies, very comfy king size bed (and roll away), kitchenette with dining table and a very large bathroom with oversize bathtub!! This was the most luxury we have experienced in Malaysia...being on a budget! The costs for this suite was quite reasonable given what was provided and that there were 3 of us. It is an older hotel as other reviews point out, but we found it well taken care of and clean.
The views from our balconies were beyond spectacular and the grounds of the hotel did not disappoint. The beach is lovely and you can walk down to the floating mosque. The pool is lovely - least crowded early in day, at lunch time and later in the day (we were there during a public holiday!) It is also very well situated near Batu Ferringhi and Georgetown. Parking is included. The Wi fi was good - though did cut out at times. Air con was great - The staff were extremely helpful and kind...they responded quickly to anything we requested. Malay people are a special group and always generous and kind, in our experience!

Room Tip: we stayed on 21st floor - exceptional view. All rooms have some sort of sea view and it is worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Ok, we could opted for the newly opened Sheraton or even Bayview or even bigger homestays for the 258++ (300 NETT) we paid but the paradise suite separate bedroom and hall concept was well suited for a family stay and the view is always great as every room has been constructed to face the sea. Paradise building is an architectural genius. The pool and beach are also not bad. ANd we had stayed 5 times before this so we went ahead anyway with cross fingers.

BUT.

The reception on 3/11/13 was super crawly SLOW with at least 12 guests lined up in only ONE check in counter. We suspected the rooms were not ready. It was already 2.55pm then. And it was true. Lots of irrate guests. My husband who had asked for a parking spot near the lift because of a leg injury was deprived of it because THEY DID NOT HV RECORD OF THE REQUEST. And they refused to oblige anyway when we appeal. So called for service. He requested to talk to the manager , they sent a sales exec called Molly who was inept and kept saying that 'she was not in the position to do anything'. Then who had, where is the GM? Unavailable they said. We bet.

When we arrived earlier, the bell boys and porters and security were having some gala time at the entrance mocking a previous guests who had threatened to report them for bad service. 5 of them were reenacting the scene and laughing like hyenas that they didnt even notice we had arrived and we needed a trolley for our bags. When they did, they just pushed the trolley near and stood and watched while i loaded the bags. When we didnt receive our newspapers the second money they said some other guests would hv 'stolen' them and they were out of newspapers to replace ours. The reception as usual repeated their favourate phrase 'we are not in a position to do anything about it'. But this was still forgivable. We didnt go to a 5 star hotel you know.

BUT THE BREAKFAST, WHAT A NIGHTMARE.
First of all they are so understaffed they do not clear tables as fast as the morning guests walk in. For 26++ per person they can do better. Many guests started clearing tables themselves including us. And they load dirty dishes onto a platter they place precariously near the buffet any running child can knock over it. And we only managed to get a table near the piled up dirty dishes and im particularly germophonic and i had a very bad experience. WORST STILL, coffee mugs had BROWN RINGS IN IT. I picked 3 in a row and all dirty. Beverages were not replenished. We had beg for cutleries a few times before we got them. A bangladeshi staff just nodded and walked by 3 times and never listened. That is their usual standard of service, just ignore or evade eye contact even im sure as hell they heard you. One cut boiled egg was cold and stale i believe it was from yesterday's breakfast.

We saw the buffet entrance staff who monitored people walking in, a Malay chap allowing another Malay family with four kids to walk in with 2 coupons while we paid for our kid. Is that some BUMIPUTERA thing? I could recommed to my Malay friends too then to come eat breakfast at this hotel for free. Anyway..

The pool was smelling like cow's urine by 11am. Unruly kids jumping into pool regardless of others safety. Someone could hv landed on someone's head and caused a concussion. The pool side staff were not noticing. But what can you expect. The parents are equally to be blamed.

Our room, THANKFULLY, was clean and the lined crisp. bath was functional. astro was bad.

Overall, it was ok as long as you dont come here expecting to be treated like the 'customer is always right'.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed for 2 night. Condition of the hotel was a quite old and the furniture and bath facilities in the room looked like they needed for upgrading. Room was very spacious and had an amazing view of sea. There was free internet in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights in Sept 2013, great size rooms had family suite we travelled with 5 boys so we are a family of 7, this room was plenty big enough. Breakfast was ok most of the time it was cold, internet was free in the rooms and was quick well my boys didnt complain.Not the best location to get to places but transport is so cheap. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Family room on the 22nd floor facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Condition of the hotel was old and the furniture and bath facilities in the room looked like they needed serious upgrading. Nonetheless they were in good working condition. Room was very spacious and had an amazing view of town and sea. Breakfast buffet was good with lovely ambience. Pool was rather crowded and it's better to take the chance to do some sea sports outside although bargaining is recommended. Don't quite like the fact that the operators from the beach harass you once you step out of the hotel compounds . Hotel is in close proximity to the night market which is awesome for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort

Address: 527 Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia (Formerly Paradise Sandy Beach Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at Tanjung Bungah, this 4-star resort is just 45minutes away from the Penang International Airport. Its tastefully decorated 315 suites are perfect for business traveller, leisure holiday or family vacation. All suites are fully air-conditioned, equipped with coffee & tea making facilities, hairdryer, IDD Telephone, 32inch LCD screen TV, WI-FI in the room, mini fridge and in-room safe . Kitchenette facilities are available at cost upon request. The Breeze Cafe and Gaya’s Beach Side Bar & Restaurant, overlooking the sea, offers local & western cuisine, and a fully stocked bar for you to enjoy while you watch the sunset. An array of sea-sports, including parasailing, boat rides and jet skis are also available at the beach front.For the more adventurous who wish to explore the vicinity of the Resort, the Heritage City of Georgetown is only 20 minutes away, while a host of entertainment and night spots are just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sandy Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Paradise Sandy Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort Penang/Tanjung Bungah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.