We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spent 8 nights here while finalizing our MM2H visas and have been very pleasantly surprised. The staff is outstanding and friendly and very eager to please. The location is wonderful and it was an easy trip into Georgetown heading east and 10 minutes to Batu feringhi going west. Directly across from the hotel is a wonderful night food court and in the neighborhood behind the food court are more restaurants, pharmacies, shopping marts and a massage place.

The hotel itself has seen better days, but having said that it is clean and comfortable and well worth the reasonable price. Breakfast came with our room and it included a nice mix of asian and western items although they were pretty much the same all week. No complaints though.

Not a 4 or 5 star hotel but a very reasonable place for those on a budget.

Room Tip: The hotel has two levels. 1-6 face the small cove and beach and you must trek past the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    161
    157
    73
    61
See reviews for
134
186
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hotel is very old and not looked after properly. In our room the tv didnt work and neither did the phone so I had to ask them to try fixing them. They were fixed which is good.
Bathroom so mouldy I felt unclean having a shower. If ur not good with mould I would stay away!
We ordered room service which wasn't too bad but the staff can't speak English so very hard to order.
Balcony has nice view but no chairs or table?
Pool is nice and big and has nice view of ocean behind. Beach looks nice but can't swim because of jelly fish :(
About 20 min taxi to batu ferringhi and cost 20RM.
30RM to Georgetown in taxi. Can book taxis at reception. No many real shops or food around for us, bit worried about hygiene in hawker centre across the street (smelt like sewer and was very run down) so we didn't eat there.
Overall cheap place to stay if on a budget looking for a nice relaxing pool.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed at Copthorne Orchid for 10 nights with 3 children 10 and under. Free shuttle to downtown and night market was awesome for food, considering you can walk across the street and pay half what the restaurant costs we always ate out. Near the hotel...Sri Ananda was our favorite for Indian food (about a 5-10 minute walk with little kids) and Long Island Cafe at the Night Market was our favorite for wings and satay.

The 101 bus to downtown and also to Butterfly Garden/Night Market etc is right outside the hotel on the street....perfect location. All the staff were excellent, shuttle drivers, pool staff (kids loved the pool, they have water polo nets but you have to buy your own ball) and porters were awesome, super friendly and helpful. Big community of retired people from Australia and Europe stay there long term over Chinese New Years so there's always people around to help you navigate the city.

The spa has major discounts between 11 and 4 so my wife had a couple of massages. One of the spa staff helped us find a driver who gave us a tour of some temples and showed us an excellent Cantonese restaurant in China Town.

Because of the humidity, leaky bidet and resulting in-room environment we had allergies but having a balcony really helps. Air conditioning works really well! Having our whole family in one room was a struggle at some points but a great bonding experience. I promised the Goddess of Mercy that I would return if my wishes came true and this is where we'll stay for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower, apparently the rooms closer to the beach are roomier but a bit more rough ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Im not really going to write a comprehenvsive review, only stayed here for 2 nights and we got a cheap deal so its more an objective opinion that anything else really.

First of all the staff are not that great, not all can speak English and communication can prove challenging in some situations. Just one bell boy and he isnt always around, so you may have to shift your luggage up yourself, and it is tiring in that heat. Also be careful with him if you want a taxi as he tries to con you by calling his own friends who are taxi drivers and will up the rate and pocket the difference. I know this as a standard journey to George town costs around 35 to 40 Rm , yet he was trying to charge 50. Luckily his friend took so long to get here that I ordered a road side one instead.
Is expensive also, one small beer about £5.
the boast of all rooms as sea facing is true, but dont be taken in by this as some are pretty naff.
no irons available, you have to go to the ironing room on a different floor if you wish to iron a shirt.
pool area is small, but adequate if not busy.
No sign of a bar either, first hotel where I have been where there is no bar! hence no pints, just cans of beer, and there are no pool staff, you have to go inside and order yourself.
Nice private beach, cannot complain about that, but there are no sunloungers there and you have to carry your own from the garden section down the stairs and to the beach, then take them back at the end. Bit of a joke really.
No safes in the rooms either, so consider that if taking valuables.
They offer a complimentary shuttle service which is good and probably the best thing about this hotel im afraid

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at Copthorne Orchid for 3 nights and it was overall nice. The beach was small and secluded which I like, but the water was very murky so I did´nt want to swim in the sea. (Is the murky water a season thing?)

At lunch and dinner time the hotel restaurant was empty and we found out the hard way - the food was bad. You should go to a restaurant nearby instead.

We stayed just above the beach on level 1A and it was really nice and big. But it was dirty and in need of refurbishing. We found dead cockroaches and the balcony was dirty and full of bird droppings. The wall to wall carpet smelled mold. (Why do some hotels insist on using wall to wall carpets? It´s so unhygienic.)

The staff was excellent and when we had anything on our mind they helped us immediately and always with a smile on their face.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The only good things staying here is the good location and easy to access to batu ferringgi, gurney drive and georgetown. It also provide shuttle to batu ferringgi night market. The hotel has Nice private beach but full with bangladesh construction workers during public holiday.

Other than that, Bad maintenance hotel , Pillows was the worst, bed extremly needs replacement as u can feel the springs , pillows & bed has bad odor, towels also smelly may be due to not dry properly, toilet not so clean, rooms really need refurbistment , some 3* hotel rooms are even better than copthorne penang.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very helpful. The outlook on the west side of the building is great.. The pool area is large and excellent. We had lunch every day at the hotel. They run complimentary shuttle service to George Town once per day and twice in the evening to Ferrengi beach. However there are three bus routes 101,102 and 103 that pass the front of the hotel that cost 60c to Georgetown and 40c the other direction to Ferrengi beach
We hired a motor bike in Ferrengi but heard from another tourist of a hire place at half the price and much better condition than I got. It was across the road from the GoldenSands Ferrengi..
It may be a bit quiet for younger folk, but would recommended it and would stay here again if we come back.
The Gym is small and the air conditioner didn't appear to work.
There is a wine shop across the road about 50m to the right. Good food and excellent choice of Australian,Chile, South African wines from about 40-100RM per bottle.

Room Tip: Select room on West of Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang

Address: Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Orchid Pulau Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang Tanjung Bungah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.