We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family beach trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang to your Saves list
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Family beach trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel facilities were adequate and up to date, though the restaurant a la carte menu could really needs a reality check on their prices. Rooms were very comfortable and staff were always helpful. Great hotel swimming pool and corner for kids to enjoy with local activities on the hotel beach. Famous beach mosque is walking distance, and the city is just few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to learn that we have met or exceeded your expectations in terms of service standard and product during your stay.
We thank you for giving us such great comments! I will share your wonderful feedback with the team. Your words and acknowledgement of our efforts are both motivational and encouraging.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. If we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you and have a nice day!
Best Regards,
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    158
    136
    51
    50
See reviews for
151
161
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for 3d 2n at this hotel was just an average stay. Few good points about this hotel are:
1. Large and clean pool
2. Large room and nice seaview
3. Bed condition is great

The bad points are:
1. Breakfast served is just common dish..and not variety
2. Some of the tray is empty and taking too long time for refill
3. Beach was not clean and dirty. Saw a dead fish and really stings
4. Towels in the bathroom are worn-out... one of the bedsheet was torned!
5. The aircond fan was static am not able to slow it down.
6. Waited for more than 5min for the elavator.. they are old.

On the second day, no housekeeping was done and only do so after give them a call in the evening. However it was not that neat.

I would say this hotel could improve more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear about the incidents that took place during your stay and would like to extend my most sincere apologies. You can be rest assured that I will look into the matter with my team for immediate improvement.
Once again, I thank you for your feedback and support and look forward to welcoming you in the near future. If we can be of assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you and have a great day!

Best Regards,
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

took the 2 suite bedroom. the room was simply amazing, cozy and clean. the view was spectacular. the staff were helpful and the food was good too. The live band was quite okay but most of the time, I could not really understand what the singer was singing, maybe due to the poor sound system. Overall this hotel is suitable for family outing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to learn that we have met or exceeded your expectations in terms of service standard and product during your stay.
We thank you for giving us such great comments! I will share your wonderful feedback with the team. Your words and acknowledgement of our efforts are both motivational and encouraging.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. If we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you and have a nice day!
Best Regards,
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We liked our staying at the Flamingo very much. We got a sea view room at the 16th floor which was breath taking. The hotel is big and has cool lobby. Don't go to the water sports outside the hotel as the price are more expensive than other. Check with a taxi driver who can take you to another place where they can provide you better prices and even one of the guides took photos for us while we were up the air parasailing.
The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to learn that we have met or exceeded your expectations in terms of service standard and product during your stay.
We thank you for giving us such great comments! I will share your wonderful feedback with the team. Your words and acknowledgement of our efforts are both motivational and encouraging.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. If we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you and have a nice day!
Best Regards,
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed only for one night and fell in love with the location , the verandah is constructed in such a way that both sides (hill side and Sea Beach) are available for viewing pleasure. The deluxe room was big and clean. Its write in the middle of Batu Frengi and Komtar with the bus stand write beside the hotel. Will visit Penang again and stay in the same location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to learn that we have met or exceeded your expectations in terms of service standard and product during your stay.
We thank you for giving us such great comments! I will share your wonderful feedback with the team. Your words and acknowledgement of our efforts are both motivational and encouraging.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. If we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you and have a nice day!
Best Regards,
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel can be considered as very good if they have a better wifi, more skilled staffs and better bathroom. First, lobby WIFI works okay but room wifi was hard use, most of the time was not possible to use so I had to come down to lobby. Front desk staffs are not cordial and room service food is terrible. Never try their pizza, I had to order pizza because they didn't have much option at night.

The good part very close to main road and beach. And as in middle of the penang beach to batu feringi and gurney drive both was easily accessible. Swimming pool is good but they close it 8 pm. Not sure in a beach city who will use a swimming pool before 8pm.

there are some activities for children.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear about the incidents that took place during your stay and would like to extend my most sincere apologies. You can be rest assured that I will look into the matter with my team for immediate improvement.
Once again, I thank you for your feedback and support and look forward to welcoming you in the near future. If we can be of assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you and have a great day!

Best Regards,
Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed one night during 27th July in Delux sea view room at this wonderful hotel.
The room itself is very large, large bathroom and very clean with nice comfortable and large bed.The view is breath taking.
The balgany are is very good and watching the beach and the sunset is very relaxing.
The beach is very small but nice with lot of activities like banana boat, water bike para-sailing, etc.
Breakfast is adequate but crowded, very difficult to find a seat.
Surrounding area is nothing much. There is a indian restaurant opposite to the hotel but always crowded, nice food.
The hotel itself has a bus-stop but need to wait 30 min to get a bus to go airport or Komtar.
Take a bus to go night market for shopping, I feel staying here is better option. because Flamingo hotel has no surroundings.

Room Tip: Deluxe sea view - good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to learn that we have met your expectations in terms of service standard and product during your stay.
We thank you for giving us such great comments! I will share your wonderful feedback with the team. Your words and acknowledgement of our efforts are both motivational and encouraging.
We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again. If we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you and have a nice day!
Best Regards,

Ong Hai Leong
General Manager
Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.