We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We selected this hotel as it was half the price of places in Batu Feringhi but it had beach access, pool and other facilities. The reviews online were a little patchy but we found the place to be efficient and clean. We were checked in by helpful staff, offered lots of extra information and we found our room to be well kept and clean throughout our stay.

The pool was good, access to the beach was easy and it was a fairly relaxed time. I would advise not eating too often in their kitchens - the food was so-so at best. The breakfast was included in the package but suffered from lack of thought. The cereals were all honey or sugar covered, the hot selections were swimming in oil or coconut milk and would make for a tough start to the day! We dined there once in the evening and found it to be acceptable. There are two restaurants directly opposite that we though we'd try but never made it past the Indian place! Fabulous selection, price, quality and service.

The Flamingo did run a shuttle bus up to Batu Feringhi night market that we used. It wasn't well publicised but only took about 10 people and needed to be booked early. Having said that, it was free and arrived and left on time!!!

If we were going back, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    136
    115
    46
    40
See reviews for
127
144
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We booked a deluxe hill view room which was large enough and although the hill isn't that great a view but the sea itself is visible from the balcony of the room. As requested while booking through agoda.com I got a room at a higher floor which we always prefer for low noise. The pool is really nice and you get great view of the sea from there. The tanjung bungah beach is a quiet one and not a commercially exploited one and that's the beauty of it. I must say even though the hotel is not located in batu ferrenghi which is the main hub in Penang you will not find any problem commuting anywhere from the hotel. The rapid penang bus stop is located just outside the hotel. Throughout our stay we didn't spend on taxis, bus 102 direct from airport to hotel and 101/102 to gurney's and batu ferrenghi were convenient. Room service was helpful though a bit slow. Breakfast was quite splendid and you dine just next to the pool and the beach :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed here and could not fault the staff or the management who even responded to us by email to thank us for completing the survey about out stay. What more could you ask of a professional opertaion.
The view from the hotel was wondeful, the shuttle bus a fabulous idea but also as many people have said, buses stop outside the hotel (just make sue you have a supply of change as bus drivers are unable to give you change).
Thers is a great Indian restaurant across the road if you feel like eating locally. All in all, I was really pleased that we did not allow the negative reviews alter our plans to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We make a reservation for 2 rooms x 2 nights on 2 June, but system check us in the same date as we book which is 23 May. The time we book is later than the check-in time. Obviously, there is system error. How can one book on the same day but check-in BEFORE we book?? We called to inform them on the same day, but ignore the system error and they told me it considered as a last minute cancellation and they have to charge me for the booking. And they reply with email "we are pleased to inform that we have charge the total cost of booking due to a last minute cancellation."

Big mistake if you consider this hotel for your next stays.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Helpful and friendly staff ensured our short stay was very pleasant. We stumbled across their Sunday lunch - a feast of 128 different dishes for about $9 AUD. Beautiful! The facilities were impressive, with an ocean view room and the bus stopped right out front, so a bus ride with the locals into Georgetown was easy to accomplish. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Book ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We arrived at the Flamingo after 25 hours straight travelling. I had developed a debilitating knee problem and found it impossible to stand. The concierge immediately brought a wheelchair to the car and wheeled me to our room. Later that evening I fell and was unable to get up off the floor. A phone call to reception and a member of staff came up to help my partner move me to the bed.
For the rest of our stay the lobby and dining-room staff were very helpful and concerned. They even raised a cheer when i managed to walk again, after acupuncture treatment.
Breakfasts were well prepared and buffet style. Unfortunately we were there over the bank holiday period and a couple of days we were left a little short of choice. That is not the norm, however.
This was our second stay at the Flamingo and it won't be the last.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The room was on the big at sea side, but the bed was terrible. Didn't sleep well at all, but that was mainly due to the king size bed! It was a fairly thin mattress on a wire frame. I suffered a backache for 3 days after checking out. There was a mouldy smell when you entered the room and it was dirty. The curtains looked like they had never been cleaned. Breakfast is poor, no forks and knife is served, when I asked for the tools the receptionist served me with a used forks!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Address: Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Flamingo Hotel By The Beach, Penang Tanjung Bungah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.