We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island cuisine like no other!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meze Meze Tavern - CLOSED

Meze Meze Tavern
17 Kathikas, Kathikas, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Larnaca, Cyprus
1 review
“Island cuisine like no other!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

To begin, this place is set in the village square which gives it a rustic feel and the decor and staff definitely inspire a warm cosy experience. The best item on this place's menu is its MEZE which is a series of small portioned dishes that range from dips and salads to exotic Greek cheeses, wood oven baked bread (that's baked on site), grilled meat and seafood, wild mushrooms, prawn saganaki (prawns panfried with tomato and fetta cheese flavoured with ouzo), fetta saganaki and finishing with homemade local desserts including walnut cake smothered in chocolate, baklava, halva and fruit conserves.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Greek and Cypriot food together!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have visited this tavern a few times. The food is exceptionally good and tasty as well as fresh there is a combination of both Greek and Cypriot food. The meze is quiet unique as it has also a traditional Greek flare this makes it a culinary experience. You can enjoy live traditional music most evenings. The decor and atmosphere in the tavern is probably the most traditional out of all the taverns I have visited on the Island. The outside area is also a nice relaxing area to eat or have a chilling drink ! The service and politeness of the staff matches the whole Cyprus experience, I would strongly recommend this as a place to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Finally fantastic food in Paphos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Visited this spectacular tavern on 3 occassions during our 2 week stay in Pegeia, Paphos. Never had experienced such a lush meze before, dishes from Greece and Cyprus, including delicious desserts and imported different sorts of cheeses from the Greek Islands that left your mouth watering!!! Even the Sunday lunch shocked us...massive portions with the best bbq meat we have had in Cyprus, well known dishes such as homemade Mousakka and Kleftiko were available too....
Must visit, especially those of you who are looking for proper homemade Mediterranenan tastes....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really impressed! Great fresh food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went in for lunch on a weekday; having been told previously by other restaurants that the grill menu is only available in the evenings we were fearing the same-but, no such problem. The outside doesn't look amazing, there is a nice seating area over the road, however the inside is really lovely. Everything very clean, nice cutlery and somehow no flies (unlike most places!). Feta in filo and honey is lovely, also we had traditional cyprian beef stew, (stifado) and the meatballs, both delicious, with rice and Greek salad. Large portions, really nice flavours. We were not drinking alcohol, whilst other tables were given a shot afterwards, we were given gorgeous fresh apricots (2 round of) really nice priceless touch. The manager was then kind enough to get some maps out and suggest other places we could visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere. Big portions!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A month ago I first went to Cyprus. I had lunch in several taverns.. Went to that tavern, because i've been told that if i go there, on a day with live music i am going to have a really nice time. That was true. I had a nice time with friendly people but not thrilled with the food. Should visit though because is a nice effort, from polite people to sshow ''us'' the cypriot culture.!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meze Meze Tavern also viewed

Kathikas, Paphos District
Kathikas, Paphos District
 
Kathikas, Paphos District
Kathikas, Paphos District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meze Meze Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.