We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay in the Mumbles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Reach Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tides Reach Guest House to your Saves list
Tides Reach Guest House
388 Mumbles Road | West Glamorgan, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TN, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Mumbles B&B and Inns
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay in the Mumbles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is our first time to the area, and were a bit apprehensive as visiting it by public transport.
We needn't have worried, as this guesthouse has a bus stop just 10 metres down the road, and it took us only 20 minutes from Swansea bus station.

When we arrived, we had to stop before we entered. The view from the doorway was spectacular. Just in front of us was the sea with a lovely view across it back to Swansea.

The guesthouse is really well looked after, everything in pristine condition which Mary and Lin look after perfectly.

Only 10 minutes walk from the centre of the village along the nice coastal path, it was an amazing spot to base ourselves at whilst visiting Gower. Easy to get anywhere, and easy to come back to after a long day visiting the sights.

The owners were very helpful at giving tips of places to visit and restaurants to eat at during our stay, and we learnt that for some places a reservation in advance is a neccesity.

The room had a view onto the bay through some big windows, which meant that the light on this sunny bank holiday was so appealing. Everything very comfy, good choice of pillows and duvet and towels nice and fluffy.

The breakfast is another great aspect of this stay. Full English (sorry, Welsh) breakfast cooked fresh, with a full selection of fruit, yoghurt and cereals to help you fill up for the day ahead.

We had an amazing time here, and would definitely come back to visit the area, and stay here every time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    32
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
183
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Tides Reach guest house was one of the most comfortable and welcoming I have stayed in .We had a gorgeous room overlooking the bay .The decor within the house was really interesting and individual.Breakfast was substantial and set us up for the day..This was a perfect base for walking and exploring the stunning area of The Gower.We hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Tides Reach this year and it achieves the same very high standard. Mary and Lin run a first class guest house and could not be friendlier. Their standards are high in every respect, the position is superb overlooking the bay.
Next time we visit the area this is where we will stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Me and my wife just had the best time staying in this wonderful guest house!. The location is great (nice 5min walk to the center of town).
The owners were very friendly, helping us with great recommendation for places to be and things to do (during our stay we had one day of heavy rain, and we needed to change our plan. they really helped us with great choices).
The room was amazing , with lots of space to sit, place the luggage and just be comfortable.
Breakfast was very good, and easy going (versitle and tasty).

We Stayed in May 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidesreach, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thankyou for such a great review...the weather was not very good but we managed to sort out some nice things to do!! you were lovely guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio to Middle East
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Really great place. The owner was so incredibly friendly, full of good recommendations and very pleasant. Convenient location right on Mumbles Road near the center of town. Beautiful living room. Our room had a beautiful view of the bay. We (in our mid-to-late-20s) definitely seemed to be on the younger side of the guest profile, but the owner made us feel totally accommodated. Breakfast was good and hearty, if a bit greasy. I really can't endorse this place enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We can't thank Mary and Lyn enough for the welcome they gave us in their beautiful guest house, where nothing was too much trouble. We have stayed in quite a few of the best hotels in UK and abroad and we have to say this small guesthouse would be ranked with them. However, unlike most of the hotels which tend to be corporate in their approach and appearance, Tides Reach is warm, friendly and unique in that Mary and Lyn have paid attention to every little detail and added that special something to each room and the many nooks and crannies within the guest house.

Our room was fantastic, tastefully decorated, SPOTLESSLY CLEAN, warm, fabulously comfortable bed and pillows that were amazing. We were provided with a robe each and just the softest towels to use. Our room had a gorgeous en-suite, well appointed with a high quality shower, something other guest houses often neglect. The other thing about the en-suite is that the toiletries provided weren't from a little bottle or sachet but were of a high quality in their own pump dispensers.

Our room had free wi-fi connection which worked really well good enough to let us upload lots of images when we got back each day, to share with our family.

What also lets some of the hotels and guest houses that we have stayed in down is the quality of the food, not here though. The breakfast was fantastic and prepared us perfectly for the day ahead. Mary and Lyn use a lot of local produce and know exactly where their ingredients come from and insist on only using the best, which showed. Again the dining room is SPOTLESSLY clean and tastefully decorated.

The hosts, Mary and Lyn are great and have made a fabulous job in creating a wonderful place to stay (only wish our time there had been longer). From the lovely welcome to the cheery goodbye and hope to see you again, we could not fault our stay and whilst we would selfishly want to keep this gem of a guest house to ourselves, it is too good not to recommend to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: If you get a chance ask for the larger rooms overlooking the bay, simply stunning. By the way they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely stay at the Tides Reach! My parents have used this wonderful b&b and immediately suggested we stay here. It was the first time my husband and I stayed and we would definitely stay here again! The room was clean, comfortable, updated, and had tons of space. Breakfast was delicious! We were visiting family in Mumbles and Swansea so this was the perfect location. Also my husband's first trip to the area so it was great that we could step out the door and walk along the bay. Highly recommend Tides Reach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tides Reach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Reach Guest House

Address: 388 Mumbles Road | West Glamorgan, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1855, Tides Reach is a handsome, elegantly furnished well appointed guest house providing high standards in quality, comfort and service, whilst providing an informal and friendly place to relax and savour the views across Swansea Bay. All rooms are en-suite, are equipped with televisions, DVD players, internet access, irons, hairdryers, alarm clocks, pampering kits and hospitality trays. Adjoining the guest house is a self catering flat with spectacular sea views which sleeps 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tides Reach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Reach Guest House Hotel Mumbles
Tides Reach Guest House Mumbles, Swansea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Reach Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.