We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Reach Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tides Reach Guest House to your Saves list
Tides Reach Guest House
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   388 Mumbles Road | West Glamorgan, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TN, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Mumbles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“High quality B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Second time we have stayed at Tides Reach, the room was very clean, well decorated and comfortable. This is a very well run B&B. Our room had a view out over the bay. Really enjoyed our stay. Mumbles is a good base for Swansea and the Gower. Will use Tides Reach again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidesreach, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thankyou for a kind review, you will be warmly welcomed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    33
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
73
191
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The warm welcome we received at Tides Reach set the tone for our stay there. We had a lovely room overlooking the bay, where we could watch the constantly changing waters and the almost mediterranean view of the lights at night. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm, which could not be said of the temperature outside. The breakfast was one of the best veggie ones I have had with delicious locally-made leek and Caerphilly sausages and laver bread and perfectly cooked eggs. Mary was full of good advice about what to see in the area and I was really glad that she advised me to go to Rossili beach when the light was right. Definitely a place to come back to - maybe when the weather is different.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidesreach, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am glad that you found it warm...due in part to our triple glazing and also that we keep the heating on!! you were a pleasure to have stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our pick for an overnight base to introduce relatives to a bit of Wales in February and a return visit for me. It was bitter cold outside but warm and cheery within. Mary and Lin made excellent suggestions on where to go and what to do the following day, and we were all glad we followed their advice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidesreach, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was lovely to see you again on a return visit....I am glad that you enjoyed our suggestions about where to visit...they are also my fav. places and it gives me great pleasure to share them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked online and arrived later than planned on a Friday. Mary the owner was very helpful in showing us around and making sure we were at home, giving us maps of the area, suggesting places to eat and even moving her car so that we had a space close to the B&B. Her recommendation for an indian restaurant was spot on. The room was very nice, large, clean and modern. The bathroom and shower were very good, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. Breakfast was vast, with an array of various different cereals, loads of fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries and croissants and juices. Cooked breakfast was available with it too, and the poached eggs were done to perfection. Best of all I'm reviewing this from the guest room on the free wifi! I would recommend to anyone and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Room 2 (Langland Bay) was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here with my partner on the spur of the moment. Owner Mary is an absolute pleasure to deal with and talk to.
Great rooms and all maintained to a very high standard. Toiletries are great as is the bed linen. A lovely touch is the dressing robes. Marvellous to relax in.
Breakfast is served in a very comfortable dining room and here you will find super local produce and fresh fruit , cereals and yogurts. Mary and Lyn work very hard and look tremendously at ease, unlike many other guest house owners who can be stressed out and nervy.

Will be staying again and have already booked a birthday stay for my partner next month.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidesreach, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay..it was a pleasure to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Booked at the last minute so we didn't do too much research-luck must have been on our side as this has to be the nicest guest house we've ever stayed in. Room was brilliant with beautiful sea views. Lovely owners who really know how to make guests feel welcome and special. Little extra touches, often missing in other places, are obvious and demonstrate how much the owners care about the service they deliver. Oh, and the breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidesreach, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thankyou for your positive review.....I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Mumbles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Yes this has to be one of the best BB's we have stayed in.
Mary and her husband have obviously worked very hard and also put alot of effort into making this a very special place. Very professional with warmth and relaxation all in one. Breakfast is also what you would expect fresh and sourced well.
Thanks for your good work it is appreciated.

Room Tip: We booked late so only one room avaialble which was completley fine. The only issue was other resid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidesreach, Owner at Tides Reach Guest House, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, Very rarely, there are guests who behave in a very inconsiderate way and I am sorry if they disturbed you............as you are aware they were asked to leave the next morning. When you visit again I will happily upgrade your room ...thankyou for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tides Reach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Reach Guest House

Address: 388 Mumbles Road | West Glamorgan, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tides Reach Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1855, Tides Reach is a handsome, elegantly furnished well appointed guest house providing high standards in quality, comfort and service, whilst providing an informal and friendly place to relax and savour the views across Swansea Bay. All rooms are en-suite. We are dog friendly by request. We have family rooms and a self catering cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tides Reach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Reach Guest House Hotel Mumbles
Tides Reach Guest House Mumbles, Swansea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Reach Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.