We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Eve meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaplin Steakhouse Mumbles

Chaplin Steakhouse Mumbles
602,Mumbles Road | Mumbles Swansea, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4DL, Wales
+44 1792 368087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Mumbles
Price range: $13 - $47
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are your local Steakhouse restaurant, with an extensive fish menu.We also have several Vegetarian options. We cater for all ages.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas Eve meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Went there as a group of 23 girls for Christmas Eve. The staff were fantastic and couldn't have done more to accommodate us. The food was delicious, perfectly prepared and was promptly served considering the large party! We will definitely be returning next Christmas. Thank you Chaplains, you have made our year!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    31
    5
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great decor,atmosphere and staff. Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We went with friends for an evening meal and were welcomed by two very efficient, attentive and friendly members of staff. The decor and ambience of the restaurant was excellent but for the four of us the evening was let down by the the food. Portions when we were there were economic to say the least and the quality of the food can be bettered in other restaurants in Mumbles. The wine however was excellent and overall the meal was not really overpriced. However I don't think we'll be going again. Sorry Chaplins.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Class meal at Chaplins in Mumbles, Swansea!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Absolutely fabulous time with wonderful setting on the beach front! Gorgeous choice of meals, wanted everything on the menu, and all at good prices! The ambience is lovely, and the staff are fab! So helpful, fun and friendly! Went that extra further to make our experience personal the best!
Would definitely, 100000% recommend taking a trip to this restaurant, you'll have a great time all around!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went for a family Christmas meal on a Sunday, the food was very good homemade gayer. The veg and gravy were as good as you would get at home. The burgers were nice if a little bland- this could be easily remudied. The best thing fir me which will guarantee my return was the superb friendly service, they clearly valued our custom and nothing was too much trouble

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the title.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Good value for money and decent alternative choices if you want something other than steak. Pleasant helpful staff. I am not a steak aficionado but have to say that the ones being served to other diners looked superb.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaplin Steakhouse Mumbles also viewed

 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Chaplin Steakhouse Mumbles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaplin Steakhouse Mumbles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.