We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Out Of The Blue

Out Of The Blue
698 Mumbles Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4EH, Wales
01792 361 616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 17 restaurants in Mumbles
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“terrific restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have visited out of the blue several times as a family and have enjoyed every visit. Lovely fresh fish is served here in a warm and friendly atmosphere and the staff are fab too!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    44
    31
    14
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cold and Damp”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

No atmosphere ,food not cooked to our liking, wine list overpriced. I think Iv'e said enough and I believe they are trying to be something they clearly are not.
Sorry won't be going back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lack lustre , disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend decided to dine locally on this particularly wet Friday evening , and prebooking early evening was no problem.
The restaurant was half full when we arrived , and we were seated at our table promptly.
The menu had a reasonable selection of fish dishes some having been sourced locally.My boyfriend had a starter of King prawns with a plum sauce and a selection of breads to share.
The breads were tomato , olive and onion bread served with butter which was tasty.
Our choice of main dishes unfortunately were disappointing. The portion size of the cod and noodle dish with a " willow" ( pickled vegetable ) sauce was small to average and lack lustre in flavour, the sole in a cream and cockle sauce was again small to average and bland .The vegetables were non existent except for a small dish of sauteed potatoes between us.The cost for just the main dishes without wine or starters etc was £ 37.
My point is that we did not consider the meal value for money nor of a quality that deserved to be charging those prices in the first place.
We didn't bother with coffees or desserts, however the ones ordered by the other diners looked gorgeous.
Staff were pleasant , surroundings were average , the company was fab as always , however we won't be returning for a second visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Although we were aware of the negative comments and prepared for such eventualities we found the service acceptable although a more engaging and warm response to questions/comments would improve things. Food did not take long to arrive and was of a good standard. Portions were medium sized and did not reflect the high prices being charged either for quantity or quality. On balance it was a pleasant experience but probably not going back for a second time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“If you love Fish, you will love Out of the Blue..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

On a short weekend break, my partner and I, on passing this restaurant, agreed the selection of fish on offer looked really exciting. Coming from the Midlands and loving fish, is not always the best combination, when dining out locally, as we don’t really have the ocean on our doorstep. However, standing with the sea behind us looking at the menu, we decided we would try and book a table for the evening. We were lucky they had a spare table, and on arrival, we could see we were fortunate to get that, as every other table was taken.
The service was pretty standard, maybe a bit apathetic, (but it was Saturday, so, It could have been a tiring day). We were informed several of the dishes were off the Menu, however, the selection was fairly vast, so there was plenty more to choose from. Much of which, had been sourced locally.
We started with some olives to share and ordered a bottle of wine, there was an intimate and cosy atmosphere in the restaurant and a general buzz of conversation. The mood felt very relaxed. We both chose a starter and a main of fish, and were not disappointed. The presentation was excellent, the fish tasted very fresh, and though the portions did not seem to look huge, we actually could not manage a dessert afterwards, as we were both full up.
I would be happy to come back again, if in the area, and would recommend this to anyone, who enjoys fishy food. Though the prices may seem a little steep, we actually thought, the prices were a fair reflection on the quality and the style of the food and the restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out Of The Blue also viewed

 

Been to Out Of The Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Out Of The Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.