We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenview Guest House

Glenview Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glenview Guest House to your Saves list
Glenview Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   140 Langland Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4LU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Mumbles B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Glenview in April for a family wedding. From the start we were made to feel very welcome by Chris and David and it was a perfect start after a 3 hour journey.
My wife is pregnant and the hosts were very accommodating to this and my wife commented after we left that the bed was the most comfortable she had slept in for a long time. It's like a Home from Home to say the least.
Breakfast was missed but this was due to our own choice. Having stayed with Chris and David before - I know that what they serve is only "fine" ingredients from mainly local sources.
From both of us - Thankyou for a wonderful stay. We look forward to staying with you again in the future.
Tom & Esther Maher.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine B, Owner at Glenview Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you. It was apleasure to have you stay on such a fabulous weekend.Good luck in July,please let us know how it went. XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I recently stayed at this guest house with a friend, having booked a last-minute night away. We were given the large "suite" at the top of the house which would be great for a holidaying family.

The standard of the accommodation was far above what one would expect from a guest house, immaculate linens, thoroughly comfortable bedding and rooms and lots of personal touches like homemade soap and shortbread in the room- And proper coffee on the tea tray!

The guest house is very well located, it's literally a 5min walk into town, and a 5min walk the other way to reach the beautiful coast. Off road parking was a real bonus as I am quite paranoid about leaving my car on the street!

Very warm welcome from the hosts and a lovely breakfast. Really could not fault this place in any way and the rates are good value. Whilst it's right on the road, it's not very busy and the rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine B, Owner at Glenview Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverppol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Recent two night stay at this lovely B&B. Stayed as a family of five and had a large integrated room at the top of the house. Plenty of beds, pleasant comfortable surroundings, coffee and tea making facilities and a delicious home cooked breakfast.
The rooms where clean, plenty of fresh towels and home made soap !
The owners made us feel welcome, and the location is perfect for a trip to Mumbles.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine B, Owner at Glenview Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.We so pleased you had a good time.We hope your delightful family will come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We recently stayed at Glenview Guest House for three nights having read the positive reviews posted here. It must be said that our stay certainly didn't live up to expectations! It's fair to say that we've stayed in many much more comfortable and welcoming B&Bs at a similar price.

First impressions of our room were okay (small but relatively well furnished), but it seems that dusting behind the bedside tables or cleaning the headboard were beyond the owners. We're not talking a couple of missed spots either - it had obviously been some time since the room had been properly cleaned. Our windowless cell of a bathroom was better from a cleanliness point of view (though they may want to clean the bit under the bathroom mirror - urgh) but lacked anywhere to hang towels. The handmade soap was an interesting touch - my hands smelt of Turkish Delight all weekend. Nice, if you like that kind of thing.

In keeping with the theme of the weekend, the breakfast was okay, but nothing more. We often found the fruit bowl and orange juice jug near to empty and the bread was more salty than the North Sea. Nice eggs though. I can only assume the previous reviewer who was so taken with the sausages was served something different to what I received! ;-) At least getting up in time for breakfast wasn't a problem as the other guests' kindly arranged for their dogs to wake us up with their barking at half seven each morning.

If you haven't already guessed, I would highly recommend looking elsewhere for your much needed weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have stayed at this lovely B&B frequently over the last 10 years or more. We stayed again recently to attend a family wedding and the standard of the accommodation and the welcome we received was excellent.
We keep returning because the quality of the bedrooms and the comfort of the superking beds, linen towels etc. is as good as any 5* hotel. The proprietor Chris is most helpful and the breakfast is always suburb with plenty of choice. I require a gluten free diet and that is never a problem as Chris Brooke is very knowledgeable about the diet.
A fridge is provided in the room along with a fresh pint of milk and plenty of tea and coffee, very civilized. We shall return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine B, Owner at Glenview Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you.We really enjoy your visits. Come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This B and B is deserving of its 4 stars. The room was lovely, beds very comfortable and the room was equipped with TV, kettle, tea, Welsh cakes and real coffee. Home made soap in the en suite was gorgeous. The breakfast was superb. This B and B is a short drive from most attractions. We used it as a base for walking the fabulous Gower coastal path. Christine is a friendly, helpful hostess.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine B, Owner at Glenview Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
So glad everthing lived up expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here on Easter Weekend with my wife and two kids. Must say the welcome was great, Chris informed us that if we needed anything then just ask. We had a very nice spacious family room that had everything we needed. It was warm and cosy. Breakfast was really nice, we all had full cooked breakfast as we needed a good appitite for the days as we spent them walking around the local beaches.

The place was full while we were staying but we didn't really notice the other guests. We had no problems getting in or out of the car park (some people have mentioned this), Chris said that if we do find ourselves blocked in then it would only be her car and she would move it straight away.

We will definitely be going back this summer (if we can get a room!) as the location and amenities are great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine B, Owner at Glenview Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments.We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Guest House

Address: 140 Langland Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4LU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glenview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Guest House Mumbles, Swansea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenview Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.