We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taxi driver kept on insisting we try this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pecheur

Le Pecheur
Route Royale, Pereybere, Grand Baie, Mauritius
+230 263 1953
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 restaurants in Pereybere
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Taxi driver kept on insisting we try this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our driver said his friend is the chef and the food was fantastic. I ordered red snapper (750 rupees) which waiter said came in the day before. It did not (I use to be a fish monger in my past life before becoming an accountnt so you can't fool me). It was overcooked - white fatty bits (protein) came off it. I also ordered the crayfish for 1,600 rupees. It was good - no complaints from me. Service was great. Shame about the snapper - if it is not fresh, waiter should not try to sell it to me.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    13
    22
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Malawi
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“So friendly!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Situated next to and a part of Pereybere Hotel. This place is lovely, from the food to the staff. Local cuisine and definately much better than some of the other restaurants in Pereybere. We ate breakfast there everyday as part of our board at Pereybere Hotel, the breakfast is simple fare but perfectly adequate to set you up for the day. the breakfast staff are just great, always smiling and nothing was too much trouble for them.
On monday evening there was a sax player, playing cool jazz. Very laid back and relaxing. On another night was Sega, local dancing and a Mauritian buffet. at 800rps it was worth every penny.
Would definately go here on another trip to Mauritius

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fab food and a warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We went to the friday evening buffet night with traditional mauritian dancing & music - started with a rum cocktail and some deep fried veggies and ended with a coconut flavoured rum. Buffet was fab..fish soup to start...i don't normally like fish soup...but it was very tasty...lovely salads...rice...poppadoms....fish ...chicken curry, fish curry, beef dish...not the poshest place but definitely worth a visit for the food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This restaurant below our hotel was an excellent place to eat, great food, good value & attentive service

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Mauritian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This restaurant has a variated menu with fish and meat but most of all some typical Mauritian dishes. I had the grilled fish filet, which was nicely served with some vegetables and rice. My mum had a curry, with some small side dishes and a lentil soup, which she enjoyed very much!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pecheur also viewed

Pereybere, Grand Baie
Pereybere, Grand Baie
 
Pereybere, Grand Baie
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Le Pecheur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pecheur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.