We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu du jour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Pereybere

Cafe Pereybere
Royal Road, Pereybere, Grand Baie, Mauritius
263 8700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Pereybere
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Menu du jour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We enjoyed the menu of the day so much we returned for a second visit!!! Prawns, tuna steak, flambé bananas , Yummy!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely place with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped off here for lunch when we did a cycling trip up the coast and were very pleasantly surprised. This place doesn't look like anything special, but the food was great and the service very friendly. Set on the edge of Pereybere beach, this place offers a huge variety of dishes, mostly Mauritian (so not sure why this is listed as Chinese). We ordered the prawn croquettes to start, which are to die for (we almost got a taxi back there, just for them, but we ran out of time!). Then, we shared the Creole fish dish and the prawn curry, which were both lovely. Our guide book (Lonely Planet) said the portions there were small, but we thought they were a good size (and we like our food!). Prices were very reasonable too. The service was also good and friendly. If you are staying in Pereybere or passing through, this place is a must!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely for an evening meal, or a morning coffee!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Charming little reaturant, just yards away from Pereybere beach. The staff are always lovely and friendly, and the food is tasty. The menu offers chinese, french and Mauritiuan cuisine.
We are returning to Mauritius in November and looking forward to visiting this place again.
Prices are very reasonable too, under £10 person for a super size meal.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We ate and drank here a lot during our stay at the hotel across the road.
The food was plentiful and tased wonderful.
We could never finish our meal as there was soooooo much of it.
The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
I had a rotten cold and onee of the waitresses gave me advice and some ginger from the kitchen to use and her remedy certainly made me feel heaps better.
This cafe is right on the beach and it's lovely in the evenings with the sun going down.
The only negetive is the dogs that seeem to roam everywhere in Mauritius, but that wasn't the cafe's fault as stray dogs seem to be all over the place.
I highly recommend this cafe for a good filling meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you look past the dodgy chairs and tables on the patio you will find a clean, cheap place to eat. Expectations would not be high on first impression but seeing can be deceiving. Food is excellent and well presented. Massive choice and cheap. Three courses, wine, and beer for two comes to less than £20 and you will have no room for more. As a bonus it is just off the beach so you get the sunset over the sea too.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pereybere also viewed

Pereybere, Grand Baie
Pereybere, Grand Baie
 

Been to Cafe Pereybere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Pereybere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.