We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hotel that goes above and beyond!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myhregaarden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Myhregaarden Hotel to your Saves list
Myhregaarden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nygaten 24, Stavanger 4006, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Really great hotel that goes above and beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a nice hotel in a great location. It is just a 5 minute walk from the Fiskerpirterminalen where most of the ferries are located and right in the center where all the shops and restaurants can be found. The Petroleum Museum (which we saw) is also just a 5 minute walk from the hotel and is situated right next to this unusual Grafitti Kids Park (also worth a quick look). If you are staying in Stavanger on a Sunday...be aware that no shops are open...so use this day to do other things. As to our room...it wasn't large, but not small either. The bed was extremely comfortable. My only issue with this room is the bathroom, which is bizarre. If you are sitting on the toilet, I swear, you could practically brush your teeth/wash your hands at the same time. The sink literally juts out over the toilet bowl! This hotel offers free WIFI, but the connection was horrible in my room. We had to leave early (earlier than breakfast is served) on both mornings of our two day stay at this hotel. On both days, the staff was extremely accommodating to offer to serve us an early breakfast (included in the hotel price). I also felt that they went above and beyond when I asked them if they could make me and my husband sandwiches to take with us for our hike to Pulpit Rock. Not only did they do so, but they gave them to us for free! Lastly, we ate dinner in their hotel restaurant Piccolo. Scanda (sp?), the chef, was awesome. He even made my father potato soup from scratch (an item that was not even on the menu)! Overall, I feel that this hotel goes above and beyond and would recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    62
    42
    13
    7
See reviews for
8
83
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruchsal, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Considering how horrendously expensive everything in Norway is, the price of the Myhregaarden Hotel was a pleasant surprise. The location directly in the center of town next to the old town is great, though there isn't a harbor view. The room was nicely furnished, including a fireplace, but rather small. The bathroom was especially tight, though stil nice. There was almost no room to stand between the sink and the shower, and the shower had no surface or holder for shampoo and toilietries, which meant I had to place them on the floor of the very narrow shower. It's good that I'm not fat or I would have had a real problem. The other minor irritant was the bathroom door that had a closing mechanism that kept it from staying open, even if you wanted it open. Otherwise, the room and the hotel were quite nice for the price, and breakfast was also good. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel, though the double room would have been somewhat cramped for two people. It was barely large enough for one.

Room Tip: Any floor but the top (5), which requires taking the elevator to the 4th floor and then walking up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Situated in a central position in Stavanger, the hotel looks pretty good. Staff at reception friendly. Somehow stylish, room was clean and big enough. Forniture seems recent. Wifi connection working fine and free. Breakfast ok with a wide range of choices. The price was reasonable, unfortunately Norway is quite expensive. Close to the Petroleum Museum (I suggest to visit) and to the ferries for trips in the fiords and visit the Pulpit Rock.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogaland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Room was not ready when we arrived (1730ish) had to wait for 1 more hour - Blood stains on the bed, holes in the door, lamp torn of the wall and not very clean. When we checked out the next morning they messed up and tried to do a double withdrawal from the creditcard.

Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

There was no airconditioning, so the windows had to be open and the sound from the street was extremely loud and made it impossible to sleep longer than 6:45 AM.
The staff could not help with timetable for the bus to the airport. Instead they suggested that we should go out in the street in good time, and "there would probably be a bus eventually."
The breakfast restaurant was quite amateurish and we ended up buying breakfast across the street.
The hotel is quite overprized.
I would not recommend it although the room was clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nice hotel rooms very spacious with great beds , some rooms have a balcony but not a lot of them. Very clean and the bathroom is very good, The hotel is right in the middle of the town and you can walk to most places in 5-10 minutes, car parking is at the bottom of the road in a multi storey car park.

Braekfast is really nice with lots of hot and cold options , cereal , eggs, fruit, bread, cheese etc.

Overall a very good hotel in Stavanger well located and very comfortable.

I wil use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We almost decided to pass staying in Stavanger, as we could not find a hotel we liked. The Myhregaarden had some mixed reviews on Tripadvisor and other websites, but still stood out as the best choice. By booking a business double room with a fireplace, we were hoping we would not get one of the rooms facing the humming exhaust fans in the back of the building. As it turned out, we had a large and beautiful fourth-floor room facing the small square in front of the hotel. It was well appointed, although we could not make the gas fireplace work (maybe this is not envisaged during the summer months). The room was complemented by a very spacious and warmly-lit bathroom. The wireless Internet was free and worked well.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing. It was just plain vanilla and boring, nothing special, with limited choices. Since the Myhregaarden is a boutique hotel, it may want to distinguish itself even more from other hotels in town by making the breakfast more of an experience.

The hotel is centrally located, with easy access to shopping, bars and restaurants, and the ferry terminal. One of our concerns was parking, but since we stayed for two weekend nights, we could park for free after 4 pm on Saturday. To this end, one Tripadvisor forum participant had recommended the Røde Sjøhus parking lot near the oil museum, which was a good option, and we later found similar parking near the St. Petri church, a two-minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myhregaarden, General Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear SGECHAMPION
Thank you for your review of Mayhregaarden hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a great time staying at our hotel.
Regarding the breakfast. We are working constantly to improve the selection and quality. We are happy for all feedback that we can use to be bether.

Best regards
Christoffer Bugge Aase
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myhregaarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myhregaarden Hotel

Address: Nygaten 24, Stavanger 4006, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stavanger
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Myhregaarden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger. This new hotel opened 24th August 2008. Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger is situated in a quiet part of the city centre. Perfect for shopping, business and night life. The distance to the nearest shopping centre or shopping street is 50 metres. It is the newest hotel in Stavanger and is built in a Boutique style filled with design furniture and every room has its own fireplace! All rooms are business class or junior suites. Iron, free pay-tv and a large minibar are included in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Myhregaarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myhregaarden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.