We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Maritim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Maritim to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Maritim
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kongsgaten 32, Stavanger 4012, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Got a top floor room, stayed there in winter time. Strange layout and cold in spite of max on all radiators. Hard to block out the light through some windows when it was time to sleep. Breakfast was a disappointment. Also hard to find park place in the area, did cost me an (expensive) parking ticket as I arrived late and there were no place to park. There are better places in Stavanger.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booking_Mngr_Maritim, Booking Manager at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi Anders!

Thank you for you review.

I'm sorry to hear that you felt your room was too cold, and found it hard to block out light.
We are happy to accomodate room requests if possible, so don't hesitate to make a booking note of this on future reservations, or contact us directly at maritim.booking@thonhotels.no, and I'll do my best to give you a room that meets your needs :-)
We always stribe to serve a top quality brekfast, and I'm sad to see that you did'nt enjoy it.
Parking can often be a challenge in city centers, but our receptionists are happy to advise reasonable parking opportunities nearby. The closest parking garage is 150 meters behind the hotel, and costs appr. 75 NOK pr. 24 hours.

I hope that we get a chance to welcome you to Thon Hotel Maritime in the future, and give you a better experience!

Best Regards Heidi Kleppe, Thon Hotel Maritim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    108
    78
    14
    17
See reviews for
24
54
22
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned from a recent business trip and stayed at this property for the first time, good city centre location. I stayed on the 6th floor which was very quiet and allowed a good night sleep. I was in a twin with 2 single beds which were very small but being very petite was not such an issue for me. I would suggest you check on arrival if you are over 5ft 4!!!
Staff very friendly and the breakfast good. One quick tip is allow plenty time for your taxi ahead of meetings (even when you prebook) the city is getting even busier and we always had to wait!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booking_Mngr_Maritim, Booking Manager at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi Sjr_1972!
Thank you for your review!
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
You're quite right about the taxi situation in Stavanger, booking ahead of time is a good idea in the rush hours.
Most of our rooms have queen or double beds, so just aks for this the next time you visit us, and we'll do our very best to accomodate your request :)
Hope to see again soon at Thon Hotel Maritim!
Best Regards, Heidi Kleppe, Booking Manager, Thon Hotel Maritim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here on business. Rooms were fine - comfortable enough and quiet. Staff helpful. Breakfast fine. Some communal areas a bit tired. Fantastic location. Decent enough business hotel, but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booking_Mngr_Maritim, Booking Manager at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi mlohara!
Thank you for your review!
I'm glad to see that you found our staff helpfull, and that you enjoyed your room and our location!
During the last couple of weeks we have refurbished all corridos, and some part of the communal areas.
Hope to welcome you back to Thon Hotel Maritim in the future!
Best Regards, Heidi Kleppe, Booking Manager, Thon Hotel Maritim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed on business on my way offshore.
Room was spotless, mini bar, shower over bath.
Flat screen TV with desk, sofa and very comfortable bed.

Downstairs restaurant was excellent for breakfast. Coffee machine in restaurant and another in reception area was free as was the wireless internet and free desktop in reception lounge.

Hotel is very central over looking central lake.

I would book here for vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for what your looking for. Vary helpful staff..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booking_Mngr_Maritim, Booking Manager at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Lee, thank your for a great review!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Thon Hotel Maritim. I'm especially pleased that you find our staff helpfull, and that you liked our breakfast.
I hope to see you at again soon at Maritim, and I hope you have a fantastic fall :)
Best regards, Heidi Kleppe, Booking manager, Thon Hotel Maritim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel has a very good central location next to the older part of Stavanger, an area full of character. The hotel itself is very plain inside. My room lacked character with a very basic and out of date bathroom. There was no tea/coffee making facilities, if you need a hot drink you would have to go down to the hot drinks machine in the lounge which is a hassle if you prefer a hot drink in the evening.
On the positive side, the hotel serves a very good buffet breakfast with a great choice of meats, fruit, hot dishes and breads etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed on businees in doubke room with my wife. Room was standard double and for a change good to actually get a double rather than two singles. Room was clean, mini bar (expensive) walk in shower in bathroom. Room well serviced daily. Flat screen TV with decent range of channels mainly all in English.

We had excellent front room over looking the lake which was great.

Downstairs restaurant was excellent for breakfast and a 3 course dinner which was reasonably priced. Coffee machine i restaurant and another in reception area was free as was the wireless internet and free desktop in reception lounge.

Hotel is 5 minute walk to town centre.

Couldn't really find any fault and staff were very friendly. Noted tripadviser award of 4 stars posted 2011.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overseeing the lake. Great at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We are a family of 4, and the room that we were given was very large and comfortable with sky lights. The room was also very clean. Staff were friendly and the hotel was very central. Breakfast the first morning was a bit of a disappointment as we arrived towards the end of breakfast, and most of the food had gone and was not replenished. However, we went the next day earlier, and had a decent breakfast. The hallways were quite dark and the carpet outside our room was a bit stained, but that did not really matter so much. Would recommend this hotel based on location and room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Maritim

Address: Kongsgaten 32, Stavanger 4012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Maritim 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thon Hotel Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Stavanger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Maritim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.