We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three & a Half Stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Havly Hotell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Havly Hotell to your Saves list
Best Western Havly Hotell
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Valberggt 1, Stavanger 4006, Norway   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30 % Off Scandinavia
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Three & a Half Stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Central, good rooms and breakfast, helpful staff. Comfortable room amenities but hot and we needed to ask for a fan (and got an old noisy one). If you stay over a weekend expect a lot of noise from night club goers.
No on-site bar so if you felt like a room service alcoholic drink and hadn't found the right place to buy something then you miss out (buying alcohol in Norway is restricive).

Room Tip: If there's rooms away from the street go for that but then I think it would be boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your review, and constructive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
17
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dar es salaam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

we stay in the hotel on our Norway tour October 2013
the hotel is clean and confortable. we did not like the noise coming from the street in front of the hotel over the weekend. my wife was surprised when the frontdesk lady refused to open the hotel safe to remove her envelope. this was strange.

Room Tip: over the weekend do NOT take a room in the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your review, and very constructive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is no doubt the friendliest hotel in Stavanger. The staff is always smiling and never turns down a request.
The hotel is located right in the middle of the city centre, with everything within a 5 minute walk.
Allthough Havly is not one of the newest hotels in Stavanger, several of the rooms are upgraded recently. I especially like that they have Stressless recliner chairs in all the rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms on 1st and 4th floor are upgraded recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review, Ståle!
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The reason I rate this average is the cost. Considering the price, it is a tiny room which was so hot we had to sleep with the window open but it's very noisey as the pubs are all just down the road. We had to leave one day earlier due to family reasons and they were extremely helpful and we didn't have to pay a cancellation charge. The breakfast selection was ok but not replenished often so unfortunately we seemed to miss out both mornings. Location is fantastic, so close to everything.

Room Tip: A room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for Your review, and for the tips on improvements. We will strive to become better, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is well located in the city center, so you can walk to all the major attractions. Downside is that, at night, you can hear all the drunk people partying and it gets really hard to sleep on a Friday or Saturday night.

Room is quite comfortable and breakfast is good. Rooms are not so clean (specially next to the bed where to seem to never remove the dust). Staff was really good and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid being in front of the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are sorry that you were not entirely pleased with your stay, but we will use your feedback to implement improvements to ensure that we can offer a better experience for guests in the future.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have a chance to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It took us a very long time to find this hotel. The GPS was unable to direct us due to a closed road nearby, and then directed us onto streets closed to vehicles. The front desk clerk was excellent - answering our calls for directions twice, and finally walking out onto the street to wave us down. It really wasn't worth it - the room was small, breakfast mediocre. Except for the friendly and very helpful staff, I wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: I would recommend second floor or higher, to give yourself some space from pedestrians walking by on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, Paula!

I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations, but we will use your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have a chance to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Staff was very friendly. I checked in late on a saturday night, and there were people partying outside my window. I couldnt sleep so i called the front desk. Without thinking the staff changed my room to something quieter. I moved in 5 minutes and had a good night sleep. Also, the rooms are very clean. Location is pretty good. Ten minute walk from the express bus, and ten minute walk from the ferry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina A, Front Office Manager at Best Western Havly Hotell, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for Your great review, Tobias! We're happy we were able to help make Your stay as enjoyable as possible, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Havly Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Havly Hotell

Address: Valberggt 1, Stavanger 4006, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Havly Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Havly Hotell is a traditional, yet modern hotel in the heart of Stavanger, within walking distance of the city's vast selection of restaurants, cafés and shops.Since the opening of Havly in 1975, the building has undergone extensive renovation. The hotel has 42 rooms, all with comfortable armchairs, large work desk, new hardwood floors, mini refrigerators, and flatscreen TVs.The hotel is 100 % non smoke, and has free wireless access in all guest areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Havly Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stavanger
Stavanger Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Havly Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.