We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Skansegaten 1, Stavanger 4006, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Haugesund, Norway
1 review
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Lovely hotel with great service. Excellent breakfast with a variety of foods. It is in the middle of the city center, down the the dock.. It is a charming hotel with a nice staff, and the rooms are nice too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    50
    37
    14
    7
See reviews for
10
22
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was on an business trip and the Victoria hotel is a very good place to stay in Stavanger. The staff is very helpfull in both business arrangements and touristic information. I had a single room and it was a large room. Usually the single rooms are in the little corners of the hotel but my room was very spacious, both the bedroom and the bathroom.
Stavanger itself isn't cheap (restaurants) but provides a very scenery view of Old Stavanger. Unfortunately I didn't have the time to visit the surroundings. The restaurants and the tourist locations in the city were on walking distance. Also the public transports (bus) were only 5 minutes away. The busses to the airport leave at the busstation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrine V, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Biggles

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything convenient. We hope to see you next time you are in Stavanger.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for just three nights and would strongly recommend it for its high quality services and great hospitality. From check in check out every process went smooth. Rooms are very clean, spacious and wonderfully designed. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Washroom had all the needed things and was very big. The breakfast is good with plenty of choice. I will love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrine V, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Hanna

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you upon your next visit to Stavanger.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Victoria Hotel in Stavanger is a classic hotel, with walls full of history.
Polite and forthcoming personnel. Quick and professional service.
However, as I said above, the hotel is classic, which means it is also old.
The hotel is, in my opinion, in strong need of a imminent renovation.

My room was comfortable and spacious, but worn.
The carpets are old, but majestic.
The bathroom was clean, but old and outdated.

I like the hotel, and enjoyed my stay, but I believe investments are need to renovate, renovate, renovate...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a very well run and kept hotel, not as modern and fancy as some others in this part of Norway but maybe all the better for that. Service was a little abrupt when checking in but the room was spacious and well equipped. The view of the harbour was terrific and the breakfast very good indeed, as was the very well stocked bar. If visiting Stavanger I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I booked into the Victoria for the first time after many years coming to Stavanger.
Reception and foyer was very pleasing with traditional carpets and loungers. A change from some of the more modern hotels in town.
I had a junior suite which was two rooms put together with a separate bedroom. All looked OK with a new bathroom and ampe seating.
The room faced inward which meant absolutely no noise - not even from the corridor which was good.
The living room part of the suite had a few design faults though and this detracted from the overall enjoyment. I do not know who designs hotel rooms but obviously they do not stay in them. The desk area was good but nowhere to plug in my laptop. Had to stretch the cable from another wall across the room.
The TV was located on the wall but adjacent to the easy chair which meant you could not see it unless you re-arranged the furniture. You also had to sit close as the TV was far too small for a suite. No TV in the bedroom.
Breakfast was reasonable certainly not as good as the other top hotels in town.
Will I return - possibly simply to try and confirm my feelings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrine V, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Derek

Thank you for your feedback. We are aware that many of our rooms do not have plugs by the desks. Our electrician is currently working on this. We also realize that some of our televisions need TV swing arms and have been installed in several rooms already. We strive to have an excellent breakfast and we would appreciate it if you would send us an e-mail telling us what you would like to see at our buffet.

Best regards,
Catrine Vedøy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 days april13. Has. seen its better days, needs renovation. Toilet leeks, and fungus in shower.. and story goes on. Price does not reflect value! Needs a mayor renovation. Gg. Gg. Gg. G. Gg. Gg

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrine V, General Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Monnoi

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We renovate rooms each year, and are in the process of renovating rooms this summer. We have many nice rooms at the hotel, and therefore hope you will give us another chance in the future. The hotel is located in the heart of Stavanger city, and many guests choose to stay with us because of our great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Skansegaten 1, Stavanger 4006, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of town, the 100 year old Victoria Hotel in Stavanger preservs its elegant interior and lives up to its reputation for traditional hospitality. Each guestroom is a true home from home comfortable and welcoming. The multi-purpose public rooms are ideal for meetings, intimate receptions or stylish banquets. There is also an excellent Big Horn Steak House restaurant, and the popular Holmen Bar. The hotel is situated at Vagen in the centre of town. The Oil Museum, Old Town, Canning Museum, medieval cathedral, vegetable and fish markets, shopping area and theatre are all within walking distance. The hotel is labelled with the environmentally friendly label Swan (Svanemerket). We wish you a warm welcome to the city and to Victoria Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Stavanger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.