We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing change from boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Skansegaten 1, Stavanger 4006, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A refreshing change from boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have had recent poor experiences in Norwegian Hotels, so I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the Victoria Hotel for a four night stay. Reception was bright, staff are pleasant, rooms are bright and airy, with a mini bar and complementary water. No tea making facilities though. Breakfast is exactly as you would expect, lots of it. Dinner in the Restaurant was very good, a Steak House that was good enough for you not to want to leave to at elsewhere. A bar attached to the Hotel took care of libations if you wanted at the usual exorbitant Norwegian prices. All in all a very pleasant stay. Apart from some noisy passing late night revelers walking home on he quay all was quiet.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to enjoy this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrine V, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Brian

Thank you for the great review. Today we have coffee and teamakers in our Superior rooms and suites, but based on guest reviews, we are considering them in all room categories.

Sincerely,
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    45
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
9
21
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Opposite to the previous reviewer I do not agree that the rooms are big. Atleast not the standard room we stayed in. However even the room was very small for two adults and our daughter which was sleeping in a cot the room was decent.The aircon did not really work well (or we just did not understand how to use it) however the air felt quite hot'n heavy in the room.The hotel looks nice from the outside if you like these kind of old style decorative buildings.However I was a bit disappointed to notice that the same atmosphere did not continue in the hotel rooms.Left me a feeling that something does not really match up.
The hotel is situated in the downtown near the port. Many of the rooms seem to have a view to the port which was nice.Many restaurants and shops are located near the hotel. The staff is friendly atleast most of the time and the breakfast is good.
Special thanks about the great the omelets they served.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are big and nice furnished. You get good products in the bathroom. Shampoo, soap, body lotion, bath salt, pads and conditioner.

Location is very good in the center of the town near these our and the marked place. A lot of restaurants are in walking distance.

Breakfast is OK.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ås
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The hotel i one of the biggest of the old hotel from the golden age.- its was finished in 1900.I came in into a grand beutifull lobby and was Welcomed by a very helpfull and smiling staff. The rooom i normally ready about 14 but I get my room at 8.30 in the morning. I they give me a grand suite- the ony room that was ready. A unbelibeabe helpfull service.
The room was very comfortable with good sofa and very good beds. And the bathrom was fantastic!
The breakfast was very good with a good selection of salomon and heering and a lot of different fruits. Als they have "energy-Shots" made of ginger and carrots etc. A lot of yougerts and cerial etc. The only thing they dint have; was the "danish rugbrød" the very healthy and heavy dark bread you always get in Denemark and Germany. But the helpfull staff said that they normally have it, its been very popular also in Norway the last years.
Totaly I woul say that this hotel is one of the most relaxing and best places I have been the last years. I would come back....

Frank Ødegaard

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

It seems that demand for hotel rooms in Stavanger, much like in Geneva, means that propritors don't have to bother to do anything to make a living. This hotel is in dire need of a lick of paint, new carpets and some bathroom renovations.

That said, the hotel rooms are reasonably sized (the standard room is no ballroom but not a shoebox either) and serviced daily. My biggest complaint was that there was no kettle in the room for an early morning / late night cup of tea, but I did manage to get one from the restaurant one evening (without charge).

The location is fine, down by the harbour, quiet and there's a small late-night shop nearby.

There's a huge spread for breakfast although, as with all hotels in Stavanger, the fried eggs are fried to within an inch of their lives and allowed to go cold before you get a chance at them. However, it's a big hotel and if you time it wrong, you'll be in for a scrum.

This is my 'last resort' hotel in Stavanger.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_Victoria, Director of Sales at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear WWWorker,
Thank you for you comments regarding you stay. We are truly sorry that the standard of the hotel was disappointing to you and that you didn´t have a good experience at our Hotel.

We are working continuously to improve out hotel, and will upgrade several of our rooms this fall. We hope to welcome you back again at the Victoria Hotel and Stavanger.

Kind regards Sales Manager Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Typical run of the mill Norwegian hotel. We booked a superior room which was slightly larger but the cleaning was practically nonexistent and the free drinking water never arrived.The heater in the room continually blows out cold air and can't be switched off.
Wouldn't really recommend the place but it seems to be pretty average for Stavanger nowadays standards have dropped greatly these past few years.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_Victoria, Director of Sales at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear littlereddevilag,
Sorry to hear that you weren't happy about your stay at our hotel. Although we are glad you let us know so that we can be hands on! We always want to be better, and work for this goal every day! We hope to welcome you back to Stavanger and Victoria Hotel.

Kind regards Sales Manager Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I was lucky my company booked me suite in this Hotel since everything else was fully booked. This spacious room has everything for a comfortable stay.

The hotel is located in the city center near the harbour. Lovely views from the hotel.

Breakfast is just like everything else in this hotel very good. Enjoy the bar at night time and have a chat and good laugh with the staff!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri_Victoria, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear travelling_gunner.

Thank you very much for your nice review, I am very pleased that we provided a good stay for you.

Welcome back any time.

Kind regards Sales Manager Victoria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Skansegaten 1, Stavanger 4006, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of town, the 100 year old Victoria Hotel in Stavanger preservs its elegant interior and lives up to its reputation for traditional hospitality. Each guestroom is a true home from home comfortable and welcoming. The multi-purpose public rooms are ideal for meetings, intimate receptions or stylish banquets. There is also an excellent Big Horn Steak House restaurant, and the popular Holmen Bar. The hotel is situated at Vagen in the centre of town. The Oil Museum, Old Town, Canning Museum, medieval cathedral, vegetable and fish markets, shopping area and theatre are all within walking distance. The hotel is labelled with the environmentally friendly label Swan (Svanemerket). We wish you a warm welcome to the city and to Victoria Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Stavanger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.