We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Stavanger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Stavanger to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arne Rettedals Gate 14, Stavanger 4008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Super, friendly service. Got a standard room, which was very nice. The hotel in general is neat and seemingly recently renovated.
The breakfast is fantastic. Chef makes omelettes and pancakes, and there is a good selection of ecologic foods.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Kaffeslaven,

thank you for your kind review and for choosing us in Stavanger. I am happy that you like the renovation that was done last year, please come back and visit with us again soon.

Warm regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    103
    26
    8
    0
See reviews for
18
77
11
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

At Clarion Stavanger it is all a big smile. From the moment you enter the door at this perfectly located hotel - the staff provides you with this warm feeling. The rooms contain everything a guest could ask for. Quality in every aspect. Amazing jacuzzi/suna with a stunning wiew all over the city at the 14th floor. Parking in the basement - and for me with big intreress in sports - it was a plesent surprise with the choice of all Premier League games in each room. All in all very comfortable. I have been to Stavanger many times - and Clarion is defenetly my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a wiew to the North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Kjære Frode O,

thank you so much for staying with us , and giving us a positive review. Clarion loves football, and we are happy to provide a good choice of channels for our guests. Welcome back next time!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This is our second year that we stayed in this hotel and every time we are planning to visit Stavanger we are going to come over and over again. the food is amazing and the staff are wonderful and we feel like it's our home in Norway.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Alya-d,

we are so happy that you consider us your home in Stavanger, and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Warm friendly Greeting on arrival.
Superb log fire warming and good to look at
Modern bedrooms,comfy beds ,good amenity kit & hair care
Good plasma TV in bedroom,with a reasonable choice of channels.
Excellent choice of breakfast ,freshly cooked omelettes & pancakes,good choices of cereals,bread s,hot and cold buffet .

Room Tip: Try the fresh Norwegian bread at breakfast after an orange vitamin test-tube or powerful pure fruit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear WileyCoyote,

thank you so much for your positive review, it made my day and I will share it with my staff. We hope to see you again in Stavanger, and in our hotel soon.

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel in Stavanger with nice and modern rooms, parking i basement, good breakfast, and serviceminded staff.
The garage under for parking is very tight, and I destroyed my outside mirror on my car. Only my fault, but be aware that the parking lots are not very big.

The beds are very good, and even the pillows make your night pleasant!
A big flat screen TV was also nice.
Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Trond K,

thank you so much for your kind review, it means a lot to me and my staff. I am so sorry about your mirror, and I agree that the parking lot is tight in some areas. I have mentioned it to the company in charge, maybe they will consider doing something about it at some point.

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Small but nice reception area. You can see that the lobby, as well as the rooms, have been refurbished. Rooms are nice and modern, only thing missing is a safe.
Restaurant, actually part of the bar, offers limited choice of food.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear HuubSmeet,

thank you so much for your review, it is important to us in order to improve. Since you stayed with us, we have changed the menu and even enlarged it. If we have the pleasure of seing you again, we will have a guest safe for you at the front office.

Welcome back!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Aust-Agder, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stay at Clarion Stavanger several times a year, and it is my favourite hotel. Not just amongst the Stavanger hotels but anywhere. The location is perfect and the rooms and common areas are very good. But the standout thing that makes this hotel so good is the fantastic staff. I have stayed in lots of hotels over the years, in most corners of the world, and have never come across a friendlier and more service minded staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Espen C,

I love my staff, and I am so happy that you are happy with their friendliness and the service we provide. Please come and stay with us again soon!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Stavanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stavanger

Address: Arne Rettedals Gate 14, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stavanger
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stavanger
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stavanger 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Stavanger, modern and fresh, provides an impressive contrast to the city's more traditional hotels. With several suites, deluxe rooms, superior rooms and even our comfortable standard rooms offering stunning views over Stavanger city centre and the surrounding islands. This exciting hotel will appeal to those who enjoy a chic, comfortable yet minimalistic Scandinavian lifestyle. The new restaurant, Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson, brings you the flavors of Manhattan and New York. Clarion rooms are comfortable and practical, offering modern conveniences for the well connected traveler. Within the heart of Stavanger and next door to the city's main pedestrian shopping streets, The Clarion Hotel Stavanger is close to famous attractions such as the Old Town. Unwind in the comforts of our relax centre Pust, located on the top floor of the Clarion Hotel Stavanger -visit our state-of-the-art Relax centre where you may like to linger in the luxuriously turbo Jacuzzi or relax in the sauna, with a spectacular view of Stavanger and the surroundings. The hotel has 14 meeting rooms, one with capacity for 720 people. We offer the latest within conference equipment. Enjoy all the entertainment Stavanger has to offer, from exclusive shopping to a delightful evening at the Theatre. Take a sightseeing tour around Stavanger, experience one of Stavanger's many fine museums or simply stroll through the Old town many galleries and handicrafts boutiques are located in this area. Everything is right outside your door when you stay with us at Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Designed in a fresh, modern Scandinavian style, Clarion Rooms are comfortable and practical. All furniture is designed by Scandinavian designers. The beds are Duxiana beds, they are very very comfortable. In the bathroom you will find tiles made by the local painter Kjell Pahr Iversen, these tiles are painted specially for Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Clarion Hotel Stavanger can offer its guests the most modern and best technical equipment. We can provide you with the technical equipment that meets your needs. Good planning and preparations and a professional conference staff are important to succeed. We take pride in providing that service for you. We try to add our personal touch to every detail. Our staff is here for you. Our chefs take great pride in offering you a tasteful and healthy meal while staying with us. Our French pastry chef takes care of your need for sweets. To top it off, we can offer Stavangers greatest view from our top floor board room, Perspektiv. It can fit a meeting for up to 26 persons. We can also offer you a set menu for smaller groups. Accompanied with refreshing drinks and our view of Stavanger and the fjords, your guest will be impressed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stavanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stavanger
Stavanger Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Stavanger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.