We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Your Own During A Cruise Ship Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roedne Fjord Cruise

Roedne Fjord Cruise
Skagenkaien 35-37, Stavanger 4006, Norway
+47 51 89 52 70
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Roedne Fjord Cruise are experts in arranging sightseeing tours to the Lysefjord and the Pulpit Rock! We have regular departures all year round. Please visit our web site for schedule and booking.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“On Your Own During A Cruise Ship Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stopped here on a Holland America Lines (Veendam) cruise and did this tour on our own. You can book it online or at the dock. The tour started at 10 AM and lasts 3 hours (another one starts at 2 PM); and the desk (by the boat) opens up at 9 AM to buy/get your ticket. We paid 320 NOKs each with the senior discount. I'm not sure at what age the senoir discount starts; however, my wife is 61 and she got it. The 320 NOKs is around $55 USD. The cruise ship charged $125 pp for basically the same exact tour. The boat that took the cruise ship passengers out was probably packed full (it holds around 125 people) our boat had less than half that. The boat was roomy and comfortable (inside and topside). There were limited seats topside, but lots of standing area there. The boat's restrooms were clean and the toilets flushed. The tour boat was within easy walking distance from where the cruise ship docked. The narrration and the boat's PA system was very good. It was a real nice tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    11
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
173 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Great way to see Lysefjord!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A 3-hour tour right from downtown Stavanger around some of the numerous islands to the east (where many people have their weekend homes) and on to Lysefjord, where you have the opportunity to view Pulpit Rock from below. The commentary and other "stops" made the trip very enjoyable. Grab a spot on the top deck unless the weather is really bad. It can be breezy up top, so be sure to bring a jacket (even if sunny).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Excursion out of Stavanger, Norway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Took 3 hour excursion including Lysefjord & view of Pulpit Rock. Trip was really great. Commentary was well presented on board. Ship was very clean & well appointed. It is a bit expensive but they do give a senior's discount. Total cost was 320 nok.Was sold out so I do recommend you book in advance. Online booking was very easy & they automatically applied the senior discount. This trip really gives you a wonderful view of the surrounding countryside including small villages along the shores. We were very lucky to see Pulpit Rock since there was some fog but it cleared up for a wonderful photo opportunity The picture stop for the three sheep & for the waterfall including taste of fresh water from the falls was a bonus. They also give you a map with explanation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery even on a grey day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrive into Stavanger and booked the cruise for the next day. It turned out to be overcast with some showers. The boat left from the main town centre on time at 10am - fully booked. The boat was an older one without an upper deck, limited areas on the deck and a couple of people standing - and no refreshments available as stated on their brochure. There were several of the newer more spacious boats but they went to pick up the cruise ship passengers.

We took the opportunity to go onto the deck at the back and was able to move onto the front area as well as we approached a point of interest. The boat would slow down and announcements were made in three languages ( although sometimes difficult to hear ) so that there was every opportunity to take photos and learn about the area. A brochure is also handed to each passenger giving an explanation of each point with a map showing locations.

The boat moved in close to the edge in several areas, goats were fed, water was collected from the mountain waterfall and handed around to all, the crew were helpful when asked questions.

Once you arrive at Pulpit Rock it is way, way up above you and probably not so spectacular as some of the other scenery but if you have read about it and seen pictures from the top view it is easy to understand the fascination in wanting to view it. Even on our overcast, rainy day, the rock could be clearly seen.

The boat trip back to Stavanger is quite fast. Overview is that it is my first taste of the fjord country so I was impressed. If I was fitter and unafraid of heights then I would probably chose to climb to the top..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must do trip in Stavanger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Departure/arrival point only a few minutes walk from where the cruise ships dock. Boat is clean, comfortable airplane-type seats on inside deck, but if weather is good, go straight to the upper deck and grab a space. Try to get in behind the bulkhead, as even on a lovely day, the front is breezy. Spectacular scenery. Unforgettable trip. Very handy senior's discount available.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roedne Fjord Cruise also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Roedne Fjord Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roedne Fjord Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.