We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frappuccino on a warm summer day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sjokoladepiken

Sjokoladepiken
Ovre Holmegate 27, Stavanger 4006, Norway
4720 1983
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 125 Restaurants in Stavanger
Cuisines: Norwegian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Frappuccino on a warm summer day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place is among the best. Hot or cold coffees and chocolates - they are all good, at least the three I tried.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hot Chocolate to die for!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

During our recent holiday touring northern Norway we spent some time in Stavanger, which is SUCH a pretty town. We called into this little café for morning drinks and refreshments. We both had the most sublimely delicious hot chocolates and little cakes. They also sell their own hand made chocolates which looked wonderful.
Decorated in a very quirky style and immaculately clean, serving great snacks and drinks, you must visit if ever you are lucky enough to visit Stavanger. They also have another, smaller, shop in the town (where we couldn't resist yet one more of their fabulous hot chocolates). Here they have their chocolate workshop too.
Expensive, but then what isn't in Norway.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great chocolate and delicious cakes!!! Yummy..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Whenever in Stavanger, I love to have a cake and hot chocolate in this cute little coffee/shop. Such a cosy place with one of the best hot chocolates!!! Once we tried a cake which was a combination of chocolate and raspberry mousse - exceptional!!! It is a bit pricy indeed, but hey - you are in Norway ;))

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Definitely the best hot chocolate ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I had a hot chocolate here in 2010 and had been dreaming about it ever since. Then when I returned to Stavanger in June 2013 this place was first on my list to revisit. It was everything I had remembered. I also tried one of their deserts and some of their chocolates all of which were exceptional but you definitely can't go past the hot chocolate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice idea, and used to be a favourite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice chocolates and great coffee but a 20 minute queuing time is enough to put you off.
It used to be our absolute favourite place, but a change of decor has made it lose its Norwegian charm. And the queues, the queues....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjokoladepiken also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Sjokoladepiken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sjokoladepiken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.