We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Nero

Restaurant Nero
Ovre Holmegate 8, Stavanger 4006, Norway
51 55 21 19
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 125 Restaurants in Stavanger
Price range: $1 - $259
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nero er en fine dining restaurant på baksiden av Victoria hotell i Stavanger. Du finner de beste av Norske og internasjonale råvarer på menyen, og en rikholdig vinkjeller med topp viner. Restauranten har særegent interiør som kombinerer rustikke steinvegger, hvite duker, moderne kunst i en lun og uformell atmosfære. Nero skreddersyr menyer til de fleste budsjetter. Restauranten er også velegnet for private selskaper, kurs og flotte matopplevelser ved åpent kjøkken .
Europe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Totally overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Not really bad, but a pretender. Prices are high, staff are attentive, but the food id really more "wanna-be" than anything else. Raw materials are cheap- trying to make something out of nothing. Still, one of the better restaurants, but not really worth the high prices

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    8
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
CASTLE PINES
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gourmet Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had an exceptional 6-course meal at Nero in February. Our waiter and sommelier, PaulO, was also exceptional -- clearly explaining the dishes (local Norwegian ingredients) and recommending two wonderful wines. Would definitely go there again when visiting Stavanger.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a wonderful evening at Nero. The food was absolutely delicious. Evcellent combination of flavours, accompanied by good wines. Went home full and happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Overrated.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

(+)
Good Gourmet Restaurant.

Nice tastes.

Nice scenery.

(-)
We have made a reservation for 21:00, and when arrived there they told us that they could only serve us the 3 course menu because it was too late.

We were seating on a table next to the kitchen and it was too much noise that disturb us a lot.

Overrated

Expensive

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have been eating in Nero in December and tasted the "Christmas" Diner. Excellent food, excellent made. Will go there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Nero also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Restaurant Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.