We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PETROLEUM MUSEUM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stavanger Museum

Stavanger Museum
Musegata 16, Stavanger 4010, Norway
47 51 84 27 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 39 Attractions in Stavanger
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“PETROLEUM MUSEUM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Very interesting museum where you can learn a lot about oil and how it is extracted from the sea bed - interesting even for those that get easily bored as there are lots of interactive activities as well. You could easily spend 2 - 3 hours in here as there is so much to see and relatively inexpensive for Norway at 200 Kroner (about £20 for 2 adults).

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Very friendly staff who spoke good English well, the commentary was very interesting and easy to follow. Exhibits were very good, especially the sail loft.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Grand building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The grand old building housing the museum is behind the nondescript modern structure next to the street.

Our favorite part was the dioramas in the top floor, depicting life in the old days here. They looked realistic and from back in the day. A negative here and at some of their other displays was the explanations often were poorly lighted and quite low, at a height appropriate only for small children to read. I often found myself on my knees with my face close to the writing.

The same was true of the skeletons and stuffed animals in the basement: too dark to read what they were.

The children's museum was about children as well as for their benefit so we adults enjoyed it, too.

The temporary display about migrating birds was interesting, although mostly in Norwegian so we missed a lot of the information.

The section on the history of Stavanger was interesting but only lightly referred to too many topics instead of developing them. For example, the World War II occupation by the Nazis and the subsequent return to freedom were mentioned in passing as if we knew all about it, but not explained. We wanted details.

In all, however, we appreciated the visit and recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
283 attraction reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

There is quite a lot to see at the Stavanger Museum. Their exhibits are very interesting -- history of the city, offices, etc. Has a café and shop as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTICHIARI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent 8 days in Stavanger after last Christmas, loved the Whole city and enjoyed the museum where we could appreciate the history of the city and of this Country. I remember some Amazing vases of the Roman time. Stunning.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stavanger Museum also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Stavanger Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stavanger Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.