We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best views of your life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Seilet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Seilet to your Saves list
Scandic Seilet
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gideonvegen 2, Molde 6412, Norway (Formerly Rica Seilet Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Molde
Kristiansund, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best views of your life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

When in Molde I choose to stay at no other hotel. Rica Seilet may quite possibly have the best views you will see in your lifetime. Both sunrise and sunset can be enjoyed form different sides of the hotel. It is a couple of hundred meters walk to all facilities the town has to offer. The hotel has a great Sky bar with a great bartender. He will make you everything! The restaurant offers great food, and lots of local food. We are not 100% happy with the service. it takes too long to order and way too long to pay. The waiters are often chatting to each other instead of looking after the guests, especially on quiet days. Because of the great view, though, we are willing to forgive them. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    73
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
62
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansund, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel in Molde. Stayed for 2 nights in april 2014. The room was clean an comfortable. Beautiful view from my room in 7th floor over the fjord and mountains. Breakfast was very good, better than most hotel breakfasts I have eaten in Norway. A few minor minuses: The main switch for my room was placed in the middle of the bed gavel. The result was when I sat in the bed reading a book, the light turn off. The other thing was the room-key. You had to lock the room from the outside.

Overall this was a very good hotel, and I recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights here in February 2014 and it was nice. Our room was clean and comfortable, especially with a chaise long sofa by the window where we could admire the beautiful view to the fjord. Breakfast was really good, with a huge variety of food. There's a bar on the top floor (skybar if I remember correctly) that promises magnificent views of the surroundings, but we didn't have time to check it out. Staff was always friendly and helpful.
Parking is available, but you have to pay during daytime. We hired a car to drive through the Atlantic Road (our main purpose to go to Molde) and arrived back before 5pm, so we just drove around to kill some time before going to the hotel - from 5pm to 8am parking is free.
There's a supermarket nearby and city centre is really close to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed at Seilet for 3 nights, together with collegues. The room was spacious and well equipped. Conference area was good, with exciting pausemat and good coffee. Breakfast was excellent, and so was lunch and conference dinner. They did not have pillow menu in the room, but I guess it was forgotten in my room? Major + for fitness room. All in all a great hotel!

Room Tip: Every room has a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a spectacular hotel, the people in the reception were very friendly, and I asked for one of their nicest rooms. But for me it was a big disappointment as I came into my room. It was big and had a nice view to the water, but the way it was set up was far away from what I like. I was alone, and an extra bed was made. I came late in the evening and rushed to the restaurant to get something to eat. The waiter was really nice, but the price - particularly for the wine - was terrible.
As I got back to the room I discovered the bathroom. It was a handicap room without equipment that I will expect to find most other places. When getting to the hotel you need to make sure that you have got a good room. I learnt that some of my colleagues had a room of considerably higher quality.

Room Tip: Get a room at Akterseilet - and definitely rooms set up as a handicaproom. Aks for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for four nights and nothing to complain about (apart from prices, but that's more a reflection of the country than the hotel!). Magnificent views of the fjords and great service from the staff. The breakfast buffet is epic and we were supplied with a breakfast bag at out 5 am check out. Underfloor heating in the bathroom helps thaw frozen feet!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony have fabulous views of the fjords
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, Surrey
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed 1 night at this hotel in November 2013. Weather was cold, snowy and icy outside but temperature throughout hotel was maintained at comfortable level. Staff were very polite throughout and helpful. Single room was just that but had enough space to get around, desk and armchair. All quite reasonable room wise clean and functional with just a few minor things missed and power to the sockets a bit intermittent (which was annoying). Hotel resto was OK for breakfast and the spread was very good selection of hot and cold options, The Sky bar on the top floor was quite pleasant as well with superb views over the fjord. Hotel is located about 100m from the Aker Stadion and maybe 4-500m from the main town area - but wherever you are, you will not be so far from the centre of town. Would certainly stay here again and main thing to put me off is the single room rate of £125 - but I suppose this is Norway after all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Seilet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Seilet

Address: Gideonvegen 2, Molde 6412, Norway (Formerly Rica Seilet Hotel)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Molde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Molde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Seilet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Seilet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Seilet Molde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Seilet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.