We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel - bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Seilet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Seilet to your Saves list
Scandic Seilet
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gideonvegen 2, Molde 6412, Norway (Formerly Rica Seilet Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Molde
Boxholm
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“average hotel - bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

we stayed two night at Rica Seilet Hotel since it was recommended as the best place to stay in Molde. But the rooms are small, the beds are far too soft and the materials used are only standard. This would be OK for an average hotel but what was really bad was the service. They did not make the room and only left a bag with a few new towels on the door before 10 AM on a Sunday - the room was still not made in the evening when we returned! The breakfast buffet has a good choice but the staff was not able to keep up with the amount of guests during peak time. There is a lobby bar but don't expect them to have open at 10 PM on a Saturday (though there is another bar at the top floor which has open late).
The hotel seems to live from its view which is great but the service and the rather simple finish makes it not worth the money

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    73
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
62
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

After a ferry ride across the Moldefjord we arrived to Molde in the early evening. After getting to our room we went down to dinner. The buffet was good but not the best of the hotels we stayed in on this trip. Not much to do in the evening, as most things in town were closed. The big excitement was hearing the Hurtigruten ships send "greetings" as they passed each other right in front of the hotel. The ship blasts were loud but quite exciting. The room was a standard room with two beds. Clean and neat. The window did not want to stay open due to the wind and it became warm with it closed. We had a great view of the fjord from our room. A pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent one night here on our way from Geiranger and on our way to Trondheim. We had a large Superior room (#807) overlooking the fjord. There was no balcony. The roomincluded a sofa, fridge, large open closet area with "real" hangers, and toiletries in the bathroom (rare for Scandinavian hotels.) The hotel has one PC in the "business" room in the lobby, but otherwise charges for wifi. Parking is limited to certain areas around the hotel and you need to display a hotel decal in your car to park. A parking fee is not added to the room charge. The hotel is large enough to support several tour groups, and clealy caters to business people. However, the room was quiet and had an impressive view over the harbor and nearby islands. Breakfast is substantial. The Skybar on the top floor is very expensive ($43 USD for two drinks!!) Although the town stretches along the water for quite some distance, we were able to walk through several sections closeby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our first stay at Rica Seilet Hotel in Molde. We stayed for one night with our samoyed puppy (at no extra charge), and were booked in a deluxe room with balcony at the 12th floor. The room was in good condition and offered an excellent view of the ocean. Friendly and helpful staff.

Unfortunately there were no available parking spaces at the hotel at the time of our stay, so we had to pay for parking at Aker Stadion. Parking spaces reserved for hotel guests is limited.

Room Tip: Booking a deluxe rooms ensures that you get a room with balcony at a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our second stay at the Rica Seilet hotel. It was good to see that regular upgrading had been taking place over the three years since our last visit. The public rooms were excellent, with lots of comfortable seating available. Breakfast in the dining room was outstanding - both in terms of the views across the fjord and also in terms of th quality and selection of food available!

Once again we had reserved a superior room with balcony - two minor issues: there is very little storage/hanging space and the double bed will requirement replacement very soon (it sagged!)

Room Tip: Since our last visit a major extension to the hotel had been built to the rear of the hotel. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel has a great view, a bit fancier then other local choices. I have stayed here 4 times and this has been the only really bad experience I have had. I a still giving them 3 stars. They booked me in a smoking room although we booked a non-smoking room. Then when I asked to change booked me in a room with a dirty mattress leaned against the wall. This was one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had. The first lady I spoke was awful and told me she would give me something from the mini bar for my trouble. Not really good enough for two bad rooms. I talked to the manager and they did upgrade me but the whole process of complaining and getting a better room took me around an hour. That said great breakfast,clean room with good beds, and nice extras. I think the more expensive rooms are really worth it though, otherwise I would stay down the road at a less pretentious hotel.

Room Tip: get the upgraded rooms or go down the street to a better budget option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Must stay . In this area this hotel has the best view and centrally located

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Seilet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Seilet

Address: Gideonvegen 2, Molde 6412, Norway (Formerly Rica Seilet Hotel)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Molde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Molde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Seilet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Seilet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Seilet Molde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Seilet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.