We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of few restaurant open on a Sunday evening” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anno

Anno
Apotekergata 9, Alesund, Norway
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 57 restaurants in Alesund
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened in 2011. Website unfortunately under construction and only in Norwegian.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of few restaurant open on a Sunday evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

When we arrived back from Hurtigruten on a Sunday evening at 7, Anno was one of few open restaurants. And we were very lucky, because the kitchen closed at 8. This is a rather new place – opened 2011. For Sunday evening they have the lunch menu to choose from. Which means less choices I guess. But we didn’t mind, we wanted to try the stone oven baked pizzas. We’ve heard for years that the prices for pizzas in Norway are shameless! Well, Norway IS expensive. Just adjust if you decide to go here.

The filled part of the pizza was good – but the unsalted crust leaves more to wish for. It was NOK 175 for this “half the size” asymmetric pizza. Don’t go here hungry like a wolf! The desserts were both fine.

The waitress was indeed nice, but not very professional nor attentive - paying too much time gossiping with another guest when the rest of us were waiting to order or pay.

This place is OK when you want something less fancy but be prepared to wait for service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    24
    41
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stopped here for coffee and later for lunch. Coffee expensive but free top-ups. We wanted an early dinner so ordered from their lunch menu at 16.30, delicious freshly cooked meal. We sat outside - an excellent location, a pity there were cigarette ends and litter under the tables.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant offers amazing food! We asked for vegetarian (this restaurant, as most restaurants in Norway don't have any vegetarian meals on their menu) and it was obvious that the chef loved cooking for vegetarians as well. The meal was so fresh and nice, I would be scared to try a different restaurant in Ålesund just because I know they are good at what they do!

Also, the service was great! Our waiter knew exactly what to say and when to come to our table. We did not feel like we were rushed at all and could really take our time to enjoy the food.

I am happy to recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Ålesund!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brumunddal
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

All you need to know is the food was great and so were the staff. Which created a great atmosphere. Eat there with no worries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A great find in a choice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We walked into Anno without a reservation, based on the recommendation from our hotel. The location is perfect - just at the market square at the bottom of the canal. At lunchtime, there is a simple menu and we saw people enjoying it outdoors on the covered terrace (with heaters). Dinner is much more formal (and expensive). Mains were around 300 NOK or more. We were a little surprised by this but the food was very good. Wonderful grilled scallops, delicious and beautifully presented, and the green salad that we requested was perfectly dressed. Anno is worth a visit - just be aware that it won't be an inexpensive evening!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anno also viewed

Alesund, Aure Municipality
Alesund, Aure Municipality
 
Alesund, Aure Municipality
Alesund, Aure Municipality
 

Been to Anno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.