We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naboen

Naboen
Sigurdsgt 4, Bergen, Norway (Sentrum)
+47 55 90 02 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 242 Restaurants in Bergen
Price range: $13 - $67
Cuisines: French, Swedish, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Description: The name "Naboen" means neighbor, and this is just what the Naboen Pub & Restaurant is, a friendly and inviting place to eat and drink. Hospitality is job one here, and the Scandinavian kitchen, staff and culinary tradition are representative of Norway. The food is all made from scratch, as it would have been two hundred years ago - no processed ingredients allowed. Naboens' menu is a culinary delight, one heaped in Nordic tradition, and best of all moderately priced. Guests here partake of Norwegian food and spirits as they should be enjoyed, Bergen style.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We haad a 3 course dinner here. Great starter, main course and a terracotta that melting on your tongue. This small restaurant in this back street is just a hidden gem. Origginally it is a Svedish restaurant that is why it have the name "the neighbor". I recommed this restaurant for everybody.
And the prices are reasonable too, even in Norway!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    99
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best in Bergen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Best restaurant in Bergen without a doubt. Charming place with good location (centre of Bergen, close to theater) and good service (waiter was explaining us, what we are eating and how is it prepared). Best salmon which I ever ate - fresh and delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Best burgers and Best swedish meatballs with nice beer on the side and a gang of friends, thats what Naboen is for me :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Regular restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Whenever I'm going out to eat in Bergen, a safe bet is Nabokjelleren (the downstairs area). With two different places to eat; a restaurant where one can reserve a table upstair, and a "come as you are" downstairs. The downstairs has a relaxed ambiance and good food, for a reasonable price. Also a good selection of beer. Its also centrally located in Bergen, close to the theatre.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazingly delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Walking into this place my first thought was that it would be perfect for a romantic meal, the feeling was quite cosy and intimate with the smaller tables with candles and with the whole place only seating around 30 or so. I ordered the smoked grouse breast for a starter whereas my colleague went with the "gubbröra". The grouse was so tender I hardly had to cut into it and the lingonberries were a perfect match with it. As a main I went for the oven baked turbot with beet risotto, spring onions and creamed mussel sauce. The layout of the food was beautiful. (I would share a pic but it seems I do not know how to do so on TA any longer) And the taste... Well all I can say is wow. It was delicious. After this the mint chocolate tart with yogurt ice cream was a small let down even though that was good as well. And there is more good news to come! Considering we are talking about a restaurant in Norway, it was very reasonably priced. If you find yourself in Bergen you have to go and give this place a try (you might want to reserve a table to be on the safe side) and I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naboen also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Naboen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naboen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.