We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dickens

Dickens
Kong Olav V's Plass 4, Bergen 5087, Norway
+4755363130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 255 Restaurants in Bergen
Price range: $21 - $45
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, European, Pub, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to our restaurant next to the blue rock en the centre of Torgalmenningen.In addition to Dickens restaurant the complex contains Kontoret Bar which is fully licenced bar with at focus on singel malt Whisky and a great variation of Norwegian and international beers. Kontoret Bar also serves food from the restaurant menu.Dickens restaurant offers a great variation of lunch dishes during day time, and dinner a`la carte starts at 4 pm every day.Dickens restaurant offers outdoor seating with full menu during summer months (weather permitted).Welcome to a great experience in a restaurant that have served customers for more than 25 years.
IL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I had a nice Salmon steak with pasta.
It's expensive, but then all of Norway is.

Service was a little slow but friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    43
    37
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hønefoss Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Renowned hamburgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The burger itself was excellent, but was not delivered with mustard, ketchup only. And when asked for we got the strong one, and was not asked if we wanted any other kind. Same with coffe, no milk offered. Very central, and if you get a window table you look out on Torgalmenningen and Ole Bulls plass.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Super friendly wait staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stumbled into Dickens while trying to find our way around Bergen having just arrived. The food was good and we could sit by the windows and enjoy the view of the city and people.We had the best wait peson. Christina was friendly and very helpful. She helped us locate where we were on the well-worn map we were carrying, gave us a few tips about things we may want to see in Bergen, and made our lunch a relaxing, fun experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very nice food and lovely setting. Friendly and helpful

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, attractive building.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We were Dickens at dinner time because it was a weekend and they did not have a long line for seating.
It's in a beautiful location and is a very attractive building, but the food, while good, is not outstanding. And it is expensive. Spaghetti with shrimp in a zesty sauce and an American style burger was 339NOK,, with no beverage or dessert. They did offer a whale steak that sounded good, but it was too pricey for me.
The waitress was professional, but not particularly interested in serving us.
Dickens sits on Kong Olav Plaza, so there is always something interesting going on outside the windows, and it was good to be out of the wind and rain.
Did not see many families, mostly adults that evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickens also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Dickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.