We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonialen

Colonialen
Kong Oscars gate 44, Bergen 5017, Norway (Sentrum)
55901600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 241 Restaurants in Bergen
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Came to Bergen without any idea of it being a culinary experience, but this was perfect! Similar level as Stockholm 2 star Michelin restaurant Frantzén/Lindeberg.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great wine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

No menu which suited me just fine, I opted for the 7 course's which changes every 2 weeks, I also went with the wine menu which is a glass chosen to compliment each course.

Food was perfect and the service was second to none, explanations of every course and wine from the waiter as we went along, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Dining alone but felt comfortable, besides your never aloe with a smartphone these days!

The whole experience lasted 3 hours and never did I feel I was waiting too long between course's, all in all a very nice experience, if a little pricey.

Best in Bergen?

I cant say yet as I have not tried many, I plan to though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Real gourmet food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I love good food and there are some good restaurants in Bergen but this is the best by far. This food was better than I had experienced in the Burj Al Arab in Dubai. Every dish was perfection and the wine mated to it was brilliant. The serivce is very personal and knowledgeable about both food and wine.
The decor and atmosphere are simple yet elegant with no music. Music is subjective so I was happy there was none and I could enjoy talking to my wife.
In summary, this food is what I think Michelen Star quality should be. It is superb! I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best in Bergen?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a fantastic dinner at Colonialen last week. We had the 5 course menu and the wone packet. The wines were i perfect harmony with the food. Everything was tasty, but the cheeses were splendid. Nice atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

On the expensive side but great food and service. This is a place you should not miss.They did not have an English menu, but the waitress took the time to explain each dish and to answer all of our questions.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonialen also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Colonialen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonialen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.