We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for you but for me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steen's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Steen's Hotel to your Saves list
Steen's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkvei 22 5007, Bergen 5007 , Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Bergen
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not for you but for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is for those who like a relaxed style. Please stay away so that I can book a stay. The hotel is often too full, so that I have to stay somewhere else. Too good value for money. But please book if I already have a booking.

Room Tip: Do not book, leave space for me, please
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    44
    21
    16
    7
See reviews for
17
51
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a very good hotel with a nice, quiet location, helpful staff and good rooms. The breakfast was fantastic. The only problem we had is that it is not very close to the centre of the city, so we had a reasonable walk whenever we wanted to go somewhere

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We got off the Flybuss from the airport at the main bus station in Bergen, but had a very hard time locating this hotel. Unfortunately the phone had lost it's saved Google map, and we had no wifi access. One woman we met on the street must have thought we looked bewildered, as she asked us if she could help. She didn't know for sure where the hotel was, but thought it was up the hill. Fortunately it wasn't raining, so we hauled our suitcases upwards for about a kilometer, asked more people along the way, and finally someone knew where it was, up a set of stairs at the end of the road. However it is a good centrally located hotel, and we were able to walk to the tourist areas in Bergen (Fishmarket, Bryggen, etc.) both on the day we arrived and the next day before leaving.

It's small but clean. We arrived just after 12 noon, and our room had just been made up, so we were able to check in. The only issue was that it was quite noisy on the street outside late at night. We booked this room through Fjord tours on the Fjord pass. It was the only one of the hotels we stayed at on this pass that asked to see the pass.

The breakfast area is very nice, and has free coffee and tea all day long, which we took advantage of. Breakfast (included) was one of the nicest we had in Norway. With checkout time of 12 noon we were able to tour Bergen on the morning of departure, leaving our luggage in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Connecticut, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

It's a quirky hotel in a building that was once a grand home. Our room was small, but we've stayed in smaller. The walls are far from soundproof, but we've stayed in noisier places. And yes it is overpriced, from our perspective, though that also seems true of every hotel and restaurant in Norway.

Because it's on a hill, a steep walk away from the city center, and next to a park, we found it relatively quiet. Regrettably the location doesn't encourage a casual stroll to the city's attractions because of the effort of walking back.

The hotel does offer a substantial breakfast, and the pleasant amenity of coffee and tea through the day. We also found the staff exceptionally helpful. When we asked if the hotel had a backgammon set, some time later the man we'd asked said he had not been able to locate one -- so he found the image of a board online, printed it out, cut out circles for stones, and provided the one die he could put his hands on. An impressively kind effort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Decent 2 night stay. Our trio occupied a family room at the very top of the hotel with a unique stained glass ceiling. The hotel is set in an old multi-storey terrace house with a grand interior and many antique and original fixtures. There are two very long flights of stairs and no elevator - be warned! Good free wifi.

Breakfast was very good and the dining room is gorgeously positioned with lovely park views as well as wood carvings and old paintings aplenty. Gluten free bread was provided at my request.

Although our stay was enjoyable, I can see that there are issues with:
- rooms positioned immediately next to the reception area which I can only imagine would be very noisy
- rooms adjacent the park which, although attractive by day, is frequented by less savoury characters by night
- mobility impaired guests who may struggle with the stairs.

The location suited us - a short 15min stroll through the cobbled streets into the waterfront area of Bergen.

Car parking was on the street and satisfactory but had our stay not fallen on a weekend I understand that parking is paid and, as are all things in Norway, expensive.

In a nutshell: request a room in the upper part of the hotel away from the park and you should have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Loved this from the moment the taxi pulled up. A very quaint and warm hotel. The breakfast was delicious, room very clean and everyone was kind and helpful. We walked into town no problem. There are a few hills to get back up to the hotel and no lift in the hotel. So that may be an issue for some. We enjoyed our stay very much and do recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had three of us traveling. The single rooms are small. Worth asking for a double room for one per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Nebraska
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

As a previous reviewer noted, I also can't figure out how this "hotel" (or whatever it claims to be) can get a decent rating. It's noisy, overpriced, and offers minimal anything.
I stayed in room #17, which was average sized, with two single beds, desk and chair, sitting chair and nightstands (no refrigerator or safe) and a TV with BBC, Discovery and 3 others in English. The bathroom was small, with shower only. It's located a 10 minute walk from the central station (which is where you can be dropped off with the airport bus), but the last 3 blocks are uphill and it's not an easy walk with luggage. It's also well hidden, as when you get to the top of the hill you have to walk up some stairs along a building that looks like a private walk (or else walk around an extra couple of blocks on the paved streets).
It has a quiet location next to a park, but the interior noise is ridiculous. I was on the second floor, and could hear people walking by and dishes being cleaned in the nearby kitchen area, and there were other rooms nearby that must hear the same noise. The breakfast area consists of 6 tables (I had to share a table for 4), but you won't spend much time there--breakfast is cereal, bread and meat/cheese, tomato and cucumber, and a few pieces of fruit.
I can think of absolutely nothing to recommend this place, and for the price it's a terrible value.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steen's Hotel

Address: Parkvei 22 5007, Bergen 5007 , Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Steen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steens Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steen's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.