We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice but not great hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Havnekontoret

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Collection Havnekontoret to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway (Vågen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Bergen
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great location, nice but not great hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in August in junior suite 400, a nice corner room with good harbor view. Room size okay but not great for a jr. suite. Small bathroom with a tiny shower but with excellent plumbing. No bathmat; had to use a towel on floor. Maid did not replenish tissues and left heat on in bathroom one day which took a long time to cool because there is no a/c. You need to leave the windows open and they only open a few inches. Bed very comfortable. No porter to help with luggage.
Laundry open only Monday-Friday. They lost a brand new blouse and have not responded in any way to my attempts to get them to discuss that or to email me a copy of my bill.
Breakfast buffet average, i.e., good. Free dinner buffet of cold things which is nice if you're tired or saving money but not a thing to repeat.
In sum, a nice hotel in an excellent location but with service problems. A decent 3 star hotel, definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    199
    69
    24
    12
See reviews for
130
262
24
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Fabulous hotel and very hospitable hotel. Spacious room and nice balcony to enjoy sit out in the evening over a cup of coffee. Nice spread in Breakfast and dinner also is served and is complimentary, too.

Room Tip: Don't forget to utilise the DVD collection the Hotel has for movies. Not to forget, the view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen,Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Grand building with an interesting commercial history. The hotel is a mix of old and new, and the location is perfect. There is no hotel restaurant, but two rooms where you can have breakfast and evening meals(buffet). Room(superior in our case) was nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I spent our last 2 nights in Norway in Bergen and were glad we chose this hotel. The location right on the harbor was terrific and the buffet breakfasts and dinners were a great value. Easily made up for the slightly higher cost of the room. The room was clean and comfortable and had a big view of the harbor. It was also fun to go up in the tower and get views of Bergen and some history. On the way to the airport, we were able to walk across the street and get directly onto the flybus. Very convenient. If we had understood Bergen better on arrival, we could have easily walked from where we got off the express boat from Flam and Balestrand to the hotel. Altogether a great choice in Bergen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The public spaces and the clock tower are very interesting and worth checking out. We stayed for 3 nights. The room was quite functional and included a love seat. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well maintained. Staff were very pleasant and the dining staff were very eager to please. Both breakfast and evening buffets were very well done. Would highly recommend this property. Parking can be an issue. The hotel has very few parking spots and the public parking next door is quite costly. If arriving with car, other properties may be better for parking.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
515 helpful votes 515 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel, like every other hotel we stayed in or checked out in Norway is distinctly lacking in luxe. I just don't think it's the nature of this country.

This one is in an historic building at the end of the tourist/historic district known as Bryggen. It's slightly removed from the centre of town if that's an issue for you. It has been renovated with a modern slant. The decor is dark and dramatic - not my personal taste. The rooms themselves are a nice size with sitting area. The bathroom, unfortunately, is one little step up from the room which can be treacherous for older (or, perhaps, younger, tipsy) guests. The rooms are functional with wall mounted flat screens. There are no American style electrical outlets here or in any other hotel we stayed in in Norway. There's a combo tub/shower if you have mobility issues. Whereas the other Clarion hotels laudably had only wall mounted squeeze dispensers for the soap/shampoo, this one had both these and the wasteful individual shampoo, conditioner bottles which I consider to be extremely Eco-unfriendly.

There's a fridge with minibar but no safe in the rooms. This didn't seem to be an issue here - there's an extremely low crime rate in Norway- but don't expect to be able to leave your diamonds in the room.
This hotel provides a complimentary typical Norwegian buffet breakfast and a buffet dinner. Both are outstanding. There's an Eritrean chef who not only produces excellent food but is also extremely accommodating. He provided me with hot milk for breakfast and anything else he could do.

There's a minimally stocked fitness room with treadmills and free weights.

The staff here and almost everywhere else we stayed in Norway are extremely laid back. This is not a formal country. I thought the fellow, who, I believe, is the front desk manager, came off as a bit flip and dismissive. When we checked in, I inquired about parking. He said they had a few spots, they were already taken, but that we could park in the public garage across the way. His directions were sketchy, at best, so I had to return to find out exactly where it was. Also at check in, I asked him if they had any lower rates than the room rate which we'd booked - this request paid off at the hotel we'd stayed at in Stavanger - and he practically laughed me out of the hotel saying they were extremely full and were charging even more to walk-ins. Factual, perhaps, but slightly lacking in sensitivity. One day, I approached him to ask what time was checkout. Without skipping a beat he said: "This man was here before you". And, then, realizing how ridiculous his response was, he said 12:00 o'clock. These are indeed small points but they all contribute to one's overall impression of a hotel.

When I was checking out, I asked the clerk how much the hotel parking cost. She said NOK 100 per day. The city parking was NOK 200. I asked how one could arrange to get a hotel spot. She said you must reserve in advance. Considering that I was paying double in the city lot and double what is a hefty amount to begin with, I pointed out that nothing was mentioned on their website about their parking and that since I'd booked our room several months in advance, I'd probably have scored a spot. I suggested that they change their website. She said she'd pass on the suggestion. So annoyed was I at what I saw as a major oversight on the part of the hotel, I asked to speak to the manager. Out came a lovely charming lady. When I expressed my disappointment that their website had omitted their parking arrangements, she said that they only have four spaces and that they do NOT accept advance reservations for them. They are apparently allocated on a first come first serve basis at the time of check-in. She did mention, in the presence of the clerk who had originally told me that they did accept reservations and was modifying her claim by saying that you could only "request" a spot when you booked, that the staff weren't all up to speed on the parking policy. But she said it in a very pleasant way. And she inquired as to our experience at the hotel and our impression of Norway. All in all, this manager's attitude completely made up for any deficiencies.
In summary, this is a typical, above average hotel for its price range with ample rooms and wonderful meal service. And a delightful manager.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Awkward check-in with young inexperienced staff who also had to handle bar orders, strange but true. Have seen that in small boutique hotels, but this one is fairly large and since there is often but one attendant at the desk, this can create a back-up both for people checking in, out or with questions as well as for those trying to get bar service. The room was adequate but dim to dark, with those low wattage bulbs that make it hard to determine if you are putting on black socks or blue. It had clearly been remodeled but in a strange way with odd/mod touches; it was adequate but nothing special. Ice machines were either off (floor 3) or on and nonfunctional (but noisily grinding away) on floors 2 and 4; didn't check the other floors; glad we weren't next to one as you could hear the noise down the hall; informed the desk, they already knew of the issue but nothing was done about during our stay. Breakfast was basic but one can eat as much as one wants; some were taking full advantage of this and probably of the "dinner" buffet, which was also of marginal steam-table type quality; decided to forgo the "free" and opt for some of the restaurants around town. Hotel has great bones (check out the back staircase and sitting area) so may have been a great hotel at some point in time but not anymore.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Havnekontoret

Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bergen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Clarion Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Havnekontoret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.