We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lysverket

Lysverket
Rasmus Meyers alle 9, Bergen, Norway
4755603101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 242 Restaurants in Bergen
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited Lysverket on a Saturday afternoon. There was a good band playing (live), nice atmosphere. But really terrible service - unfortunately that spoiled the whole experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bergen takes a step up with this new gourmet bistro style restaurant/bar - modern, local food at affordable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Started by the man behind the famous band Data Rock, Fredrik Saroea. Don´t be surprised if he is the one welcoming you, chatting by the bar.

This is gourmet food at reasonable prices. The white table cloths are replaced with nothing but solid wooden tabletops, and the stiff upper lipp is replaced by knowledge and a laid back and comfortable atmosphere. You don't pay for the style, you pay for the quality of food/drink and service. This place could easily have been a New York hot spot. If you are just out for a beer or a drink, the bar area is free seating and the selection of wine and beers is great. The bar is the best looking in town (or the entire country?)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good gourmet restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I took my wife and her parents to this restaurant and it was well worth it. The service was very pleasant and knowledgeable about thenfood and wines being served. The waitresses were charming and willing to talk without being too talkative.
The food was very very good and the portion sizes perfect. A couple of nice small surprises in between the courses, which I really like. The flavours, colours and presentation of the food was of the highest quality. Although they only have set menus when my wife asked for an alternative to one of the dishes they were more than happy to offer an option, which was even better!
The atmosphere was good and the decor simple. The music wasn't too loud but if they raise the volume any higher I would not have enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Read about this place in the newspaper and decided to visit it in spite of few TripAdvisor-reviews (it's a new restaurant). The food was amazing, probably the best dinner I've ever had in a restaurant. Don't be put off by the construction site outside, the inside is cozy, classy and really great. You should absolutely ask to talk to some of the beer experts in-house if you like great beer as they sell a lot of local micro-brew.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

After reading a lot about Lysverket in local and national media we decided to check out the newcomer. We were impressed!

We all went for the 5 dish tasting menu, including wine. High quality seafood, prepared by skilled chefs made this the best dinner I've had in years, also considering well known international restaurants.

Fantastic food in a cool and stylish atmosphere. Fun dining!





  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lysverket also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Lysverket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lysverket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.