We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go early, get a reservation, ask for a nice table in the back with a view...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sjomatkirken - CLOSED

Sjomatkirken
Zachariasbryggen, Bergen 5000, Norway
55 70 50 40
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go early, get a reservation, ask for a nice table in the back with a view...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Expensive. Period. Without wine or drinks, entrees were $70US. Ouch.

But it's Norway, so I got over it quickly.

RULE #1: get the fish soup. It's a thinner chowder with a light tang from vinegar and lime... Superior.

RULE #2: eat the bread! I broke my nocarbs rule to eat this beautiful bread - the Malden salt is soooo nice, and the butter is nutty and thick.

RULE #3: stuck with the fish. the Cuttler fish is the super and flavorful, and the halibut is somewhat bland in spite of its artistic interpretation. The shellfish? Meh.

RULE #4: try to avoid being served by the maitre d - service was slow because the poor guy was trying to do so much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alomaha, Public Relations Manager at Sjomatkirken, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on our restaurant! We loved that you put down "rules" and your personal recommendations. Great!
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Norway, and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    9
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Hill, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nothing is cheap in Norway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was not a cheap proposition but everyone says nothing is cheap in Norway. Indeed, a beer is $12, never will I complain about the price of a pint in the UK again.
Food here was VERY good, not tremendous portions, but extremely fresh and well prepared. Staff very attentive and friendly, great view of setting sun at, well when we were there, around 10:30PM.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alomaha, Public Relations Manager at Sjomatkirken, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your tasty seafood and great view of the sunset..
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Norway (despite the prices on beer) and we hope to see you again! Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mussels overload”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went back the second time after having such nice steamed mussels, fish soup is tasty too! Nice ambience for couples or friends too

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alomaha, Public Relations Manager at Sjomatkirken, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review!
We are so pleased to hear that you came back a second time to enjoy some more of our tasty seafood.
We hope you had a great time in Norway, and we hope to see you again next time you visit Bergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak U.K.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“What a find - up the stairs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned to our hotel after one of the best restaurant meals I have had for a long time. I am not the worlds best lover of fish but the mussels starter was great as was my wife's Caesar salad (a meal in itself) and then my trout and her pollock tagliatelle were even better. Well done chef.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very good restaurant for seafood located in third floor near the fish marked. Can be hard to find if you don't know about it - but it's worth spending an evening here. The food is absolutely top class!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjomatkirken also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sjomatkirken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.