We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch with great soup!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bastant - CLOSED

Cafe Bastant
Lille Ovregate 8, Bergen 5018, Norway
952 76 940
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Norwegian
Description: Created by a Danish chef and a Norwegian bartender, this little cafe of soups became a natural result. All soups are made from the ground up, as is the rest of what we have to offer. Locally rosted coffee, great tea, home made lemonades, toddies, apple juice from Hardanger (where the best apples grow, no matter how much people in Sogn og Fjordane will contest it!), fruit drinks from Denmark and sodas from Fentimans. We also bake our own awesome bread, and we make some pretty darned good brownies.
Restaurant details
Description: Created by a Danish chef and a Norwegian bartender, this little cafe of soups became a natural result. All soups are made from the ground up, as is the rest of what we have to offer. Locally rosted coffee, great tea, home made lemonades, toddies, apple juice from Hardanger (where the best apples grow, no matter how much people in Sogn og Fjordane will contest it!), fruit drinks from Denmark and sodas from Fentimans. We also bake our own awesome bread, and we make some pretty darned good brownies.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch with great soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My Gf and I went to the cafe and had a great experience. We were able to try the soup before purchase. They have plenty of different soups and some panini's. I enjoyed the place for the home made selection and warm and cozy feel. We found it on our last day and bergen an we are thankful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Small cafe with soup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This cafe is really tiny, and one-man show. Be prepared for uncleared tables. Small bowl of soup with a slice of bread for NOK80 or NOK90 with meat. The soup is nothing fantastic, but quite warming for the cold weather. There's supposed to be free WIFI, but couldn't login with the fake password on the board.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch in Bergen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I had soup with bread for a light lunch. The soup was absolutely incredible. I had the pumpkin soup, which is some of the best soup I have ever had. The staff were very friendly and the cafe has a nice and cozy atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Economic Haven in Pricey Bergen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed four nights in Bergen and loved our time there. It was not until the last day, however, that we discovered Cafe Bastant. Located only a hundred yards or so from the funicular entrance, it is still easy to miss. An internet search with excellent reviews of the soup sent us there. We were not disappointed. It is a small but charming place. The owner was patient and helpful when we stepped to the counter to order. Both soups we tried were fantastic and the coffee after the meal was the best we had while in Norway. The prices for sandwiches and soups were less than most in Bergen and the quality was as good or better than any of the restaurants we tried.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a coffee oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

great coffee beautifully presented in a Bergen old town setting. highly recommended. the soups looked pretty wonderful too (but we didn't have one). It's not cheap but this is Norway (the words cheap or inexpensive just can't be part of the norwegian dictionary).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bastant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bastant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.