We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bastant - CLOSED

Cafe Bastant
Lille Ovregate 8, Bergen 5018, Norway
952 76 940
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Norwegian
Description: Created by a Danish chef and a Norwegian bartender, this little cafe of soups became a natural result. All soups are made from the ground up, as is the rest of what we have to offer. Locally rosted coffee, great tea, home made lemonades, toddies, apple juice from Hardanger (where the best apples grow, no matter how much people in Sogn og Fjordane will contest it!), fruit drinks from Denmark and sodas from Fentimans. We also bake our own awesome bread, and we make some pretty darned good brownies.
Restaurant details
Description: Created by a Danish chef and a Norwegian bartender, this little cafe of soups became a natural result. All soups are made from the ground up, as is the rest of what we have to offer. Locally rosted coffee, great tea, home made lemonades, toddies, apple juice from Hardanger (where the best apples grow, no matter how much people in Sogn og Fjordane will contest it!), fruit drinks from Denmark and sodas from Fentimans. We also bake our own awesome bread, and we make some pretty darned good brownies.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Consistently good food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My mother and I ate at Bastant about 5 times during our 2 week stay in Bergen - it was just the best place for good value soup and coffee/tea. And also great for vegetarians, as it can be hard to find good vegetarian food in Norway (all over the world, really). The soups are great - very good flavour (not too salty - a pet peeve of mine with soup), the bread also very moist and tasty - and the panini is also very good. The coffee - and tea - is top notch and the brownies very good also (if you like them very fugdy!).

The music was always spot on - not too loud, but it had a lot of presence - the whole place has a laid-back, cool vibe. There was only ever one person on staff - so when it's busy, it's not the fastest service in the world - but meticulously done every time, no matter the pressure, which I really appreciate. It's not a big place, but we never had a problem getting a table - it should be more popular, but in some ways I'm glad it wasn't as it could easily get overcrowded!

Overall, it was the best value for money food we found in Oslo and Bergen - great quality, a nice atmosphere in the small cafe, and really not expensive. I'm glad we found it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great cafe for lunch 5mins walk from Brygge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Really delicious soups and sandwiches - great place to hangout for coffee- lovely atmosphere and interesting artwork

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“best coffee in bergen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great soup, delicious brownies, and by far the best coffee in Bergen. We went back twice, the first time for soup and coffee, the second for coffee and a brownie. It is also a real find for anyone who is a vegetarian, as is my wife. But what really makes the place is the extraordinarily gracious host, who let us borrow his phone to call a cab. Near the funicular and definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Amazing soup and best brownie ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

In Bergen where everything is insanely expensive we were very pleased to come across this place while searching for a non-touristy lunch spot. Perfect for a chilly Bergen day! The guy running the place was super nice and explained what was in each soup while we made tough decisions because they all sounded great. I had a carrot lentil and my husband had the Indian stew, both amazing. We couldn't resist picking up a brownie that looked like it had just come out of the oven, and a small bottle of their homemade lemonade. For $50 CAD it was a good deal for Norway and you could tell they care about their food. Oh, and the brownie was pretty much the best thing I've ever eaten. We thought about going back for another one! Get your food to go, and head to one of the many beautiful parks around to enjoy your lunch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hits the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

ON our recent trip to Norway, we flew from Newark-Oslo-Bergen on the red-eye, arriving at our hotel around 1 pm, so our rooms were not ready. The weather in Bergen was a bit chilly and we were tired and hungry and my mother-in-law said she really wanted some hot soup. I remembered reading about this place on Tripadvisor and specifically remembered that the reviews mentioned their soups. It was fairly close to our hotel on Bryggen so we walked over and the soups really delivered for us. My wife and mother-in-law both got the cauliflower and I got the Moroccan lamb stew, both of which were tasty. This was also perhaps the best dining value that we experienced in our 10 days in Norway (which is not really saying much since Norway is outrageously expensive, even for someone who's lived in NYC for nearly 30 years).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bastant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bastant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.