We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, fantastic location and wholesome tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kafe Kippers, USF Verftet

Kafe Kippers, USF Verftet
Georgenes Verft 12, Bergen, Norway
55 30 40 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 242 Restaurants in Bergen
Price range: $12 - $44
Cuisines: American, Norwegian, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good value, fantastic location and wholesome tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ate here one evening and whilst still shocked by the Norwegian prices this was very reasonable in comparison to the majority of other restaurants in Bergen. Amazing location, simple menu but ordered the vegetarian lasagne and the red fish both which were obviously very fresh and wholesome and tasty. Lovely atmosphere full of locals rather than tourists, and fantastic service, a must for a lovely Bergen evening out. The staff were so helpful and went that extra mile.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    30
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a Bergen sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This restaurant is in an old industrial building on the water. There are tables inside and outside with great views. The food was basic but very good and reasonably priced (for Norway). We had mussels and fish soup, with very good whole grain bread. Take the time to walk through the beautiful residential district on the spine of the hill going out the peninsula.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, NJ
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We didn't eat here,but stopped for coffee and had a delightful rest from our walking all over the town. It's worth the trip just for the view and the neighborhhood is interesting. Check out the park at the end of the peninsula.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with a view of the harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Ate here in the evening and we were one of only two couples. I'm not sure if the threatening weather had put people off! We chose a table right on the waterfront and went inside to place our order.

Although there is not a huge choice on the menu what we chose was freshly cooked and delicious! One of us had the burger and the other the mountain trout.

I would recommend this restaurant as the food was very good value for money and extremely tasty and the staff were very helpful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Very delicious BLT sandwiches. Worth the hike to that end of town. There are some small lookouts near there with different views of the harbour.

There were fewer tourists. From our table, we had a beautiful view of the water. We would recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kafe Kippers, USF Verftet also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Kafe Kippers, USF Verftet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kafe Kippers, USF Verftet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.