We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not big but quite interesitng” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryggens Museum - Bymuseet i Bergen

Bryggens Museum - Bymuseet i Bergen
Dreggsallmemmingen 3, Bergen 5835, Norway
47 55 30 80 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 95 things to do in Bergen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum features relics from Bergen's past dating back to the Middle Ages.
Skierniewice
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not big but quite interesitng”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Not big museum but quite interesting, some examples of old Bergen, near port so not long walk, worth to see in Bergen, it doesn't takes much time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    50
    24
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A fascinating glimpse into the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Don't be put off by the very modern, rather functional looking building it is housed in. It is full of interesting displays telling the story of the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Little Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visit this place before exploring the restoration area, it will put a lot of the work into context, some of the insitu remains give a good illustration of early Bryggen

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
553 helpful votes 553 helpful votes
“A good stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This museum helped me better understand the area and it's importance. They also organize walking tours for a reasonable price - you should really consider going on one.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This museum gave us a really great overview of the history of Bergen, Bryggen Harbor specifically. It packed in a lot of information about the original settlements that we didn't already know and found very interesting. A few of the temporary exhibits we saw were less interesting and we breezed past those very quickly. But the main exhibits about Bryggen were very well done.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryggens Museum - Bymuseet i Bergen also viewed

 

Been to Bryggens Museum - Bymuseet i Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryggens Museum - Bymuseet i Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.