We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bijou” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Park Bergen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Park Bergen to your Saves list
Hotel Park Bergen
Harald Haarfagresgate 35, Bergen 5004, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Bergen
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bijou”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

The Hotel Park is a very attractive, historic hotel with a great deal to recommend it. The big upside is precisely its historic, bijou aspects. The hotel is full of antique furniture and tasteful art and craft work. I suppose the downside is that the rooms are small and that one is rather nervous to touch too much in case it falls off the wall or breaks. The location is verygood - only 5 minutes walk to the centre. The breakfast is excellent but there is no lunch or evening meal available. It is strictly no smoking. For mu purpose of a two day stay it was fine but i rather think that I would have wanted more in the way of facilities if i was staying for longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    87
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
105
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed from August 20 to September 1, 2010. Some of the reviews we had read made us apprehensive but our experience proved that this was a good choice for us. We are in our late 60's -- early 70's so we were concerned about the lack of elevator. The staff helped us with our luggage and the walk to the center of town was no problem -- 12 minutes average to most places. The breakfast was excellent although the dining room could be crowded at times. At night the staff provided brownies/cookies/tea/coffee that we could take to our room while we relaxed with the flat screen TV. Usually very quiet after 10:00 pm. We occupied a fairly large room on the second floor front over looking Harald Haarfagresgate with a comfortable bed, newly refurbished bath, plenty of hot water, no bed bugs. On days that we needed to leave before breakfast the staff provided a generous tray of food the evening before departure. We were also allowed to store food in the hotel refrigerators. The new owner- manager was very pleasant and has refreshed the decor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and would go back in a second. It's filled with Norwegian antiques and is so charming. Because it is a small Inn, the staff is exremely attentive. Upon arrival, they had champagne and a handwritten congratulatory note waiting in our room (the suite in building across from the main building). The breakfast in both buildings is plentiful and yummy, there is coffee and fresh brownies available in the main building's breakfast room all day long. The room was kept very clean.

The Inn isn't far from the center of the city (although if you do some walking, be ready for the uphill climb home or just take a cab), and just down the road from St. John's Church and the University. This makes it a little noisy around the Inn at night, but not enough to keep us from wanting to stay anywhere else! We loved the quaint and original feel. Perfect for our honeymoon (and affordable!).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

It was a nice stay for me for a week. Small and cozy rooms, heated bathroom tiles and well heated room as well .The hotel staff is very nice and cooperative. Breakfast is included in the stay and have a free wifi service in rooms available.
Though the reception is not there from 11pm-7am, the nightguard is constantly on duty.

Not recommended for people with weak legs as the stairs are quite steep and hotel doesnt have an elevator. The hotel itself is situated on a hill so quite a steep climb after you have walked a bit visiting the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We were quite surprised to be given a room directly behind the reception desk, where we could hear every bell and every conversation. The room itself was quite spacious, with a sitting area and good-sized bathroom, so I suspect this room might originally have been intended as an "owner's suite". The sitting area contained a loveseat, armchair, coffee table, and TV table. The bathroom did not have washcloths, but I noticed that this was true for many Norwegian hotels.

Although the room was pleasant enough, its location in the lobby caused us to be kept awake late into the night by a long-winded lecture by a guest who claimed to be a linguist (although he spoke only English). The late hour did not prevent him from being determined to preach upon the topic "What is knowledge?" in a most stentorian and pseudo-intellectual manner.

Luckily, we awoke in time for breakfast which consisted of yogurt drink, apple juice, coffee, tea, hard-boiled eggs, Norwegian bread, cheese, cold cuts, three kinds of herring, boiled strawberries (homemade), cucumbers, red peppers, tomato slices, chocolate paste, and watermelon. After breakfast, freshly baked brownies were to be found in the breakfast room, along with coffee and tea.

The neighborhood around the hotel seemed safe enough, but there was quite a bit of graffiti, including fresh graffiti scrawled overnight on the Park Hotel itself. Hotel staff said that guests frequently complained about loud University students at night, and we saw two of them urinating against a wall in the afternoon, already drunk. Fortunately, Bergen lived up to its reputation as the "rain capital" of Norway that night, and we did not hear as much nighttime noise as usual from students.

Given the sky-high prices of most hotels in Bergen, I feel that the Park Hotel is a good value. The short walk to the hotel from the train station did not seem so very steep to me. The continual rain was more of an damper than the hill. And, the walk to the hotel from the train station goes right past a grocery store, very necessary for an affordable way to eat in Bergen.

Although I don't expect to return to Bergen due to the graffiti, litter, traffic, rain, poorly maintained sidewalks, etc., the neighborhood around the Park Hotel was nicer than other areas.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

For the price I would have expected something less cramped. There are breakfast rooms in both of the buildings but for a reason we did not discover one was not functioning but there were no signs on the door. The result was that we had to share a table, eat in reception or wait. The choice was very limited for the price ( compared to 7 other hotels in Scandinavia) and difficult to access due to a lack of space.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Positives:
unique small hotel; excellent room; heated bathroom floor; strong wifi; good breakfast; coffee/treats throughout the day; helpful, kind staff; good bed and special decor.

Not-so-positives:
up a long hill from town; no elevator and steep, twisting stairway; away from major attractions as well as restaurants.

We enjoyed our stay and were pleased with the Park, but we would probably stay closer to town, at the bottom of the hill, next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Park Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Bergen

Address: Harald Haarfagresgate 35, Bergen 5004, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#6 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Park Bergen is a family owned hotel, known for its particular personal style and pleasant atmosphere. If you would like to experience something which is different from the large chain hotels then Hotel Park is definitely worth a visit. Hotel Park is a member of the association “Historic Hotels and Restaurants” which consists of nearly 50 of Norway’s most charming hotels and restaurants, each offering its own individual character and distinctive features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Park Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Park Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.