We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good baked goods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Godt Brod Vetrlidallmenningen

Godt Brod Vetrlidallmenningen
Vetrlidsalmenningen 19, Bergen 5018, Norway
+47 99 52 82 42
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 242 Restaurants in Bergen
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Godt Brød does all the baking by hand and uses only organic ingredients. We serve fresh baked goods every day, seven days a week. Our assortment includes everything from breads, rolls, buns, cakes, cold drinks and espresso based coffee. You can also create your own sandwich. Welcome!
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good baked goods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went in just to see what they have. While you can order sandwiches etc, they do have some nice sweet baked goods. All of their sweet based goods, though, are bread-based (rather than pastry based) but they did have some interesting fillings. We got take-out which is less expensive than eating in. (Pictures on Foodspotting)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old-style and ecological”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Traditional old-style bakery and caffee with several ecological choices. Good bread and coffee, right by the entrance to Fløibanen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service and taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This little coffee shop is a treasure and a pleasure to promote. The warm friendliness of the server was so appreciated. She so kindly let me practice my Norwegian with her while she prepared my food. I hope everyone who ventures to Bergen, Norway will find this sweet place! The food was excellent!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stopped here on our way to the Fløibanen. I ordered a latte and a sandwich to go, which cost 129 NOK. The server was very friendly, spoke excellent English, and made recommendations/ explanations about ingredients as she made the sandwich.

There is some seating both indoors, and outdoors, but food is cheaper if taken to go. We were able to take the food up the funicular to have lunch at the top, and we really enjoyed it! I would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great ecological alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a cosy place with a good selection of ecological bread, sandwiches and pastries. They also serve coffee, juice etc. You can ask the staff to put together a sandwich to your liking, with different kinds of cheese, ham, vegetables and so on. You can choose to sit down or choose take away.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godt Brod Vetrlidallmenningen also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Godt Brod Vetrlidallmenningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Godt Brod Vetrlidallmenningen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.