We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marken Gjestehus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marken Gjestehus to your Saves list
Marken Gjestehus
Kong Oscarsgt. 45, Inngang B | Entrance : Tverrgaten, Bergen 5017, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Well located in downtown Bergen, in a somewhat old building, it takes a whole floor and it is really roomy. The premises are always clean and it's really cozy. It has an equipped kitchen, laundry room and a sitting room. The staff is friendly and really helpful. Glad I chose to stay here!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    83
    27
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
41
70
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

All fantastic, very clean rooms, nice simple design, perfect location. OK it is a hostel, you have to be prepared to share facilities (baths, toilets and kitchen - all very good and clean) and to pay for bed linen and towels (bed linen - 65 NOK per set, towels - 15 NOK) but it is still fantastic value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was only in Bergen one night, arriving after 9pm and leaving before 7am. They set my credit card as my room key and left me everything I needed in my room. Smoothest after hours check in I've ever had! Clean facilities and comfortable beds, would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very convenient for train/bus station. Clean, well decorated hostel with kitchen, dining room and TV area. Good communal showers. No breakfast available. Drinks available from vending machines in lounge. Limited reception opening hours during off-peak season so arrange early/late arrival before get there if required. Helpful staff looked after our bags for a few hours after we'd checked out and before our bus to the airport.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here in a 8 bed dorm in September and it was everything you would expect from a hostel.
The whole hostel was very clean and well equipped with a large fully stocked kitchen. The showers were good and plentiful and free!
In the dorm each bed gets its own locker provided, the only downer being the beds were metal bunk beds and very noisy/creeky - not the best when you're sharing with others.
The hostel is about a 5 min walk from the centre of Bergen and a couple of mins walk from the train station.
The service we received was brilliant - really friendly and helpful.

Would highly recommend staying here if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Firstly the location of this hostel is perfect. It is located in city center, only about 5 min. to the railway station.
Secondary, it is clean, the facilities here are also convinient and well maintained. The public area is bright and comfortable. Only at the dinner time, many people crowed in the kitchen.
Last but not the least, the price is also reasonable. It's a very good choice to stay here in Bergen.
P.S. We like the elevator very much. This kind of old machine we only saw in the old films before:-)

Room Tip: The 4-beds dorm is little bit small when all 4 persons in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Also tried Montana hostel and the Bergen YMCA but in my opinion the Marken Guesthouse had the best atmosphere by far. Both private rooms and dorms are on offer and prices are certainly one of the best value in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marken Gjestehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marken Gjestehus

Address: Kong Oscarsgt. 45, Inngang B | Entrance : Tverrgaten, Bergen 5017, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marken Gjestehus is centrally located and reasonably priced guesthouse, for travellers who want to spend their money on other things than sleeping! With its location in the city centre, its an excellent base to explore and enjoy a beautiful and historical city, packed with cultural events, shopping and other leisure activities.The accomodation is run according to the "hostel-principle", and we offers rooms/beds in rooms from 1 to 10 persons. We have 22 rooms with a total of 73 beds. The rooms are bright, modern and furnished with lockable closets, desk, chirs and mirror. You will also find a pleasant common sitting-room, fully equipped kitchen for free use ,TV-Lounge, and toilets/showers with good standard in the corridor for those rooms that do not have private bathroom. Bank, post office, stores and restaurants are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Marken Gjestehus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marken Gjestehus Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marken Gjestehus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.