We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, nicely refurbished” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Terminus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Terminus to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Terminus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Zander Kaaes gate 6, Bergen 5015, Norway (Sentrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Bergen
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, nicely refurbished”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here in early February 2013 for 4 nights for a work conference. The rooms are small but having stayed in several hotels in Bergen I would say that my room was typical in size, but decorated to a higher standard than some, in a modern style. The bathroom was small but modern and clean with a good shower. What I liked most was the quality of the renovation work in the lobby, and bar area, I was told that the family had bought the hotel 6 years ago and had renovated at that time, presumably to a state very close to the original decor when the hotel opened in the 1920's . Breakfast was fine and the buffet lunch was very good - simple but of good quality. Good central location. I would certainly consider staying here again if travelling to Bergen on vacation and with my family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    230
    98
    32
    15
See reviews for
85
190
34
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

very well located especially if you are arriving by train (We got in on the Norway in a Nutshell tour). Good restaurant for breakfast. However, overall the place felt a little past its prime. Not sure we would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Location is right next to the bus and railway station, and it is only a short walk to Marken and the town centre. The communal areas are grand, and you can clearly see that they are trying to live up to the name “grand”. Breakfast is alright and plentiful. Coffee and tea is provided in the bar/lobby.

The room was nicely appointed and newly renovated in general but it was lacking coffee and tea making facilities. The bed was alright, though a bit on the soft side. One thing that was disturbing is the lack of noise isolation between rooms and the hallway. I could clearly hear phone conversations in the adjoining rooms as well as people walking in the hallway. This is a major drawback for me and on that note alone I would be thinking twice before staying here again. Even though the room was newly renovated the bathroom had for some reason not been included in the refurbishment, and it was quite worn. Cleaning was alright, but I would have liked it to be more thorough.

In short this is a hotel that strive for greatness and that fulfil that by half before falling flat on some simple stuff. For example, the staff was not very polite or knowledgeable. Also the lack of noise isolation and the non-renovated bathrooms were drawbacks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolney, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Station hotels historically have a bad reputation but Bergen's Grand Terminus Hotel has been taken over and lavished with attention. The family who own it are third gerentarion hoteliers
(I think that's what he said) and pride themselves in the personal touch and are genuinely keen to please. It's a massive hotel, I'd even say grand, and they have spent 50m NOK doing it up, with more to come. They are very excited about their whisky bar with more varieties than you can shake a stick at (they also serve other beverages and free coffee).
I was here on a conference and the facilities were good. The rooms are a bit quirky - mine had a state-of-the-art chandelier and a strip of wallpaper held up with tape - but quite comfortable. No kettle but you have the free coffee downstairs anyway.
I would recommend this hotel because it is in a good location next to bus and train stations and the centre and close to the Flybus stop. It has some impressively high ceilings and panelling etc.
The buffet-style breakfast had plenty of variety and although I didn't eat here I believe the bar food was good at least.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (not the station side) or ask if the boutique wing has opened yet (it's sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in march, doesnt look like much on the outside but when you walk in its like stepping back in time. It was built in 1928 and it feels like your back there. It has real character and if you want to stay somewhere a little different to normal boring hotels then this is the place. Once i read the history and found out there is a ghost floating around i admitt i didnt sleep well at all but thats just me being a chicken. We were upgraded by the lovely staff, so our room was huge, clean and had furniture to suit the rest of the hotel. Being next to the train station was great location for us. You didnt hear anything in your room still. The breakfast was good too! Highly recomended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leirvik
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is located right next to the central railway station and only a few minutes walk from the city centre. The hotel has kept an air of nostalgia, which so many of the newer hotels lack. The rooms are decorated with period furniture. Our rooms were spacious and clean. Good beds. No noise at night. Very friendly staff. Absolutely recommendable as an alternaive to the newer less personal hotels. The price level is fairly average for a hotel in the centre of Bergen. Free wifi, though signal in the upper floors was not always stable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is right next to the railway station, we stayed one night (on a Saturday) and didn't arrive until late at night. The receptionist was very friendly and recommended a good restaurant yo eat but due to it being a Saturday was full. It might be worth booking on a weekend. The hotel restaurant seemed comparable price wise with other local places. Our room was quite small and basic but fine for a night. Breakfast was plentiful with a good variety of choices. A good central but basic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Terminus

Address: Zander Kaaes gate 6, Bergen 5015, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Terminus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.