We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Terminus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Terminus to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Terminus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Zander Kaaes gate 6, Bergen 5015, Norway (Sentrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Bergen
Kfar saba, israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights.
The hotel loby has a vary ancient look , and you can make yourself coffee or tea in loby.
The location is good ( a cross from
The train station, and walking distance of the center.
The food was pretty good.
On the first night the hotel was crowded ( i guess there was a convention)
The parking cost us 125 kr for 24h.
Overall it was a positive stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    230
    98
    32
    15
See reviews for
85
190
34
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had one night at this hotel and have to say it was far too short. I caught a shuttle bus from the airport which cost 100 NOK one way and dropped me off near the train station. It was less than only a five minute walk to the hotel. The hotel is located beside the main train station (left hand side if facing the entrance from outside) which is perfect if you are doing the Norway in a Nutshell tour.

The check in staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I was upgraded from the standard room I had booked. My room was on the fifth floor from memory, overlooking the train station and was exceptionally large with a great bed, bright décor and a good sized bathroom. Certainly nothing to complain about.

I am not sure of the exact history of the hotel but imagine it to be from a bygone era when train travel ruled and everything centred around the station itself. Today the centre of town is clearly around the waterfront but the hotel itself has lost nothing in its elegance and feel being very spacious and as the name suggests, grand. Opposite reception is a wonderful bar and reading room area whilst the dining room is very large and bright with an outstanding range of foods to choose from with an excellent selection of hot and cold dishes, cereals, juices, pastries and fruit.

The hotel is located 10 to 15 mins walk from the waterfront and can be reached via a beautiful park and lake so the walk is certainly most enjoyable. Bergen itself is stunning and I am very please I cancelled my night in Oslo to see Bergen after a friend suggested it is a lot nicer. The trip up the mountain in the Funicular/cable car is also great with a wonderful view of the city below. There are numerous restaurants doted along the harbour front.

I would like to return to Bergen and spend more time there and wouldn’t hesitate to stay at this hotel again. Highly recommended!

I would like to drop a note about the Norway in a Nutshell tour. I booked a one way ticket on the tour from Bergen back to Oslo. It leaves from the train station opposite the hotel but as the ticket notes you must get your ticket from the collection point prior to boarding the train. For some reason I was under the misguided idea that it was very much a guided tour. I was quite wrong and in fact it is a self guided day which I found a little confusing not having much more than a vague idea of the itinerary. I was also disappointed in the fact I had to have my luggage with me the whole time except on the Fjord tour and bus trip back to Voss. I thought it would be dropped off at a central point and would somehow follow you and be collected towards or at the end of the day. Not so. The tour is excellent if you want to get an impression of the natural wonders of Norway in a short period of time. There didn’t seem to be many doing the tour solo like me with the majority travelling in large organised groups without luggage at all. Perhaps that would have been better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a really historic hotel for Bergen, the first big hotel built at the beginning of the century ,right next to the train station. This beeing said, rooms are rather small, but beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast is good ,and being served in a nice old style hall, makes it even better! Best choice if you are coming or leaving by train, and the center of the city is 10 minutes walk away!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rooms as usual are not enormous but the bed are very comfortable and the staff are very helpful and welcoming. Very good historic hotel and about the same price as the other medium sized hotels in Bergen. Easy walking distance to the central area, through a pedestrian area, so close to restaurants and bars. Taxis need to be ordered from the terminal in reception or walk over to the back entrance of the station and wait for oen there but do not book oen and then walk over as the station cabs will not take you if you already have a booking from the hotel.
Good hallway in the hotel and free tea and coffee all day and nice large chairs to sit in. So about as good as it gets in Bergen without paying a lot of money but hotels in Norway always cost a fortune anyway!

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Very good value and location, just few meters from the train station.

We took a triple room and it was very spacious with accepted furniture. The view was on the station, so you could hear the trains if the window is open.

Friendly receptionists.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The word 'grandeur' may be used quite often in the reviews for this hotel, but one cannot deny the glorious past of this hotel located across the street from the train station and within a two minutes walk from the bus station. The hotel looks good from the inside, but once you enter the ground floor you realise that it must have been a very fancy and elegant place in the early to mid 20th century. The location of the hotel is practical, as it is so close to various means of transport, and also within a ten minutes walk from the fish market (which I would dub the centre of touristy Bergen).

The rooms themselves were modernised, with some colour and discreet elegance, although the corridors leading to them looked somewhat plain (imagine how hospitals were sometimes depicted in early 20th century movies). Everything was very clean, the adjustment of the temperature was easy and reacted quickly and the bed was large and comfortable. We had a regular double room which offered enough space for the both of us, without being too excessive. The only regret is probably the lack of great view from the window. The couple of big advantages to this hotel are the parlour / lounge room which seems to not have been modified since its creation. Wood, carpets, high ceiling, small tables, a bar at one end,... a great place to stay, relax while reading or chatting with friends. The other big plus was the extravagant breakfast in the restaurant room. Amazing room where is served a buffet-style breakfast with almost everything you could imagine. There is enough for everyone: continental, english or norwegian-style! The selection of teas was very good too (in bags or loose leaf). One final positive aspect was the possibility for us to leave our luggage for the day even after having checked out of our room.

The only negative points that I could find were that at times the decoration was a bit quaint, and they do not seem to serve hot chocolate for breakfast. The parking situation is not bad as there is a secured parking just 30 meters from the entrance, but you have to pay and it is not cheap.

Room Tip: The wet bathrooms have a heated floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a hotel which is different from the usual modern hotels I stay in. It is an old building but still well maintained. Quiet and well-located with train/bus stations nearby, a shopping complex and some restaurants. We stayed there on Saturday and Sunday nights and the price for Saturday night was more than twice that of Sunday. We had a deluxe twin room which was very spacious and clean. It has comfortable twin beds, sofa and other furniture but we were surprised that there are NO bathroom amenities at all - not even a single soap. Good thing I brought some of my own. The bathroom was huge and bright but everytime I shower, water will escape from the shower curtain and make a big puddle on the bathroom floor. We opened the windows when we slept at night and it was relatively quiet. I only found out that the hotel's restaurants/bars are closed during Sundays - wished the receptionist would have told us when we checked in. I found the breakfast pretty good and the breakfast area a nice place to sit in and chat. However, the staff are too efficient and will clear your plates away (when you walk away from your table) even though it can be plainly seen that you have not begun eating it yet. There is a small gym which we used - not many guests use it. Whilst I do not have any specific dislikes, I probably will try some other hotel if I were to come back to Bergen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Terminus

Address: Zander Kaaes gate 6, Bergen 5015, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Terminus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.