We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location in a beautiful city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Marin to your Saves list
First Hotel Marin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Prime location in a beautiful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Has a very comfort feel through out the hotel, with brown stone intergreated several places.
Very helpfull staff with a high service level.
I arrived at the Hotel 5 hours before Check in. But I was offered a cup of coffee, they sent up the cleaning crew, and 45 min later I could check in much earlier than I was supposed to.
The room was spotless, and might be one of the nices hotel rooms I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    164
    99
    62
    38
See reviews for
84
174
37
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel menu times during the last 5+ years, and I enjoy coming back. The hotel is situated right in best part of Bergen, close to Bryggen, the sea and the city center. The rooms are generally fine with good bathrooms. Nothing fancy, but good value for money. The staff is mostly friendly and helpful in a typical Norwegian reserved style.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Anne-Grete,

Thanks! Always happy to have you as our guest! Come back soon :)


Best Regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

The First Hotel Marin is located amidst all the action in Bergen. They do a quality breakfast buffet, with a lot of variety. The rooms are clean, and feature modern amenities while preserving Old World charm. The beds are somewhat uncomfortable... this may keep me away in the future.

The staff is average and sometimes less than capable. Case in point: After a 22 hours of travel, I discovered a plumbing issue. I contacted the staff and waited. I eventually used a small tool kit that travels with me to fix the problem.

The bathrooms are clean with heated floors and towel rack. I had to crack the window to keep the bathroom from turning my room into a sauna, even after turning the heat down to nothing. Take care getting in and out of the shower. It is a high step in and out, the tube is slippery, and the heated (hot) towel rack is the only thing to hold on to.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear AmericanOdyssey,

Thank you! And for your information we are about to order new lay over mattresses for all beds so by next time it will be comfy beds. We are also looking into the the slippery floor/bath tubs so during renovation this will be fixed.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location, near fish market and a good breakfast. But, that is it.

The staff is no very polite and we had some problems in the reception. They put us in a single bed room. We had to change to another room, but just a after some discussion.

The place is very old and breakfast crowded early in the morning.

Very expensive, as many other places in Bergen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear regis f,

Thanks for your feedback. Obviously, this should not happen, it might be that the reservation was originally for 1 person. We only have 8 single rooms so most of our guests do get a double/twin room.
Hope you had a good night sleep and that we see you again soon.

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The night club Exodus is right across the street... I almost felt like the party was in my own room. The hotel is old and run down - better windows could probably have kept some of the noise out. And avoid the receptionists if you can - their service level is every bit as poor as the previous reviews indicate... To top it of, my friend was charged twice for her room - and the credit was made to my card, not hers... I'm never staying at this hotel again, and I'm also warning all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear SisselKA,

I am sorry you have had this experience when staying with us.
The night club is unfortunately not much we can do about, however, we always try to place our guests away from that street to the extent possible.

About the receptionists: I would like to hear more specifics. Being charged twice is not something that should happen, however, we sort that out immediately.

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Unfortunately i was booked in this terrible hotel by my client, a local company, and I knew I should have walked away!!
I was flying in very late at night and got to check in at passed midnight only to be told that my room was 'accidently' given to someone else and that the only room they had available was not their best one. Well it wasn't!! The room had NO WINDOWS nor light. It wasz noisy and the TV did not work. First thing in the morning I was promised that my room would be changed for a much better one and that my bags would have been moved from my room to the new one. Well, they 'kind of forgotten' to change the room and although my bags were moved out of the room they were dumped on the floor at the back room of reception!!!
Of course I complained and was told that there was no other room available beside the filthy windowsless one I stayed into the night before. I then had to complain more and loudly only to catch the attention of the 'desk manager' who did not know what was goign on.
Immediately my room was changed and by miracle my bags appeared from teh filthy floor and got taken to the new room.
Pity that the new room had a broken window which would not close fully and inexistent curtains which in Norway during summer are a must have!!!
The shower in the morning didnt have any hot water so I just left the hotel and that was it.
My advice is DO NOT GO THERE!!!

Room Tip: Do not go there, book yourself anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Smoula01,

Thank you for your review. I must ensure you that this is not common practise. Firstly, it seems the hotel has been overbooked, which is something we always try to avoid, however, it seems you have gotten a room that was not really for sale that night. Reception staff should not have promised something without follow up, but as I understand the Front Office Manager has already been involved and therefore the staff in question has been notified of what service level we would like to have.

Secondly, we have started a renovation of the hotel and will improve all the physical things you have mentioned.

Thank you again.

Best regards
Nan-Birthe Os Gangdal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Well placed for the centre of Bergen. Stayed on a B&B basis, but let down by the buffet breakfast. Orange juice runs out, bacon burnt, and bread not hygenically presented - everybody holds it with their hands to cut it - all other hotels provide napkins for that purpose.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Discerning74,

I am sorry to hear the breakfast run empty on things. This should not happen. All your precise feedback has been forwarded to the breakfast manager.

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os Gangdal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to a newly renovated First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Marin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.