We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Augustin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Augustin Hotel to your Saves list
Augustin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C. Sundts Gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway (Vågen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed in Augustin hotel for 3 days. They offer perfect services. Rooms are really convenient, tidy and quiet. Hotel is situated only couple of minutes away from famous amenities of Bergen. There are lot of shops, restaurants and good places for sight seeing nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    187
    105
    28
    5
See reviews for
69
181
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great little hotel located very close to the center of downtown Bergen. Breakfasts were wonderful and the staff was very helpful. We used their parking which was very close to the hotel. We had a small room but it was very clean and nice. We spent two nights there and enjoyed the waffles in the evening. They have a light fixture that is made of lightbulbs that someone has attached wing on so it looks like little birds... Really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent a total of four nights in the Augustin Hotel in Bergen with two nights each time. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel was great--within walking distance to the boat terminal, the shopping district, and Bryggen. Plus our room was very large--definitely the best of our trip so far. Extra pillows were in the room and we were able to get extra towels at the desk. There was free coffee and tea in the lobbly all the time and free waffles from 4-6 every day. We would stay here again when we return to Bergen.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

oh, bergen, what an amazing city! it a must see in scandinavia, and from there you can start/finish the Norway in a Nutshell, to fantastic trip that takes you in the fyjords.
but, about the hotel: you need to reserve everything early! the city is very,very,very small so, there are not a lot of hotels, BUT, (i gues is because of the trips and tours that you can star or finish in the city) there is a lot of tourist! when i went on booking to book my hotel (two months early) there wasent a lot of place left for me. so i had to pick one that i tought that was a little too expensive, but, the only choice.
the agustin is a family hotel (but its very big) very well located (but i guess everything is well located in bergen..) and with a very nice staff. food is great, rooms also. there is also a restaurant and a 'relaxing room' with internet, sofas, coffe, tea, books and other nice things. but there is also wi-fi in the rooms. nice place to go, i would definitelly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of a “Norway in a Nutshell” tour. The rate was reasonable and the breakfast was high quality. The lounge area features coffee and tea and contains an eclectic collection of books, games, a TV and a piano.

There was one incident during our stay. When the drain was pulled out of the bathtub, the water flowed out of an opening at the bottom of the tub and flooded the bathroom. Apparently that opening is supposed to drain water from the bathroom floor, but because of a blockage in the system, the reverse happened! We were told the hotel was full so rather than being relocated to another room, we were given a stack of towels to soak up the water.

The room was quiet enough and had a decent washroom (except for the flooding part).

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor rooms by the central stair next to the elevator. The door closes slowly then slams s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed two nights here in September. Check-in was courteous and efficient with information provided about local transport and places to eat. The hotel is located within walking distance of all main attractions in this very appealing Norwegian city. The room was clean, good bathroom, all well maintained. The hotel also offered complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day, and waffles with jam and cream between 4.00 pm and 6.00 pm. Highly recommend this hotel to other travellers as ideal start/finish location before or after Hurtigruten cruise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you want a comfortable hotel with extremely friendly staff, close to the City centre then at the price you pay you cannot possibly be dissapointed with your stay at this hotel. The hotel is very clean and tidy - the lounge is relaxing with 24/7 tean and coffee - and you can have fun making waffles at 4pm every afternoon. The buffet breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are comfortable but small - ok for us as we didnt spend much time in the room. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Address: C. Sundts Gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augustin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.