We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel, near to city Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Bergen City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Bergen City to your Saves list
Scandic Bergen City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hakonsgaten 2, Bergen 5015, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Central hotel, near to city Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Check-in was efficient and we meg a friendly receptionist. Short and relevant info was given, and we followed the suggestion to have dinner across the street. The restaurant with the same Anne AS the hotel. Breakfast at the hotel was good, and a wide selection. Good hotel for fastmoving people!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyd your stay. Thanks for all your nice comments, we really appreciate it!

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    96
    104
    49
    22
See reviews for
29
83
27
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Norwegian hotels have to be rated against each other, as the efficiency of the rooms and eco-features are unmatched in other places. Yet it can also be a rare day that one gets conditioner for one's hair, tissues, and a bathmat as well. That said, this hotel in comfortable, convenient, well-situated and well enough-appointed. The complimentary breakfast was satisfying if not fancy, and my stay so close to the sea and walking distance to everything was perfect.

Room Tip: I lucked out with room 551 which is wheelchair accessible. This is by far the largest hotel room I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review!

Nice to hear that you liked it here. We are glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable, convenient, well-situated and well enough-appointed.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was about a 10-minute, easy walk to the Bergen fish market and wharf. Our room was spacious, quiet and clean. There was a plentiful breakfast buffet. Based on other hotels we researched, this was a good value for Bergen. Our bed was very comfortable, too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyd your stay at Scandic Bergen City. If you ever choose to visit Bergen again we hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Skåne Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is excellent with a brilliant breakfast. One drawback might be that it is a bit far from the centre. Overall its a nice hotel with a great value for money. It is also near several eating places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back one day!

Best regards
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIRANA, ALBANIA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Scandic Bergen is situated 10-15 minutes walk from the city center. it is a quiet hotel with spacious rooms and helpful staff. it has three buildings and I think we were in the newest one. Breakfast was nice and plentiful and the room price was reasonable especially compared to other 4 star hotels in Norway.

Room Tip: if you want a nice room ask to be accommodated in the main building where breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay! If you ever choose to visit Bergen again we hope to welcome you back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel has 3 buildings, our room was in the oldest one (I guess you go there if you choose the "cheapest" room: 110 €), but I don't really know how they decide the building.
although the building, elevator, corridors looked very old, the room wasn't bad. It had good size, refrigerator, clean, the toilet size was also ok. It had also iron.
The breakfast was OK, normal.
The hotel has good location, 10 min to the bryggen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and liked the breakfast buffet.

Hope to see you back!

Best regards,
Scandic Bergen City

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is in a good location with nice rooms, tea and coffee making in the room, comfortable beds and the best buffet breakfast in Scandinavia. The staff were very helpful with maps, directions and luggage storage. Great location for joining the Hurtrigruten cruises. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review!
It is so nice to read a review like this - thank you for taking your time to write it! "Best buffet breakfast in Scandinavia" is a very rewarding feedback to get. We work hard everyday to give our guests a good and warm service, so we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our helpful staff.

Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City!

Best regards,

Birte Iversen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Bergen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bergen City

Address: Hakonsgaten 2, Bergen 5015, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bergen City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Scandic Bergen City hotel and enjoy a central Bergen location. Do business in the conference centre or see a film at the Bergen Cinema next door. Unwind in Restaurant Amalie and City Bar. Bergen museums and attractions are just a few blocks away. Dine in the Restaurant Amalie or spend the evening in the City Bar. Enjoy nearby Bergen attractions from the Aquarium, Mt. Floyen, to the Galleriet Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Scandic Bergen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Bergen City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.